tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PRO-PAIN - Foul Taste Of Freedom

PRO-PAIN

Foul Taste Of Freedom

MusicCD
Groove MetalHardcoreTrashmetal

[70/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Nostalgia is the reason I volunteered for this review. I don’t remember if I learned to know Pro-Pain on MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball with Vanessa Warwick or in Metalopolis, the radioshow on Studio Brussel with Mies Meulders (aka Lolita Lama – the female singer in De Ideale Penis of the Flemish rockband De Lama’s that also involved Peter Slabbynck of Red Zebra and Kloot Per W). But it’s a fact Foul Taste Of Freedom is one of the songs that featured on the Metalopolis Vol.1 compilation, a disc I heavily rotated during puberty. The eponymous album now is re-issued, re-mastered off course.

The catchy title track kicks off the album in style. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” With angry lyrics filled with social critique the New York based band brings forward its punk attitude.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is a hardcore album with hints of trash and groove metal. The 1992 debut of Pro-Pain has a lot of tempo changes, ranging from mid-tempo to breackneck speed. Despite the outstanding start and the multiple rhythm changes the album doesn’t succeed in holding my attention.

Highlights are Pound For Pound, a track that unites aggression and melody; the uplifting Every Good Boy Does Fine that surprises with a piece of trumpet and the up-tempo Murder 101. The intense Iraqnophobia (nice portemanteau) is a song that reflects the early nineties. The groovy Johnny Black stands out because of its fun wah-wah pedal effects.

Fans of the straightforward New York hardcore style can consider this purchase.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Nostalgie. Nostalgie was de beweegreden om me aan te bieden voor deze recensie. Ik weet niet meer of ik Pro-Pain nu leerde kennen in Headbanger’s Ball, de show op MTV van Vanessa Warwick of in Metaloplis, het radioprogramma op Studio Brussel met Mies Meulders – aka Lolita Lama (zangeres van De Lama’s – bekend van De Ideale Penis - met ook Peter Slabbynck van Red Zebra en Kloot Per W in de rangen). Pro-Pain stond met de song Foul Taste Of Freedom op de compilatie Metalopolis Vol.1, een schijf die ik als puber grijs heb gedraaid. Het gelijknamige album wordt nu heruitgegeven, geremastered uiteraard.

De aanstekelijke titelsong opent het album in stijl. “Democracy leaves a foul taste of freedom in me!” Met een boze, maatschappijkritische songtekst zet de band uit New York zijn punkattitude in de verf.

Foul Taste Of Freedom is een hardcoreplaat met flarden trash en groove metal. Het debuut van Pro-Pain uit 1992 kent veel tempowissels, variërend tussen midtempo en razend snel.

Ondanks de uitstekende start en de vele ritmewissels, slaagt het album er niet in om mijn aandacht vast te houden.

Hoogtepunten zijn Pound For Pound, waar agressie en melodie elkaar moeiteloos vinden; het opzwepende Every Good Boy Does Fine dat verrast met een stukje trompet en het uptempo Murder 101. Iraqnophobia (leuke porte-manteau) is een intense song dat past in de toenmalige tijdsgeest. Het groovy Johnny Black valt op omwille van de toffe wah-wahpedaaleffecten.

Fans van de rechttoe rechtaan New York hardcore-stijl kunnen de aanschaf overwegen.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning