tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/05/2011 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Principe Valiente

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Principe Valiente

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[81/100]   
28/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Swedish people have always had a rather good connection with music. Once they ruled the world of pop (they still do), then they were EBM-masters and now it seems like they have overtaken the post-punk world as well.

You see, some days ago we mentioned the brilliant latest cd from The Exploding Boy and now we have to add Principe Valiente. Doesn’t sound that Swedish, you say? You’re right, as this the Spanish variant from the cartoon figure Prince Valiant.

And it’s not the band's name alone: also their singer Fernando Honorata is gifted with Spanish blood. Along with Alexander Lehto and Joakim Janthe, he forms this post-punk trio who released their first EP in 2007 and now, four years later, unleash their debut.

Just like The Exploding Boy, Principe Valiente know how they have to dress their post-punk sounds with a black jacket; more than once we had the later sound from Sisters Of Mercy in mind. Melodic songs that have a melancholic feel and all this made with a wall of sound that is formed by shoegaze guitars.

Indeed, the kind of ingredients that makes this record one to cherish. Yeah, we know…those Swedish people!

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


NL

Het is me wat met de Zweden en hun post-punkbenadering. Tegenwoordig is het land van Ikea niet alleen verantwoordelijk voor goede pop of stevige EBM, maar ook de postpunkgeneratie wordt rijkelijk bedeeld.

Wisten we eerder deze week te melden dat de nieuwe van The Exploding Boy overheerlijk smaakt, dan moeten we al gauw een inhaalmaneuver uithalen om hier ook Principe Valiente bij te gaan voegen. Dat klinkt allesbehalve Zweeds, zegt u? Dan hebt u groot gelijk, want dit is de Spaanse variant van de beroemde Prince Valiant-stripfiguur.

En het blijft niet alleen daarbij, want ook hun zanger Fernando Honorata is begenadigd met Spaans bloed. Samen met Alexander Lehto en Joakim Janthe vormt hij dit post-punktrio dat in 2007 hun eerste EP uitbracht. Nu, vier jaar later, laten ze hun debuut-cd op het publiek los.

Net als The Exploding Boy weten de heren van Principe Valiente hun post-punkgeluiden mooi te omhullen met een zwart jasje, waarbij je soms wel eens (en we gaan opletten wat we zeggen) de neiging hebt om aan de latere Sisters Of Mercy te denken. Melodieuze nummers met een melancholisch briesje, die bovendien gemaakt zijn door een geluidsmuur van knallende shoegaze gitaren, kunnen ons enkel maar doen besluiten dat we dit bij momenten een grootse plaat vinden.

Tja, die Zweden toch...

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind
ARTEFACTUM • Foxgloves & Bluebells
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me