tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/10/2014 : PSY'AVIAH - The Xenogamous Endeavour

PSY'AVIAH

The Xenogamous Endeavour

MusicCD
ElectroElectro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[98/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
01/10/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

From one thing you can be sure: Yves Schelpe keeps it very interesting. Due to circumstances this Belgian artist had to replace his former vocal pearl by a whole bunch of other people.

If you listen to the first track you'll notice some nice beats and a catchy sound with vocals that reminds me of Technoir with Julia Beyer. Does your heart beat faster now? Lis van den Akker has a marvellous and very sexy voice. Yves just has created the right music for her!

A bit more poppy and sweeter, but also very catchy is Sacrifices. Strange enough there is that Julia Beyer-feeling coming up again. Master crafting in the studio, that’s for sure, and a song that invites you to dance and jump up and down.

The next one is done by Mari Kattman: more soft and dreamy and added with a great dose of melancholy. Miss FD brings some more break beats it and sounds a bit like an underground version of Lady Gaga in an SM-pose. Her vocals are pretty monotone, aggressive and sometimes smooth as a nightingale or even like some whispering angel. It really feels like if she is fighting against the beats.

Diana S. is more like an interlude, and something I tend to skip. Sorry about that folks! Before I Die sounds like some foot stomping hit that can stand a chance on the dance floor. The next song is with Yves Schelpe himself behind the microphone and that’s a very positive surprise! Yves should do it more! The result sounds a bit like Diskonnekted: both vocals and music, that is a good thing and also released on the same label. It gives you some Eurobeat-sound!

On my mind has an even bigger Eurobeat-sound, this time with sweet vocals from Lisa Nascimento. Kyoko proves again her quality (The Parts You Can't See), while Never enough works its way into your head, just like a musical earworm! Suzi Q. Smith has a nice spoken word track that could be played on all national radio stations. The lyrics are definitely worth reading, a nice gimmick!

More Julia Beyer-stuff comes with Last Of Us, a bit of a soft erotic dream (heavenly voice, melancholic, ethereal...). The last track is for sure the biggest surprise of whole the album with Angèlika Schwarzblut: ethereal, medieval and driven by a marvellous harp sound. The perfect way to end an album.

His newest offer is for sure the best one that Yves Schelpe created so far! It also feels like a “best of” and has enough variation to please everyone! For sure one of the albums of the year!

The second CD with remixes is very surprisingly, kind of Teknoville- and Lounge Bar-minded. It sounds very commercial and perfectly worked out by the best DJ's! Once again, a nice surprise!

TRACK-LISTING

CD1 The Xenogamous Endeavour


01. Long Way (ft. Lis van den Akker)
02. Sacrifices (ft. Mari Kattman)
03. Our Common End (ft. Mari Kattman)
04. Deliverance (ft. Miss FD)
05. (Prelude) Bevor Ich Sterbe (ft. Diana S.)
06. Before I Die (ft. Diana S.)
07. Broken / Failed (ft. Damasius Venys)
08. On My Mind (ft. Lisa Nascimento)
09. The Parts You Can't See (ft. Kyoko Baertsoen)
10. Never Enough (ft. Lis van den Akker)
11. Get Your Tickets (ft. Suzi Q. Smith)
12. Last Of Us (ft. Mari Kattman)
13. In Uthenera (Leliana's Song) (ft. Angèlika Schwarzblut)

CD2 The Exogamous Endeavour (only available in the limited 2CD box edition of The Xenomagous Endeavour)


01. The Parts You Can't See (ft. Kyoko Baertsoen) (Tim Iron remix)
02. Never Enough (ft. Lis van den Akker) (Jan Vervloet remix)
03. Long Way (ft. Lis van den Akker) (Dizkodude remix)
04. Our Common End (ft. Mari Kattman) (Cosmic Armchair remix)
05. The Parts You Can't See (ft. kyoko Baertsoen) (M.I.K.E. Push remix)
06. Long Way (ft. Lis van den Akker) (Amarta Project remix)
07. Our Common End (ft. Mari Kattman) (T.O.M. remix)
08. On My Mind (ft. Lisa Nascimento) (Red Broad remix)
09. Long Way (ft. Lis van den Akker) (Maarten Pels remix)
10. Procedure To Mistrust (Ruined Conflict rendition)
11. Before I Die (ft. Diana S.) (Schwarzblut rendition) 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/10/2014


 

Next reviews
TOM THE LION • Sleep
LAKE BELL • In A World
GIUSEPPE TORNATORE • The Best Offer
VIEON • The sound of the future
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
GUS GUS • Mexico
KEVIN HEWICK • All was numbered
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold
FRANCOIS TRUFFAUT • La Peau Douce
MARTIN CARR • The Breaks

 

Other reviews from PSY'AVIAH
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
PSY'AVIAH • Introspection/Extrospection

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo