tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

QUAL

Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Concert
13/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

On a rainy Monday night we went to Brussels, still feeling the rhythm of the weekend. After strolling through the city of Brussels and the company of some rain drops, we went towards the Beursschouwburg (venue-ed.) The black box was our destiny. It’s tiny, and with 38 music fans completely sold out! Mad About Music presented someone special on 11th January: William Maybelline, the half of Lebanon Hanover, who was here to present his project Qual. The majority of the audience sat on the three steps, but your reporter was standing. Sitting down during such a performance? Of course not!

The whole masterpiece Sable was played. IIt was not a question of starting the machines and performing some lyrics! No, the man used the three square meters of the stage for the most frenetic dance antics we've seen since Ian Curtis. He moved, he contorted, he enjoyed and he was full of emotion. The way Maybelline performs his music is almost beyond human. It is full of integrity and full of depth. The way the pain is reflected in his vocals is touching. The stone walls were vibrating because of the hard sound, and that in a venue with the size of a doghouse.

The basses were given some extra strength, and sometimes it sounded a bit like EBM. The audience enjoyed it, even though seated. Maybelline’s emotion is not played, the cry is not hypocritical, it comes straight from his body. Regularly he slammed with full force on his flight case with a steel chain, so the energy became more intense. What a great musician and performer! 

When I left the Black Box, there was still that same rain, the cold hit me, the winter was coming, and I got the feeling: damn, I already saw the best show of the year. Heavenly!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


NL

Op een druilerige maandagavond trokken we naar Brussel, het weekend nog maar half verteerd. Na een wandelingetje door Brussel en vergezeld van wat regendruppels gingen we de richting van de Beursschouwburg uit. En dan afdalen naar het heilige hok: de zwarte doos. Piepklein en met 38 muziekliefhebbers meteen uitverkocht! Mad About Music had op 11 januari iemand extra uitgenodigd, nl. William Maybelline, de helft van Lebanon Hanover die er met zijn project Qual kwam optreden. Het overgrote deel van het publiek zat op de 3 treden in de Black Box, maar uw verslaggever stond recht. Zitten bij zo’n optreden? Natuurlijk niet!

Het volledige meesterwerk Sable werd opgevoerd. En niet zomaar pijlsnel de machinerie op gang trekken en de teksten afratelen. Neen, de man benutte de drie vierkante meter van het podium met de meest krampachtige danscapriolen die we sedert Ian Curtis hebben gezien. Hij bewoog, hij verkrampte, hij genoot en zat vol emotie. De manier waarop Maybelline zijn muziek brengt is bijna vloorbij het menselijke. Ze zit vol integriteit en wordt met diepgang gebracht. De manier waarop de pijn doorklinkt in de vocalen is aandoenlijk. Reken daarbij ook nog het feit dat het geluid letterlijk de stenen muren deed trillen en je hebt een idee van hoe de sfeer in een zaal was, die amper de grootte van een veredeld hondenhok heeft.

De bassen werden met extra kracht bijgezet en soms ging het in de richting van EBM uit. Het kwam op ons af en het raakte ons. Het publiek genoot, hoewel zittend, van een stevige set, net zoals Maybelline die zichzelf volledig overgaf. De emotie is niet gespeeld, de schreeuw die weerklinkt is niet geveinsd, maar het komt regelrecht uit zijn verkrampte lijf. Met een stalen ketting ramde hij regelmatig met volle kracht op een flightcase zodat de energie nog meer ventileerde. Vocaal is hij misschien niet het allerbeste talent, maar wat een geweldige muzikant én performer! Tijdens het laatste nummer werden alle registers nog een keer volledig opengetrokken. Of toch niet, het publiek vroeg om meer en kreeg dat ook met een kersvers nummer dat alweer hard en meedogenloos klonk.

Toen ik de zwarte doos verliet, was er nog steeds diezelfde regen, de kou overviel me, de winter net iets meer tastbaar, en ik kreeg het gevoel: verdomme, ik heb nu al het beste optreden van dit jaar gezien. Hemels! 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty