tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRESENCE I OF I MIND - Pure

PRESENCE I OF I MIND

Pure

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[70/100]   
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Did Depeche Mode re-invent itself? The album Pure, released october 7th, takes you back to 1983's Construction Time Again, but updated for the nillies with the addition of a touch of Wolfsheim. Confused? Well the new Depeche Mode album, as announced on october 11th, is planned for spring 2017 and is called Spirit... Actually the band that released Pure, is the Swedish trio Presence I Of I Mind.

Maybe this was not the aim of the trio, but Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros and Anders Wallroth made the best Depeche Mode album in years! Am I exaggerating? Maybe, but hardly. Similarities with both Depeche Mode and Wolfsheim are clearly (omni)present, oh and some Camouflage too... Even the beautiful voice of Christopher Lundström resembles both the voices of Dave Gahan and Peter Heppner. That's not too bad, is it?

Of course Presence I of I Mind is not just another Depeche Mode or Wolfsheim clone. Pure is a good album. Although the influences are clearly audible, the album sounds really fresh with killer tracks like Interstate, Slowly and Show Me, but I Am Demon and certainly the single Help Me, Help You - a true gem and maybe the best tune on the album - are really good too.

Most of the songs on Pure aim at the dance floor, at least to me, which makes Pure the ideal soundtrack for your next EBM or dark wave party. If you ask me, Pure is the Construction Time Again of the nillies, only with a tighter production, and with keys and electronic drums that sound much louder.

Pure is perhaps not the album of the year, it surely will make some people happy. There are some great darkish tunes, grooves and vibes to be discovered!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

De nieuwe Depeche Mode, neemt ons terug naar 1983 en Construction Time Again, geactualiseerd naar the 'nillies' met een flinke scheut Wolfsheim toegevoegd. Het album Pure is uit sinds vrijdag 7 oktober en deze beste Depeche Mode-plaat in jaren werd uitgebracht door de Zweedse band Presence I Of I Mind. (Depeche Mode zelf - toeval of niet - kondigde op 11 oktober het nieuwe album Spirit aan voor de zomer van 2017)

Misschien kort door de bocht, en ik wil het Zweedse trio rond Christoffer Lundström, Hannes Ambros en Anders Wallroth zeker geen Depeche Mode-cloon noemen, maar de sound is er helemààl, de vroegere Depeche Mode, Wolfsheim en ook Camouflage. Zelfs de knappe stem van Christoffer Lundström komt wel héél dicht in de buurt van de stemmen van Dave Gahan en Peter Heppner. Maar dat hoeft geen probleem te zijn.

Pure is natuurlijk, los van de gemelde invloeden, een goed album en bevat enkele toppers zoals Interstate, Slowly en Show Me maar ook I Am Demon en zeer zeker de single Help Me, Help You, misschien wel de allerbeste song op de plaat.

De meeste nummers mikken overduidelijk op de dansvloer, enfin, mijn dansbeentjes vinden dat toch. Pure is de perfect soundtrack voor jou volgende EBM- of dark wavefeestje. Doen!

Ik durf stellen dat Pure de Construction Time Again voor de jaren '00 is, maar dan met een veel strakkere productie en luidere keys en electronic drums..

Pure gaat het misschien niét tot album van het jaar schoppen, het gaat zeker een aantal mensen of hun dansbeentjes blij maken! Op het album zijn enkele fijne donkere en swingende deuntjes te ontdekken...

Ik vind het niet orgineel, wel gewoon goed en het gaat hier nog wel vaak opstaan..

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift