tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRESENCE I OF I MIND - Pure

PRESENCE I OF I MIND

Pure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Did Depeche Mode re-invent itself? The album Pure, released october 7th, takes you back to 1983's Construction Time Again, but updated for the nillies with the addition of a touch of Wolfsheim. Confused? Well the new Depeche Mode album, as announced on october 11th, is planned for spring 2017 and is called Spirit... Actually the band that released Pure, is the Swedish trio Presence I Of I Mind.

Maybe this was not the aim of the trio, but Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros and Anders Wallroth made the best Depeche Mode album in years! Am I exaggerating? Maybe, but hardly. Similarities with both Depeche Mode and Wolfsheim are clearly (omni)present, oh and some Camouflage too... Even the beautiful voice of Christopher Lundström resembles both the voices of Dave Gahan and Peter Heppner. That's not too bad, is it?

Of course Presence I of I Mind is not just another Depeche Mode or Wolfsheim clone. Pure is a good album. Although the influences are clearly audible, the album sounds really fresh with killer tracks like Interstate, Slowly and Show Me, but I Am Demon and certainly the single Help Me, Help You - a true gem and maybe the best tune on the album - are really good too.

Most of the songs on Pure aim at the dance floor, at least to me, which makes Pure the ideal soundtrack for your next EBM or dark wave party. If you ask me, Pure is the Construction Time Again of the nillies, only with a tighter production, and with keys and electronic drums that sound much louder.

Pure is perhaps not the album of the year, it surely will make some people happy. There are some great darkish tunes, grooves and vibes to be discovered!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

De nieuwe Depeche Mode, neemt ons terug naar 1983 en Construction Time Again, geactualiseerd naar the 'nillies' met een flinke scheut Wolfsheim toegevoegd. Het album Pure is uit sinds vrijdag 7 oktober en deze beste Depeche Mode-plaat in jaren werd uitgebracht door de Zweedse band Presence I Of I Mind. (Depeche Mode zelf - toeval of niet - kondigde op 11 oktober het nieuwe album Spirit aan voor de zomer van 2017)

Misschien kort door de bocht, en ik wil het Zweedse trio rond Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros en Anders Wallroth zeker geen Depeche Mode-cloon noemen, maar de sound is er helemààl, de vroegere Depeche Mode, Wolfsheim en ook Camouflage. Zelfs de knappe stem van Christoffer Lundström komt wel héél dicht in de buurt van de stemmen van Dave Gahan en Peter Heppner. Maar dat hoeft geen probleem te zijn.

Pure is natuurlijk, los van de gemelde invloeden, een goed album en bevat enkele toppers zoals Interstate, Slowly en Show Me maar ook I Am Demon en zeer zeker de single Help Me, Help You, misschien wel de allerbeste song op de plaat.

De meeste nummers mikken overduidelijk op de dansvloer, enfin, mijn dansbeentjes vinden dat toch. Pure is de perfect soundtrack voor jou volgende EBM- of dark wavefeestje. Doen!

Ik durf stellen dat Pure de Construction Time Again voor de jaren '00 is, maar dan met een veel strakkere productie en luidere keys en electronic drums..

Pure gaat het misschien niét tot album van het jaar schoppen, het gaat zeker een aantal mensen of hun dansbeentjes blij maken! Op het album zijn enkele fijne donkere en swingende deuntjes te ontdekken...

Ik vind het niet orgineel, wel gewoon goed en het gaat hier nog wel vaak opstaan..

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno
11
10
ELM
Death Of The North
11
10
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS
Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!
23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?