tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

QUAL

Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Concert
13/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

On a rainy Monday night we went to Brussels, still feeling the rhythm of the weekend. After strolling through the city of Brussels and the company of some rain drops, we went towards the Beursschouwburg (venue-ed.) The black box was our destiny. It’s tiny, and with 38 music fans completely sold out! Mad About Music presented someone special on 11th January: William Maybelline, the half of Lebanon Hanover, who was here to present his project Qual. The majority of the audience sat on the three steps, but your reporter was standing. Sitting down during such a performance? Of course not!

The whole masterpiece Sable was played. IIt was not a question of starting the machines and performing some lyrics! No, the man used the three square meters of the stage for the most frenetic dance antics we've seen since Ian Curtis. He moved, he contorted, he enjoyed and he was full of emotion. The way Maybelline performs his music is almost beyond human. It is full of integrity and full of depth. The way the pain is reflected in his vocals is touching. The stone walls were vibrating because of the hard sound, and that in a venue with the size of a doghouse.

The basses were given some extra strength, and sometimes it sounded a bit like EBM. The audience enjoyed it, even though seated. Maybelline’s emotion is not played, the cry is not hypocritical, it comes straight from his body. Regularly he slammed with full force on his flight case with a steel chain, so the energy became more intense. What a great musician and performer! 

When I left the Black Box, there was still that same rain, the cold hit me, the winter was coming, and I got the feeling: damn, I already saw the best show of the year. Heavenly!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


NL

Op een druilerige maandagavond trokken we naar Brussel, het weekend nog maar half verteerd. Na een wandelingetje door Brussel en vergezeld van wat regendruppels gingen we de richting van de Beursschouwburg uit. En dan afdalen naar het heilige hok: de zwarte doos. Piepklein en met 38 muziekliefhebbers meteen uitverkocht! Mad About Music had op 11 januari iemand extra uitgenodigd, nl. William Maybelline, de helft van Lebanon Hanover die er met zijn project Qual kwam optreden. Het overgrote deel van het publiek zat op de 3 treden in de Black Box, maar uw verslaggever stond recht. Zitten bij zo’n optreden? Natuurlijk niet!

Het volledige meesterwerk Sable werd opgevoerd. En niet zomaar pijlsnel de machinerie op gang trekken en de teksten afratelen. Neen, de man benutte de drie vierkante meter van het podium met de meest krampachtige danscapriolen die we sedert Ian Curtis hebben gezien. Hij bewoog, hij verkrampte, hij genoot en zat vol emotie. De manier waarop Maybelline zijn muziek brengt is bijna vloorbij het menselijke. Ze zit vol integriteit en wordt met diepgang gebracht. De manier waarop de pijn doorklinkt in de vocalen is aandoenlijk. Reken daarbij ook nog het feit dat het geluid letterlijk de stenen muren deed trillen en je hebt een idee van hoe de sfeer in een zaal was, die amper de grootte van een veredeld hondenhok heeft.

De bassen werden met extra kracht bijgezet en soms ging het in de richting van EBM uit. Het kwam op ons af en het raakte ons. Het publiek genoot, hoewel zittend, van een stevige set, net zoals Maybelline die zichzelf volledig overgaf. De emotie is niet gespeeld, de schreeuw die weerklinkt is niet geveinsd, maar het komt regelrecht uit zijn verkrampte lijf. Met een stalen ketting ramde hij regelmatig met volle kracht op een flightcase zodat de energie nog meer ventileerde. Vocaal is hij misschien niet het allerbeste talent, maar wat een geweldige muzikant én performer! Tijdens het laatste nummer werden alle registers nog een keer volledig opengetrokken. Of toch niet, het publiek vroeg om meer en kreeg dat ook met een kersvers nummer dat alweer hard en meedogenloos klonk.

Toen ik de zwarte doos verliet, was er nog steeds diezelfde regen, de kou overviel me, de winter net iets meer tastbaar, en ik kreeg het gevoel: verdomme, ik heb nu al het beste optreden van dit jaar gezien. Hemels! 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis