tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/05/2011 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Principe Valiente

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Principe Valiente

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[81/100]   
28/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Swedish people have always had a rather good connection with music. Once they ruled the world of pop (they still do), then they were EBM-masters and now it seems like they have overtaken the post-punk world as well.

You see, some days ago we mentioned the brilliant latest cd from The Exploding Boy and now we have to add Principe Valiente. Doesn’t sound that Swedish, you say? You’re right, as this the Spanish variant from the cartoon figure Prince Valiant.

And it’s not the band's name alone: also their singer Fernando Honorata is gifted with Spanish blood. Along with Alexander Lehto and Joakim Janthe, he forms this post-punk trio who released their first EP in 2007 and now, four years later, unleash their debut.

Just like The Exploding Boy, Principe Valiente know how they have to dress their post-punk sounds with a black jacket; more than once we had the later sound from Sisters Of Mercy in mind. Melodic songs that have a melancholic feel and all this made with a wall of sound that is formed by shoegaze guitars.

Indeed, the kind of ingredients that makes this record one to cherish. Yeah, we know…those Swedish people!

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


NL

Het is me wat met de Zweden en hun post-punkbenadering. Tegenwoordig is het land van Ikea niet alleen verantwoordelijk voor goede pop of stevige EBM, maar ook de postpunkgeneratie wordt rijkelijk bedeeld.

Wisten we eerder deze week te melden dat de nieuwe van The Exploding Boy overheerlijk smaakt, dan moeten we al gauw een inhaalmaneuver uithalen om hier ook Principe Valiente bij te gaan voegen. Dat klinkt allesbehalve Zweeds, zegt u? Dan hebt u groot gelijk, want dit is de Spaanse variant van de beroemde Prince Valiant-stripfiguur.

En het blijft niet alleen daarbij, want ook hun zanger Fernando Honorata is begenadigd met Spaans bloed. Samen met Alexander Lehto en Joakim Janthe vormt hij dit post-punktrio dat in 2007 hun eerste EP uitbracht. Nu, vier jaar later, laten ze hun debuut-cd op het publiek los.

Net als The Exploding Boy weten de heren van Principe Valiente hun post-punkgeluiden mooi te omhullen met een zwart jasje, waarbij je soms wel eens (en we gaan opletten wat we zeggen) de neiging hebt om aan de latere Sisters Of Mercy te denken. Melodieuze nummers met een melancholisch briesje, die bovendien gemaakt zijn door een geluidsmuur van knallende shoegaze gitaren, kunnen ons enkel maar doen besluiten dat we dit bij momenten een grootse plaat vinden.

Tja, die Zweden toch...

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind
ARTEFACTUM • Foxgloves & Bluebells
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
WAN'S • Lost Inside

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass