tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/05/2011 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Principe Valiente

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Principe Valiente

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[81/100]   
28/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Swedish people have always had a rather good connection with music. Once they ruled the world of pop (they still do), then they were EBM-masters and now it seems like they have overtaken the post-punk world as well.

You see, some days ago we mentioned the brilliant latest cd from The Exploding Boy and now we have to add Principe Valiente. Doesn’t sound that Swedish, you say? You’re right, as this the Spanish variant from the cartoon figure Prince Valiant.

And it’s not the band's name alone: also their singer Fernando Honorata is gifted with Spanish blood. Along with Alexander Lehto and Joakim Janthe, he forms this post-punk trio who released their first EP in 2007 and now, four years later, unleash their debut.

Just like The Exploding Boy, Principe Valiente know how they have to dress their post-punk sounds with a black jacket; more than once we had the later sound from Sisters Of Mercy in mind. Melodic songs that have a melancholic feel and all this made with a wall of sound that is formed by shoegaze guitars.

Indeed, the kind of ingredients that makes this record one to cherish. Yeah, we know…those Swedish people!

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


NL

Het is me wat met de Zweden en hun post-punkbenadering. Tegenwoordig is het land van Ikea niet alleen verantwoordelijk voor goede pop of stevige EBM, maar ook de postpunkgeneratie wordt rijkelijk bedeeld.

Wisten we eerder deze week te melden dat de nieuwe van The Exploding Boy overheerlijk smaakt, dan moeten we al gauw een inhaalmaneuver uithalen om hier ook Principe Valiente bij te gaan voegen. Dat klinkt allesbehalve Zweeds, zegt u? Dan hebt u groot gelijk, want dit is de Spaanse variant van de beroemde Prince Valiant-stripfiguur.

En het blijft niet alleen daarbij, want ook hun zanger Fernando Honorata is begenadigd met Spaans bloed. Samen met Alexander Lehto en Joakim Janthe vormt hij dit post-punktrio dat in 2007 hun eerste EP uitbracht. Nu, vier jaar later, laten ze hun debuut-cd op het publiek los.

Net als The Exploding Boy weten de heren van Principe Valiente hun post-punkgeluiden mooi te omhullen met een zwart jasje, waarbij je soms wel eens (en we gaan opletten wat we zeggen) de neiging hebt om aan de latere Sisters Of Mercy te denken. Melodieuze nummers met een melancholisch briesje, die bovendien gemaakt zijn door een geluidsmuur van knallende shoegaze gitaren, kunnen ons enkel maar doen besluiten dat we dit bij momenten een grootse plaat vinden.

Tja, die Zweden toch...

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind
ARTEFACTUM • Foxgloves & Bluebells
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis