tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME - A Time For A Timing

QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME

A Time For A Timing

MusicCD
Noise

[70/100]   

Block Bunker Records
24/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

 

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is the title of a project of Gil Kockelmans.
Straight to the point: This is noise. Noise, both in the use of the instruments as well as the voice. I can hardly call the vocal pieces singing nor shouting or whispering – it all sounds a bit strange. The musician improvises and that result is: the project. Fine – but nothing more.
In the press release one tries to place this music into the broader perspective of free jazz and noise/blues. Yes - ?! Everything that does not evolve within established lines is easily called free jazz, while this musical style has its own regularity. But I understand what is meant. At least, I think I do.
What I find particularly special in those experiments is that the tracks have titles. The 13 tracks on the album (with only 30 minutes of music) have names. How does one invent: Blind clothes, Traque continentale,... I find this associative ability fascinating, but I miss the point. I know, not everything needs an intellectualised approach. Luckily! But this is a trip and I do not mean that pejoratively. It is (as said): noise, improvisation, association and (mainly) concept. And, if the latter is the case, I can, perfectly, live with it.
It will be clear that it's difficult for me to label this album. There is also little information available about this project. This forces us to focus on the core of the matter and to listen to the music.
On June 4 (2011) Gil Kockelmans was a guest at the performance of Jonathan De Winter in art gallery Sébastien Ricou in Brussels (see shared clip on this page). In such a context of an overall concept I can place and appreciate this music perfectly. If I can enjoy it listing to it on a CD, is another matter.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


NL

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is de titel van een project van Gil Kockelmans.
Meteen ter zake: dit is geluid. Geluid zowel wat betreft het gebruik van de instrumenten als de stem. De vocale stukken kan ik moeilijk zingen noemen maar ook geen roepen, fluisteren – het klinkt een beetje vreemd allemaal. De muzikant improviseert en dat resultaat is: het project. Prima – maar meer ook niet.
In de perstekst probeert men deze muziek een plaats te geven. Men spreekt over free jazz en noise / blues. Ja - ?! Alles wat niet meteen volgens een vast stramien verloopt wordt al gauw free jazz genoemd, terwijl deze muziekstijl toch zijn wetmatigheden kent. Maar ik begrijp wat bedoeld wordt. Tenminste, dat denk ik.
Wat ik bij dergelijke experimenten vooral bijzonder vind is dat men de tracks ook effectief een titel weet mee te geven. De 13 tracks op het album (met amper 30 minuten muziek) hebben namen. Hoe bedenkt men: Blind Clothes, Traque continentale, … Het is een associatief vermogen dat ik fascinerend vind, maar de essentie ontgaat mij. Ik weet het wel – niet alles hoeft op een doordacht intellectualistische manier benaderd te worden. Gelukkig maar! Maar dit is een trip. En dat bedoel ik niet pejoratief. Het is, zoals gezegd, geluid, improvisatie, associatie en (vooral) concept. En als dat laatste aanwezig is, dan kan ik daar prima mee leven.
Het zal duidelijk zijn dat ik moeite heb om dit geheel te benoemen. Over het project is ook weinig informatie te vinden. Dat dwingt ons om zich tot de kern van de zaak te beperken en om naar de muziek te luisteren.
Op 4 juni 2011 was Gil Kockelmans te gast bij een performance van Jonathan De Winter in galerie Sébastien Ricou in Brussel (zie gedeelde clip op deze pagina). In dergelijke context van een totaalconcept kan ik de muziek perfect plaatsen en appreciëren. Of ik er bij het beluisteren van een CD kan van genieten, is een andere zaak.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)