tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRESENCE I OF I MIND - Pure

PRESENCE I OF I MIND

Pure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Did Depeche Mode re-invent itself? The album Pure, released october 7th, takes you back to 1983's Construction Time Again, but updated for the nillies with the addition of a touch of Wolfsheim. Confused? Well the new Depeche Mode album, as announced on october 11th, is planned for spring 2017 and is called Spirit... Actually the band that released Pure, is the Swedish trio Presence I Of I Mind.

Maybe this was not the aim of the trio, but Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros and Anders Wallroth made the best Depeche Mode album in years! Am I exaggerating? Maybe, but hardly. Similarities with both Depeche Mode and Wolfsheim are clearly (omni)present, oh and some Camouflage too... Even the beautiful voice of Christopher Lundström resembles both the voices of Dave Gahan and Peter Heppner. That's not too bad, is it?

Of course Presence I of I Mind is not just another Depeche Mode or Wolfsheim clone. Pure is a good album. Although the influences are clearly audible, the album sounds really fresh with killer tracks like Interstate, Slowly and Show Me, but I Am Demon and certainly the single Help Me, Help You - a true gem and maybe the best tune on the album - are really good too.

Most of the songs on Pure aim at the dance floor, at least to me, which makes Pure the ideal soundtrack for your next EBM or dark wave party. If you ask me, Pure is the Construction Time Again of the nillies, only with a tighter production, and with keys and electronic drums that sound much louder.

Pure is perhaps not the album of the year, it surely will make some people happy. There are some great darkish tunes, grooves and vibes to be discovered!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

De nieuwe Depeche Mode, neemt ons terug naar 1983 en Construction Time Again, geactualiseerd naar the 'nillies' met een flinke scheut Wolfsheim toegevoegd. Het album Pure is uit sinds vrijdag 7 oktober en deze beste Depeche Mode-plaat in jaren werd uitgebracht door de Zweedse band Presence I Of I Mind. (Depeche Mode zelf - toeval of niet - kondigde op 11 oktober het nieuwe album Spirit aan voor de zomer van 2017)

Misschien kort door de bocht, en ik wil het Zweedse trio rond Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros en Anders Wallroth zeker geen Depeche Mode-cloon noemen, maar de sound is er helemààl, de vroegere Depeche Mode, Wolfsheim en ook Camouflage. Zelfs de knappe stem van Christoffer Lundström komt wel héél dicht in de buurt van de stemmen van Dave Gahan en Peter Heppner. Maar dat hoeft geen probleem te zijn.

Pure is natuurlijk, los van de gemelde invloeden, een goed album en bevat enkele toppers zoals Interstate, Slowly en Show Me maar ook I Am Demon en zeer zeker de single Help Me, Help You, misschien wel de allerbeste song op de plaat.

De meeste nummers mikken overduidelijk op de dansvloer, enfin, mijn dansbeentjes vinden dat toch. Pure is de perfect soundtrack voor jou volgende EBM- of dark wavefeestje. Doen!

Ik durf stellen dat Pure de Construction Time Again voor de jaren '00 is, maar dan met een veel strakkere productie en luidere keys en electronic drums..

Pure gaat het misschien niét tot album van het jaar schoppen, het gaat zeker een aantal mensen of hun dansbeentjes blij maken! Op het album zijn enkele fijne donkere en swingende deuntjes te ontdekken...

Ik vind het niet orgineel, wel gewoon goed en het gaat hier nog wel vaak opstaan..

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets