tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - Foul Taste Of Freedom

PRO-PAIN

Foul Taste Of Freedom

MusicCD
Groove MetalHardcoreTrashmetal

[70/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Nostalgia is the reason I volunteered for this review. I don’t remember if I learned to know Pro-Pain on MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball with Vanessa Warwick or in Metalopolis, the radioshow on Studio Brussel with Mies Meulders (aka Lolita Lama – the female singer in De Ideale Penis of the Flemish rockband De Lama’s that also involved Peter Slabbynck of Red Zebra and Kloot Per W). But it’s a fact Foul Taste Of Freedom is one of the songs that featured on the Metalopolis Vol.1 compilation, a disc I heavily rotated during puberty. The eponymous album now is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The catchy title track kicks off the album in style. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” With angry lyrics filled with social critique the New York based band brings forward its punk attitude.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is a hardcore album with hints of trash and groove metal. The 1992 debut of Pro-Pain has a lot of tempo changes, ranging from mid-tempo to breackneck speed. Despite the outstanding start and the multiple rhythm changes the album doesn’t succeed in holding my attention.

Highlights are Pound For Pound, a track that unites aggression and melody; the uplifting Every Good Boy Does Fine that surprises with a piece of trumpet and the up-tempo Murder 101. The intense Iraqnophobia (nice portemanteau) is a song that reflects the early nineties. The groovy Johnny Black stands out because of its fun wah-wah pedal effects.

Fans of the straightforward New York hardcore style can consider this purchase.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Nostalgie. Nostalgie was de beweegreden om me aan te bieden voor deze recensie. Ik weet niet meer of ik Pro-Pain nu leerde kennen in Headbanger’s Ball, de show op MTV van Vanessa Warwick of in Metaloplis, het radioprogramma op Studio Brussel met Mies Meulders – aka Lolita Lama (zangeres van De Lama’s – bekend van De Ideale Penis - met ook Peter Slabbynck van Red Zebra en Kloot Per W in de rangen). Pro-Pain stond met de song Foul Taste Of Freedom op de compilatie Metalopolis Vol.1, een schijf die ik als puber grijs heb gedraaid. Het gelijknamige album wordt nu heruitgegeven, geremastered uiteraard.

De aanstekelijke titelsong opent het album in stijl. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” Met een boze, maatschappijkritische songtekst zet de band uit New York zijn punkattitude in de verf.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is een hardcoreplaat met flarden trash en groove metal. Het debuut van Pro-Pain uit 1992 kent veel tempowissels, variërend tussen midtempo en razend snel.

Ondanks de uitstekende start en de vele ritmewissels, slaagt het album er niet in om mijn aandacht vast te houden.

Hoogtepunten zijn Pound For Pound, waar agressie en melodie elkaar moeiteloos vinden; het opzwepende Every Good Boy Does Fine dat verrast met een stukje trompet en het uptempo Murder 101. Iraqnophobia (leuke porte-manteau) is een intense song dat past in de toenmalige tijdsgeest. Het groovy Johnny Black valt op omwille van de toffe wah-wahpedaaleffecten.

Fans van de rechttoe rechtaan New York hardcore-stijl kunnen de aanschaf overwegen.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance