tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS - Aligned With Juniper

QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS

Aligned With Juniper

MusicCD
DreampopFolk

[80/100]   

Tiny Room Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Aligned With Juniper is the debut of the French band Queen of the Meadow. In fact, it's the stage name by Helen Ferguson of Bordeaux, which manage to put here a dreamy atmosphere.

Caleb sounds like a traditional. A folk song that sounds woolly. The Bride is put down like a fairy tale world. Partly thanks to, inter alia, the use of a xylophone. The potrait leaves room for emotional and hurt-sounding vocals. Not everything in the world of Helen is so lovely and dreamy. Also on Rainy Tuesday and Evil Queen are the lyrics heavier than the music in which they are packaged. At times the songs sound thin and tend them what the atmosphere for example Isobel Campbell drops in her songs. At other times they sound pretty folk and traditional. Milk Shore Park sounds like a clumsy people parade and closes an inthralling pop / folk album.

A beautiful voice. Songs that simply stabbing each other but knowing touch. Main instruments on the album are the acoustic guitar, the voice and some sparse bass, percussion and so. The cover portrays well what you may expect from the music. A fine introduction to a strong debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Aligned With Juniper is het debuut van de Franse band Queen of the Meadow. In feite is het de artiestennaam van Helen Ferguson uit Bordeaux die hier een dromerige sfeer neerzet.

Caleb klinkt als een traditional. Een folkliedje dat wat zweverig klinkt. Op The Bride hoor je als het ware een sprookjeswereld, vooral dankzij het gebruik van de xylofoon. The Potrait laat ruimte voor een emotionele zang. Niet alles in Helens wereld is echter liefelijk en dromerig. Ook op Rainy Tuesday en Evil Queen zijn de teksten wat zwaarder dan de muziek waarin ze verpakt zitten. Op sommige momenten klinken de songs ijl en neigen ze naar Isobel Campbell. Op andere momenten klinken ze vrij folk en traditioneel.

Een mooie stem. Liedjes die eenvoudig in elkaar steken, maar raken. De voornaamste instrumenten zijn de akoestische gitaar, de stem en wat spaarzame bas en percussie. De hoes beeldt goed uit wat je van de muziek mag verwachten. Een sterk debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete