tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/05/2011 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Principe Valiente

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Principe Valiente

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[81/100]   
28/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Swedish people have always had a rather good connection with music. Once they ruled the world of pop (they still do), then they were EBM-masters and now it seems like they have overtaken the post-punk world as well.

You see, some days ago we mentioned the brilliant latest cd from The Exploding Boy and now we have to add Principe Valiente. Doesn’t sound that Swedish, you say? You’re right, as this the Spanish variant from the cartoon figure Prince Valiant.

And it’s not the band's name alone: also their singer Fernando Honorata is gifted with Spanish blood. Along with Alexander Lehto and Joakim Janthe, he forms this post-punk trio who released their first EP in 2007 and now, four years later, unleash their debut.

Just like The Exploding Boy, Principe Valiente know how they have to dress their post-punk sounds with a black jacket; more than once we had the later sound from Sisters Of Mercy in mind. Melodic songs that have a melancholic feel and all this made with a wall of sound that is formed by shoegaze guitars.

Indeed, the kind of ingredients that makes this record one to cherish. Yeah, we know…those Swedish people!

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


NL

Het is me wat met de Zweden en hun post-punkbenadering. Tegenwoordig is het land van Ikea niet alleen verantwoordelijk voor goede pop of stevige EBM, maar ook de postpunkgeneratie wordt rijkelijk bedeeld.

Wisten we eerder deze week te melden dat de nieuwe van The Exploding Boy overheerlijk smaakt, dan moeten we al gauw een inhaalmaneuver uithalen om hier ook Principe Valiente bij te gaan voegen. Dat klinkt allesbehalve Zweeds, zegt u? Dan hebt u groot gelijk, want dit is de Spaanse variant van de beroemde Prince Valiant-stripfiguur.

En het blijft niet alleen daarbij, want ook hun zanger Fernando Honorata is begenadigd met Spaans bloed. Samen met Alexander Lehto en Joakim Janthe vormt hij dit post-punktrio dat in 2007 hun eerste EP uitbracht. Nu, vier jaar later, laten ze hun debuut-cd op het publiek los.

Net als The Exploding Boy weten de heren van Principe Valiente hun post-punkgeluiden mooi te omhullen met een zwart jasje, waarbij je soms wel eens (en we gaan opletten wat we zeggen) de neiging hebt om aan de latere Sisters Of Mercy te denken. Melodieuze nummers met een melancholisch briesje, die bovendien gemaakt zijn door een geluidsmuur van knallende shoegaze gitaren, kunnen ons enkel maar doen besluiten dat we dit bij momenten een grootse plaat vinden.

Tja, die Zweden toch...

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind
ARTEFACTUM • Foxgloves & Bluebells
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Cryopack
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before