tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRESENCE I OF I MIND - Pure

PRESENCE I OF I MIND

Pure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Did Depeche Mode re-invent itself? The album Pure, released october 7th, takes you back to 1983's Construction Time Again, but updated for the nillies with the addition of a touch of Wolfsheim. Confused? Well the new Depeche Mode album, as announced on october 11th, is planned for spring 2017 and is called Spirit... Actually the band that released Pure, is the Swedish trio Presence I Of I Mind.

Maybe this was not the aim of the trio, but Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros and Anders Wallroth made the best Depeche Mode album in years! Am I exaggerating? Maybe, but hardly. Similarities with both Depeche Mode and Wolfsheim are clearly (omni)present, oh and some Camouflage too... Even the beautiful voice of Christopher Lundström resembles both the voices of Dave Gahan and Peter Heppner. That's not too bad, is it?

Of course Presence I of I Mind is not just another Depeche Mode or Wolfsheim clone. Pure is a good album. Although the influences are clearly audible, the album sounds really fresh with killer tracks like Interstate, Slowly and Show Me, but I Am Demon and certainly the single Help Me, Help You - a true gem and maybe the best tune on the album - are really good too.

Most of the songs on Pure aim at the dance floor, at least to me, which makes Pure the ideal soundtrack for your next EBM or dark wave party. If you ask me, Pure is the Construction Time Again of the nillies, only with a tighter production, and with keys and electronic drums that sound much louder.

Pure is perhaps not the album of the year, it surely will make some people happy. There are some great darkish tunes, grooves and vibes to be discovered!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

De nieuwe Depeche Mode, neemt ons terug naar 1983 en Construction Time Again, geactualiseerd naar the 'nillies' met een flinke scheut Wolfsheim toegevoegd. Het album Pure is uit sinds vrijdag 7 oktober en deze beste Depeche Mode-plaat in jaren werd uitgebracht door de Zweedse band Presence I Of I Mind. (Depeche Mode zelf - toeval of niet - kondigde op 11 oktober het nieuwe album Spirit aan voor de zomer van 2017)

Misschien kort door de bocht, en ik wil het Zweedse trio rond Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros en Anders Wallroth zeker geen Depeche Mode-cloon noemen, maar de sound is er helemààl, de vroegere Depeche Mode, Wolfsheim en ook Camouflage. Zelfs de knappe stem van Christoffer Lundström komt wel héél dicht in de buurt van de stemmen van Dave Gahan en Peter Heppner. Maar dat hoeft geen probleem te zijn.

Pure is natuurlijk, los van de gemelde invloeden, een goed album en bevat enkele toppers zoals Interstate, Slowly en Show Me maar ook I Am Demon en zeer zeker de single Help Me, Help You, misschien wel de allerbeste song op de plaat.

De meeste nummers mikken overduidelijk op de dansvloer, enfin, mijn dansbeentjes vinden dat toch. Pure is de perfect soundtrack voor jou volgende EBM- of dark wavefeestje. Doen!

Ik durf stellen dat Pure de Construction Time Again voor de jaren '00 is, maar dan met een veel strakkere productie en luidere keys en electronic drums..

Pure gaat het misschien niét tot album van het jaar schoppen, het gaat zeker een aantal mensen of hun dansbeentjes blij maken! Op het album zijn enkele fijne donkere en swingende deuntjes te ontdekken...

Ik vind het niet orgineel, wel gewoon goed en het gaat hier nog wel vaak opstaan..

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice