tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS - Aligned With Juniper

QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS

Aligned With Juniper

MusicCD
DreampopFolk

[80/100]   

Tiny Room Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Aligned With Juniper is the debut of the French band Queen of the Meadow. In fact, it's the stage name by Helen Ferguson of Bordeaux, which manage to put here a dreamy atmosphere.

Caleb sounds like a traditional. A folk song that sounds woolly. The Bride is put down like a fairy tale world. Partly thanks to, inter alia, the use of a xylophone. The potrait leaves room for emotional and hurt-sounding vocals. Not everything in the world of Helen is so lovely and dreamy. Also on Rainy Tuesday and Evil Queen are the lyrics heavier than the music in which they are packaged. At times the songs sound thin and tend them what the atmosphere for example Isobel Campbell drops in her songs. At other times they sound pretty folk and traditional. Milk Shore Park sounds like a clumsy people parade and closes an inthralling pop / folk album.

A beautiful voice. Songs that simply stabbing each other but knowing touch. Main instruments on the album are the acoustic guitar, the voice and some sparse bass, percussion and so. The cover portrays well what you may expect from the music. A fine introduction to a strong debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Aligned With Juniper is het debuut van de Franse band Queen of the Meadow. In feite is het de artiestennaam van Helen Ferguson uit Bordeaux die hier een dromerige sfeer neerzet.

Caleb klinkt als een traditional. Een folkliedje dat wat zweverig klinkt. Op The Bride hoor je als het ware een sprookjeswereld, vooral dankzij het gebruik van de xylofoon. The Potrait laat ruimte voor een emotionele zang. Niet alles in Helens wereld is echter liefelijk en dromerig. Ook op Rainy Tuesday en Evil Queen zijn de teksten wat zwaarder dan de muziek waarin ze verpakt zitten. Op sommige momenten klinken de songs ijl en neigen ze naar Isobel Campbell. Op andere momenten klinken ze vrij folk en traditioneel.

Een mooie stem. Liedjes die eenvoudig in elkaar steken, maar raken. De voornaamste instrumenten zijn de akoestische gitaar, de stem en wat spaarzame bas en percussie. De hoes beeldt goed uit wat je van de muziek mag verwachten. Een sterk debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed