tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS - Aligned With Juniper

QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS

Aligned With Juniper

MusicCD
DreampopFolk

[80/100]   

Tiny Room Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Aligned With Juniper is the debut of the French band Queen of the Meadow. In fact, it's the stage name by Helen Ferguson of Bordeaux, which manage to put here a dreamy atmosphere.

Caleb sounds like a traditional. A folk song that sounds woolly. The Bride is put down like a fairy tale world. Partly thanks to, inter alia, the use of a xylophone. The potrait leaves room for emotional and hurt-sounding vocals. Not everything in the world of Helen is so lovely and dreamy. Also on Rainy Tuesday and Evil Queen are the lyrics heavier than the music in which they are packaged. At times the songs sound thin and tend them what the atmosphere for example Isobel Campbell drops in her songs. At other times they sound pretty folk and traditional. Milk Shore Park sounds like a clumsy people parade and closes an inthralling pop / folk album.

A beautiful voice. Songs that simply stabbing each other but knowing touch. Main instruments on the album are the acoustic guitar, the voice and some sparse bass, percussion and so. The cover portrays well what you may expect from the music. A fine introduction to a strong debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Aligned With Juniper is het debuut van de Franse band Queen of the Meadow. In feite is het de artiestennaam van Helen Ferguson uit Bordeaux die hier een dromerige sfeer neerzet.

Caleb klinkt als een traditional. Een folkliedje dat wat zweverig klinkt. Op The Bride hoor je als het ware een sprookjeswereld, vooral dankzij het gebruik van de xylofoon. The Potrait laat ruimte voor een emotionele zang. Niet alles in Helens wereld is echter liefelijk en dromerig. Ook op Rainy Tuesday en Evil Queen zijn de teksten wat zwaarder dan de muziek waarin ze verpakt zitten. Op sommige momenten klinken de songs ijl en neigen ze naar Isobel Campbell. Op andere momenten klinken ze vrij folk en traditioneel.

Een mooie stem. Liedjes die eenvoudig in elkaar steken, maar raken. De voornaamste instrumenten zijn de akoestische gitaar, de stem en wat spaarzame bas en percussie. De hoes beeldt goed uit wat je van de muziek mag verwachten. Een sterk debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem