tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRESENCE I OF I MIND - Pure

PRESENCE I OF I MIND

Pure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Did Depeche Mode re-invent itself? The album Pure, released october 7th, takes you back to 1983's Construction Time Again, but updated for the nillies with the addition of a touch of Wolfsheim. Confused? Well the new Depeche Mode album, as announced on october 11th, is planned for spring 2017 and is called Spirit... Actually the band that released Pure, is the Swedish trio Presence I Of I Mind.

Maybe this was not the aim of the trio, but Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros and Anders Wallroth made the best Depeche Mode album in years! Am I exaggerating? Maybe, but hardly. Similarities with both Depeche Mode and Wolfsheim are clearly (omni)present, oh and some Camouflage too... Even the beautiful voice of Christopher Lundström resembles both the voices of Dave Gahan and Peter Heppner. That's not too bad, is it?

Of course Presence I of I Mind is not just another Depeche Mode or Wolfsheim clone. Pure is a good album. Although the influences are clearly audible, the album sounds really fresh with killer tracks like Interstate, Slowly and Show Me, but I Am Demon and certainly the single Help Me, Help You - a true gem and maybe the best tune on the album - are really good too.

Most of the songs on Pure aim at the dance floor, at least to me, which makes Pure the ideal soundtrack for your next EBM or dark wave party. If you ask me, Pure is the Construction Time Again of the nillies, only with a tighter production, and with keys and electronic drums that sound much louder.

Pure is perhaps not the album of the year, it surely will make some people happy. There are some great darkish tunes, grooves and vibes to be discovered!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

De nieuwe Depeche Mode, neemt ons terug naar 1983 en Construction Time Again, geactualiseerd naar the 'nillies' met een flinke scheut Wolfsheim toegevoegd. Het album Pure is uit sinds vrijdag 7 oktober en deze beste Depeche Mode-plaat in jaren werd uitgebracht door de Zweedse band Presence I Of I Mind. (Depeche Mode zelf - toeval of niet - kondigde op 11 oktober het nieuwe album Spirit aan voor de zomer van 2017)

Misschien kort door de bocht, en ik wil het Zweedse trio rond Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros en Anders Wallroth zeker geen Depeche Mode-cloon noemen, maar de sound is er helemààl, de vroegere Depeche Mode, Wolfsheim en ook Camouflage. Zelfs de knappe stem van Christoffer Lundström komt wel héél dicht in de buurt van de stemmen van Dave Gahan en Peter Heppner. Maar dat hoeft geen probleem te zijn.

Pure is natuurlijk, los van de gemelde invloeden, een goed album en bevat enkele toppers zoals Interstate, Slowly en Show Me maar ook I Am Demon en zeer zeker de single Help Me, Help You, misschien wel de allerbeste song op de plaat.

De meeste nummers mikken overduidelijk op de dansvloer, enfin, mijn dansbeentjes vinden dat toch. Pure is de perfect soundtrack voor jou volgende EBM- of dark wavefeestje. Doen!

Ik durf stellen dat Pure de Construction Time Again voor de jaren '00 is, maar dan met een veel strakkere productie en luidere keys en electronic drums..

Pure gaat het misschien niét tot album van het jaar schoppen, het gaat zeker een aantal mensen of hun dansbeentjes blij maken! Op het album zijn enkele fijne donkere en swingende deuntjes te ontdekken...

Ik vind het niet orgineel, wel gewoon goed en het gaat hier nog wel vaak opstaan..

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet