tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - Foul Taste Of Freedom

PRO-PAIN

Foul Taste Of Freedom

MusicCD
Groove MetalHardcoreTrashmetal

[70/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Nostalgia is the reason I volunteered for this review. I don’t remember if I learned to know Pro-Pain on MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball with Vanessa Warwick or in Metalopolis, the radioshow on Studio Brussel with Mies Meulders (aka Lolita Lama – the female singer in De Ideale Penis of the Flemish rockband De Lama’s that also involved Peter Slabbynck of Red Zebra and Kloot Per W). But it’s a fact Foul Taste Of Freedom is one of the songs that featured on the Metalopolis Vol.1 compilation, a disc I heavily rotated during puberty. The eponymous album now is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The catchy title track kicks off the album in style. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” With angry lyrics filled with social critique the New York based band brings forward its punk attitude.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is a hardcore album with hints of trash and groove metal. The 1992 debut of Pro-Pain has a lot of tempo changes, ranging from mid-tempo to breackneck speed. Despite the outstanding start and the multiple rhythm changes the album doesn’t succeed in holding my attention.

Highlights are Pound For Pound, a track that unites aggression and melody; the uplifting Every Good Boy Does Fine that surprises with a piece of trumpet and the up-tempo Murder 101. The intense Iraqnophobia (nice portemanteau) is a song that reflects the early nineties. The groovy Johnny Black stands out because of its fun wah-wah pedal effects.

Fans of the straightforward New York hardcore style can consider this purchase.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Nostalgie. Nostalgie was de beweegreden om me aan te bieden voor deze recensie. Ik weet niet meer of ik Pro-Pain nu leerde kennen in Headbanger’s Ball, de show op MTV van Vanessa Warwick of in Metaloplis, het radioprogramma op Studio Brussel met Mies Meulders – aka Lolita Lama (zangeres van De Lama’s – bekend van De Ideale Penis - met ook Peter Slabbynck van Red Zebra en Kloot Per W in de rangen). Pro-Pain stond met de song Foul Taste Of Freedom op de compilatie Metalopolis Vol.1, een schijf die ik als puber grijs heb gedraaid. Het gelijknamige album wordt nu heruitgegeven, geremastered uiteraard.

De aanstekelijke titelsong opent het album in stijl. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” Met een boze, maatschappijkritische songtekst zet de band uit New York zijn punkattitude in de verf.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is een hardcoreplaat met flarden trash en groove metal. Het debuut van Pro-Pain uit 1992 kent veel tempowissels, variërend tussen midtempo en razend snel.

Ondanks de uitstekende start en de vele ritmewissels, slaagt het album er niet in om mijn aandacht vast te houden.

Hoogtepunten zijn Pound For Pound, waar agressie en melodie elkaar moeiteloos vinden; het opzwepende Every Good Boy Does Fine dat verrast met een stukje trompet en het uptempo Murder 101. Iraqnophobia (leuke porte-manteau) is een intense song dat past in de toenmalige tijdsgeest. Het groovy Johnny Black valt op omwille van de toffe wah-wahpedaaleffecten.

Fans van de rechttoe rechtaan New York hardcore-stijl kunnen de aanschaf overwegen.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above