tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - Foul Taste Of Freedom

PRO-PAIN

Foul Taste Of Freedom

MusicCD
Groove MetalHardcoreTrashmetal

[70/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Nostalgia is the reason I volunteered for this review. I don’t remember if I learned to know Pro-Pain on MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball with Vanessa Warwick or in Metalopolis, the radioshow on Studio Brussel with Mies Meulders (aka Lolita Lama – the female singer in De Ideale Penis of the Flemish rockband De Lama’s that also involved Peter Slabbynck of Red Zebra and Kloot Per W). But it’s a fact Foul Taste Of Freedom is one of the songs that featured on the Metalopolis Vol.1 compilation, a disc I heavily rotated during puberty. The eponymous album now is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The catchy title track kicks off the album in style. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” With angry lyrics filled with social critique the New York based band brings forward its punk attitude.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is a hardcore album with hints of trash and groove metal. The 1992 debut of Pro-Pain has a lot of tempo changes, ranging from mid-tempo to breackneck speed. Despite the outstanding start and the multiple rhythm changes the album doesn’t succeed in holding my attention.

Highlights are Pound For Pound, a track that unites aggression and melody; the uplifting Every Good Boy Does Fine that surprises with a piece of trumpet and the up-tempo Murder 101. The intense Iraqnophobia (nice portemanteau) is a song that reflects the early nineties. The groovy Johnny Black stands out because of its fun wah-wah pedal effects.

Fans of the straightforward New York hardcore style can consider this purchase.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Nostalgie. Nostalgie was de beweegreden om me aan te bieden voor deze recensie. Ik weet niet meer of ik Pro-Pain nu leerde kennen in Headbanger’s Ball, de show op MTV van Vanessa Warwick of in Metaloplis, het radioprogramma op Studio Brussel met Mies Meulders – aka Lolita Lama (zangeres van De Lama’s – bekend van De Ideale Penis - met ook Peter Slabbynck van Red Zebra en Kloot Per W in de rangen). Pro-Pain stond met de song Foul Taste Of Freedom op de compilatie Metalopolis Vol.1, een schijf die ik als puber grijs heb gedraaid. Het gelijknamige album wordt nu heruitgegeven, geremastered uiteraard.

De aanstekelijke titelsong opent het album in stijl. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” Met een boze, maatschappijkritische songtekst zet de band uit New York zijn punkattitude in de verf.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is een hardcoreplaat met flarden trash en groove metal. Het debuut van Pro-Pain uit 1992 kent veel tempowissels, variërend tussen midtempo en razend snel.

Ondanks de uitstekende start en de vele ritmewissels, slaagt het album er niet in om mijn aandacht vast te houden.

Hoogtepunten zijn Pound For Pound, waar agressie en melodie elkaar moeiteloos vinden; het opzwepende Every Good Boy Does Fine dat verrast met een stukje trompet en het uptempo Murder 101. Iraqnophobia (leuke porte-manteau) is een intense song dat past in de toenmalige tijdsgeest. Het groovy Johnny Black valt op omwille van de toffe wah-wahpedaaleffecten.

Fans van de rechttoe rechtaan New York hardcore-stijl kunnen de aanschaf overwegen.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery