tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

QUAL

Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Concert
13/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

On a rainy Monday night we went to Brussels, still feeling the rhythm of the weekend. After strolling through the city of Brussels and the company of some rain drops, we went towards the Beursschouwburg (venue-ed.) The black box was our destiny. It’s tiny, and with 38 music fans completely sold out! Mad About Music presented someone special on 11th January: William Maybelline, the half of Lebanon Hanover, who was here to present his project Qual. The majority of the audience sat on the three steps, but your reporter was standing. Sitting down during such a performance? Of course not!

The whole masterpiece Sable was played. IIt was not a question of starting the machines and performing some lyrics! No, the man used the three square meters of the stage for the most frenetic dance antics we've seen since Ian Curtis. He moved, he contorted, he enjoyed and he was full of emotion. The way Maybelline performs his music is almost beyond human. It is full of integrity and full of depth. The way the pain is reflected in his vocals is touching. The stone walls were vibrating because of the hard sound, and that in a venue with the size of a doghouse.

The basses were given some extra strength, and sometimes it sounded a bit like EBM. The audience enjoyed it, even though seated. Maybelline’s emotion is not played, the cry is not hypocritical, it comes straight from his body. Regularly he slammed with full force on his flight case with a steel chain, so the energy became more intense. What a great musician and performer! 

When I left the Black Box, there was still that same rain, the cold hit me, the winter was coming, and I got the feeling: damn, I already saw the best show of the year. Heavenly!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


NL

Op een druilerige maandagavond trokken we naar Brussel, het weekend nog maar half verteerd. Na een wandelingetje door Brussel en vergezeld van wat regendruppels gingen we de richting van de Beursschouwburg uit. En dan afdalen naar het heilige hok: de zwarte doos. Piepklein en met 38 muziekliefhebbers meteen uitverkocht! Mad About Music had op 11 januari iemand extra uitgenodigd, nl. William Maybelline, de helft van Lebanon Hanover die er met zijn project Qual kwam optreden. Het overgrote deel van het publiek zat op de 3 treden in de Black Box, maar uw verslaggever stond recht. Zitten bij zo’n optreden? Natuurlijk niet!

Het volledige meesterwerk Sable werd opgevoerd. En niet zomaar pijlsnel de machinerie op gang trekken en de teksten afratelen. Neen, de man benutte de drie vierkante meter van het podium met de meest krampachtige danscapriolen die we sedert Ian Curtis hebben gezien. Hij bewoog, hij verkrampte, hij genoot en zat vol emotie. De manier waarop Maybelline zijn muziek brengt is bijna vloorbij het menselijke. Ze zit vol integriteit en wordt met diepgang gebracht. De manier waarop de pijn doorklinkt in de vocalen is aandoenlijk. Reken daarbij ook nog het feit dat het geluid letterlijk de stenen muren deed trillen en je hebt een idee van hoe de sfeer in een zaal was, die amper de grootte van een veredeld hondenhok heeft.

De bassen werden met extra kracht bijgezet en soms ging het in de richting van EBM uit. Het kwam op ons af en het raakte ons. Het publiek genoot, hoewel zittend, van een stevige set, net zoals Maybelline die zichzelf volledig overgaf. De emotie is niet gespeeld, de schreeuw die weerklinkt is niet geveinsd, maar het komt regelrecht uit zijn verkrampte lijf. Met een stalen ketting ramde hij regelmatig met volle kracht op een flightcase zodat de energie nog meer ventileerde. Vocaal is hij misschien niet het allerbeste talent, maar wat een geweldige muzikant én performer! Tijdens het laatste nummer werden alle registers nog een keer volledig opengetrokken. Of toch niet, het publiek vroeg om meer en kreeg dat ook met een kersvers nummer dat alweer hard en meedogenloos klonk.

Toen ik de zwarte doos verliet, was er nog steeds diezelfde regen, de kou overviel me, de winter net iets meer tastbaar, en ik kreeg het gevoel: verdomme, ik heb nu al het beste optreden van dit jaar gezien. Hemels! 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2016


13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16) 13/01/2016 : QUAL - Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
ALPHAMAY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
10
07
MARCIA BAILA
LES RITA MITSOUKO