tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

QUAL

Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Concert
13/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

On a rainy Monday night we went to Brussels, still feeling the rhythm of the weekend. After strolling through the city of Brussels and the company of some rain drops, we went towards the Beursschouwburg (venue-ed.) The black box was our destiny. It’s tiny, and with 38 music fans completely sold out! Mad About Music presented someone special on 11th January: William Maybelline, the half of Lebanon Hanover, who was here to present his project Qual. The majority of the audience sat on the three steps, but your reporter was standing. Sitting down during such a performance? Of course not!

The whole masterpiece Sable was played. IIt was not a question of starting the machines and performing some lyrics! No, the man used the three square meters of the stage for the most frenetic dance antics we've seen since Ian Curtis. He moved, he contorted, he enjoyed and he was full of emotion. The way Maybelline performs his music is almost beyond human. It is full of integrity and full of depth. The way the pain is reflected in his vocals is touching. The stone walls were vibrating because of the hard sound, and that in a venue with the size of a doghouse.

The basses were given some extra strength, and sometimes it sounded a bit like EBM. The audience enjoyed it, even though seated. Maybelline’s emotion is not played, the cry is not hypocritical, it comes straight from his body. Regularly he slammed with full force on his flight case with a steel chain, so the energy became more intense. What a great musician and performer! 

When I left the Black Box, there was still that same rain, the cold hit me, the winter was coming, and I got the feeling: damn, I already saw the best show of the year. Heavenly!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


NL

Op een druilerige maandagavond trokken we naar Brussel, het weekend nog maar half verteerd. Na een wandelingetje door Brussel en vergezeld van wat regendruppels gingen we de richting van de Beursschouwburg uit. En dan afdalen naar het heilige hok: de zwarte doos. Piepklein en met 38 muziekliefhebbers meteen uitverkocht! Mad About Music had op 11 januari iemand extra uitgenodigd, nl. William Maybelline, de helft van Lebanon Hanover die er met zijn project Qual kwam optreden. Het overgrote deel van het publiek zat op de 3 treden in de Black Box, maar uw verslaggever stond recht. Zitten bij zo’n optreden? Natuurlijk niet!

Het volledige meesterwerk Sable werd opgevoerd. En niet zomaar pijlsnel de machinerie op gang trekken en de teksten afratelen. Neen, de man benutte de drie vierkante meter van het podium met de meest krampachtige danscapriolen die we sedert Ian Curtis hebben gezien. Hij bewoog, hij verkrampte, hij genoot en zat vol emotie. De manier waarop Maybelline zijn muziek brengt is bijna vloorbij het menselijke. Ze zit vol integriteit en wordt met diepgang gebracht. De manier waarop de pijn doorklinkt in de vocalen is aandoenlijk. Reken daarbij ook nog het feit dat het geluid letterlijk de stenen muren deed trillen en je hebt een idee van hoe de sfeer in een zaal was, die amper de grootte van een veredeld hondenhok heeft.

De bassen werden met extra kracht bijgezet en soms ging het in de richting van EBM uit. Het kwam op ons af en het raakte ons. Het publiek genoot, hoewel zittend, van een stevige set, net zoals Maybelline die zichzelf volledig overgaf. De emotie is niet gespeeld, de schreeuw die weerklinkt is niet geveinsd, maar het komt regelrecht uit zijn verkrampte lijf. Met een stalen ketting ramde hij regelmatig met volle kracht op een flightcase zodat de energie nog meer ventileerde. Vocaal is hij misschien niet het allerbeste talent, maar wat een geweldige muzikant én performer! Tijdens het laatste nummer werden alle registers nog een keer volledig opengetrokken. Of toch niet, het publiek vroeg om meer en kreeg dat ook met een kersvers nummer dat alweer hard en meedogenloos klonk.

Toen ik de zwarte doos verliet, was er nog steeds diezelfde regen, de kou overviel me, de winter net iets meer tastbaar, en ik kreeg het gevoel: verdomme, ik heb nu al het beste optreden van dit jaar gezien. Hemels! 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love