tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME - A Time For A Timing

QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME

A Time For A Timing

MusicCD
Noise

[70/100]   

Block Bunker Records
24/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

 

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is the title of a project of Gil Kockelmans.
Straight to the point: This is noise. Noise, both in the use of the instruments as well as the voice. I can hardly call the vocal pieces singing nor shouting or whispering – it all sounds a bit strange. The musician improvises and that result is: the project. Fine – but nothing more.
In the press release one tries to place this music into the broader perspective of free jazz and noise/blues. Yes - ?! Everything that does not evolve within established lines is easily called free jazz, while this musical style has its own regularity. But I understand what is meant. At least, I think I do.
What I find particularly special in those experiments is that the tracks have titles. The 13 tracks on the album (with only 30 minutes of music) have names. How does one invent: Blind clothes, Traque continentale,... I find this associative ability fascinating, but I miss the point. I know, not everything needs an intellectualised approach. Luckily! But this is a trip and I do not mean that pejoratively. It is (as said): noise, improvisation, association and (mainly) concept. And, if the latter is the case, I can, perfectly, live with it.
It will be clear that it's difficult for me to label this album. There is also little information available about this project. This forces us to focus on the core of the matter and to listen to the music.
On June 4 (2011) Gil Kockelmans was a guest at the performance of Jonathan De Winter in art gallery Sébastien Ricou in Brussels (see shared clip on this page). In such a context of an overall concept I can place and appreciate this music perfectly. If I can enjoy it listing to it on a CD, is another matter.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


NL

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is de titel van een project van Gil Kockelmans.
Meteen ter zake: dit is geluid. Geluid zowel wat betreft het gebruik van de instrumenten als de stem. De vocale stukken kan ik moeilijk zingen noemen maar ook geen roepen, fluisteren – het klinkt een beetje vreemd allemaal. De muzikant improviseert en dat resultaat is: het project. Prima – maar meer ook niet.
In de perstekst probeert men deze muziek een plaats te geven. Men spreekt over free jazz en noise / blues. Ja - ?! Alles wat niet meteen volgens een vast stramien verloopt wordt al gauw free jazz genoemd, terwijl deze muziekstijl toch zijn wetmatigheden kent. Maar ik begrijp wat bedoeld wordt. Tenminste, dat denk ik.
Wat ik bij dergelijke experimenten vooral bijzonder vind is dat men de tracks ook effectief een titel weet mee te geven. De 13 tracks op het album (met amper 30 minuten muziek) hebben namen. Hoe bedenkt men: Blind Clothes, Traque continentale, … Het is een associatief vermogen dat ik fascinerend vind, maar de essentie ontgaat mij. Ik weet het wel – niet alles hoeft op een doordacht intellectualistische manier benaderd te worden. Gelukkig maar! Maar dit is een trip. En dat bedoel ik niet pejoratief. Het is, zoals gezegd, geluid, improvisatie, associatie en (vooral) concept. En als dat laatste aanwezig is, dan kan ik daar prima mee leven.
Het zal duidelijk zijn dat ik moeite heb om dit geheel te benoemen. Over het project is ook weinig informatie te vinden. Dat dwingt ons om zich tot de kern van de zaak te beperken en om naar de muziek te luisteren.
Op 4 juni 2011 was Gil Kockelmans te gast bij een performance van Jonathan De Winter in galerie Sébastien Ricou in Brussel (zie gedeelde clip op deze pagina). In dergelijke context van een totaalconcept kan ik de muziek perfect plaatsen en appreciëren. Of ik er bij het beluisteren van een CD kan van genieten, is een andere zaak.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS