tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/05/2011 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Principe Valiente

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Principe Valiente

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[81/100]   
28/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Swedish people have always had a rather good connection with music. Once they ruled the world of pop (they still do), then they were EBM-masters and now it seems like they have overtaken the post-punk world as well.

You see, some days ago we mentioned the brilliant latest cd from The Exploding Boy and now we have to add Principe Valiente. Doesn’t sound that Swedish, you say? You’re right, as this the Spanish variant from the cartoon figure Prince Valiant.

And it’s not the band's name alone: also their singer Fernando Honorata is gifted with Spanish blood. Along with Alexander Lehto and Joakim Janthe, he forms this post-punk trio who released their first EP in 2007 and now, four years later, unleash their debut.

Just like The Exploding Boy, Principe Valiente know how they have to dress their post-punk sounds with a black jacket; more than once we had the later sound from Sisters Of Mercy in mind. Melodic songs that have a melancholic feel and all this made with a wall of sound that is formed by shoegaze guitars.

Indeed, the kind of ingredients that makes this record one to cherish. Yeah, we know…those Swedish people!

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


NL

Het is me wat met de Zweden en hun post-punkbenadering. Tegenwoordig is het land van Ikea niet alleen verantwoordelijk voor goede pop of stevige EBM, maar ook de postpunkgeneratie wordt rijkelijk bedeeld.

Wisten we eerder deze week te melden dat de nieuwe van The Exploding Boy overheerlijk smaakt, dan moeten we al gauw een inhaalmaneuver uithalen om hier ook Principe Valiente bij te gaan voegen. Dat klinkt allesbehalve Zweeds, zegt u? Dan hebt u groot gelijk, want dit is de Spaanse variant van de beroemde Prince Valiant-stripfiguur.

En het blijft niet alleen daarbij, want ook hun zanger Fernando Honorata is begenadigd met Spaans bloed. Samen met Alexander Lehto en Joakim Janthe vormt hij dit post-punktrio dat in 2007 hun eerste EP uitbracht. Nu, vier jaar later, laten ze hun debuut-cd op het publiek los.

Net als The Exploding Boy weten de heren van Principe Valiente hun post-punkgeluiden mooi te omhullen met een zwart jasje, waarbij je soms wel eens (en we gaan opletten wat we zeggen) de neiging hebt om aan de latere Sisters Of Mercy te denken. Melodieuze nummers met een melancholisch briesje, die bovendien gemaakt zijn door een geluidsmuur van knallende shoegaze gitaren, kunnen ons enkel maar doen besluiten dat we dit bij momenten een grootse plaat vinden.

Tja, die Zweden toch...

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind
ARTEFACTUM • Foxgloves & Bluebells
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart