tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/11/2012 : POPOI SDIOH - Before And After Party

POPOI SDIOH

Before And After Party

MusicCD
Death Rock / Batcave

[70/100]   

Brouillard Dfinitif
25/11/2012, Chris KONINGS

Land of Passion was the second name of the long-standing French goth/batcave band now known as Popoï Sdioh. Originally called The Nomads Lands, they were formed in 1989 by Lagartija Nick (guitar), Stefan Zimny (bass), Fred Andr (vocals) and a drum machine (which was replaced in 1990 by drummer Federico Iovino). The band changed their name to Land Of Passion in 1991, and following many lineup changes and general evolution, made another name change in 2001, becoming Popoï Sdioh.

They boast good energy, you can jump around on the dancefloor on killer tracks like "Bonobos Party", I also like the playful changes in voices, they keep things interesting. One of the best songs is the electropunk "Perla Said", the structure of the song is like an unfolding film noir story. I must admit the guitars tend to get on my nerves after a while, the high screeching pitch can get a bit painful (and repetitive). I would not compare them to Violet Stigmata, these guys are rougher around the edges and they sound a lot more punk.

So highlights are the vocal interaction and the sometimes crazy tongue-in-cheek lyrics.

I killed myself today

you fucked me, with an x-ray

I kill myself today, I'm fucked... anyway

I'm the new flesh watch me watch me...

The album is a bit too long however, the funky"Bonobos' Afterparty" would have been a good ending...

Popoï Sdioh

Chris KONINGS
25/11/2012


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu