tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - Foul Taste Of Freedom

PRO-PAIN

Foul Taste Of Freedom

MusicCD
Groove MetalHardcoreTrashmetal

[70/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Nostalgia is the reason I volunteered for this review. I don’t remember if I learned to know Pro-Pain on MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball with Vanessa Warwick or in Metalopolis, the radioshow on Studio Brussel with Mies Meulders (aka Lolita Lama – the female singer in De Ideale Penis of the Flemish rockband De Lama’s that also involved Peter Slabbynck of Red Zebra and Kloot Per W). But it’s a fact Foul Taste Of Freedom is one of the songs that featured on the Metalopolis Vol.1 compilation, a disc I heavily rotated during puberty. The eponymous album now is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The catchy title track kicks off the album in style. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” With angry lyrics filled with social critique the New York based band brings forward its punk attitude.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is a hardcore album with hints of trash and groove metal. The 1992 debut of Pro-Pain has a lot of tempo changes, ranging from mid-tempo to breackneck speed. Despite the outstanding start and the multiple rhythm changes the album doesn’t succeed in holding my attention.

Highlights are Pound For Pound, a track that unites aggression and melody; the uplifting Every Good Boy Does Fine that surprises with a piece of trumpet and the up-tempo Murder 101. The intense Iraqnophobia (nice portemanteau) is a song that reflects the early nineties. The groovy Johnny Black stands out because of its fun wah-wah pedal effects.

Fans of the straightforward New York hardcore style can consider this purchase.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Nostalgie. Nostalgie was de beweegreden om me aan te bieden voor deze recensie. Ik weet niet meer of ik Pro-Pain nu leerde kennen in Headbanger’s Ball, de show op MTV van Vanessa Warwick of in Metaloplis, het radioprogramma op Studio Brussel met Mies Meulders – aka Lolita Lama (zangeres van De Lama’s – bekend van De Ideale Penis - met ook Peter Slabbynck van Red Zebra en Kloot Per W in de rangen). Pro-Pain stond met de song Foul Taste Of Freedom op de compilatie Metalopolis Vol.1, een schijf die ik als puber grijs heb gedraaid. Het gelijknamige album wordt nu heruitgegeven, geremastered uiteraard.

De aanstekelijke titelsong opent het album in stijl. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” Met een boze, maatschappijkritische songtekst zet de band uit New York zijn punkattitude in de verf.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is een hardcoreplaat met flarden trash en groove metal. Het debuut van Pro-Pain uit 1992 kent veel tempowissels, variërend tussen midtempo en razend snel.

Ondanks de uitstekende start en de vele ritmewissels, slaagt het album er niet in om mijn aandacht vast te houden.

Hoogtepunten zijn Pound For Pound, waar agressie en melodie elkaar moeiteloos vinden; het opzwepende Every Good Boy Does Fine dat verrast met een stukje trompet en het uptempo Murder 101. Iraqnophobia (leuke porte-manteau) is een intense song dat past in de toenmalige tijdsgeest. Het groovy Johnny Black valt op omwille van de toffe wah-wahpedaaleffecten.

Fans van de rechttoe rechtaan New York hardcore-stijl kunnen de aanschaf overwegen.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus