tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME - A Time For A Timing

QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME

A Time For A Timing

MusicCD
Noise

[70/100]   

Block Bunker Records
24/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

 

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is the title of a project of Gil Kockelmans.
Straight to the point: This is noise. Noise, both in the use of the instruments as well as the voice. I can hardly call the vocal pieces singing nor shouting or whispering – it all sounds a bit strange. The musician improvises and that result is: the project. Fine – but nothing more.
In the press release one tries to place this music into the broader perspective of free jazz and noise/blues. Yes - ?! Everything that does not evolve within established lines is easily called free jazz, while this musical style has its own regularity. But I understand what is meant. At least, I think I do.
What I find particularly special in those experiments is that the tracks have titles. The 13 tracks on the album (with only 30 minutes of music) have names. How does one invent: Blind clothes, Traque continentale,... I find this associative ability fascinating, but I miss the point. I know, not everything needs an intellectualised approach. Luckily! But this is a trip and I do not mean that pejoratively. It is (as said): noise, improvisation, association and (mainly) concept. And, if the latter is the case, I can, perfectly, live with it.
It will be clear that it's difficult for me to label this album. There is also little information available about this project. This forces us to focus on the core of the matter and to listen to the music.
On June 4 (2011) Gil Kockelmans was a guest at the performance of Jonathan De Winter in art gallery Sébastien Ricou in Brussels (see shared clip on this page). In such a context of an overall concept I can place and appreciate this music perfectly. If I can enjoy it listing to it on a CD, is another matter.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


NL

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is de titel van een project van Gil Kockelmans.
Meteen ter zake: dit is geluid. Geluid zowel wat betreft het gebruik van de instrumenten als de stem. De vocale stukken kan ik moeilijk zingen noemen maar ook geen roepen, fluisteren – het klinkt een beetje vreemd allemaal. De muzikant improviseert en dat resultaat is: het project. Prima – maar meer ook niet.
In de perstekst probeert men deze muziek een plaats te geven. Men spreekt over free jazz en noise / blues. Ja - ?! Alles wat niet meteen volgens een vast stramien verloopt wordt al gauw free jazz genoemd, terwijl deze muziekstijl toch zijn wetmatigheden kent. Maar ik begrijp wat bedoeld wordt. Tenminste, dat denk ik.
Wat ik bij dergelijke experimenten vooral bijzonder vind is dat men de tracks ook effectief een titel weet mee te geven. De 13 tracks op het album (met amper 30 minuten muziek) hebben namen. Hoe bedenkt men: Blind Clothes, Traque continentale, … Het is een associatief vermogen dat ik fascinerend vind, maar de essentie ontgaat mij. Ik weet het wel – niet alles hoeft op een doordacht intellectualistische manier benaderd te worden. Gelukkig maar! Maar dit is een trip. En dat bedoel ik niet pejoratief. Het is, zoals gezegd, geluid, improvisatie, associatie en (vooral) concept. En als dat laatste aanwezig is, dan kan ik daar prima mee leven.
Het zal duidelijk zijn dat ik moeite heb om dit geheel te benoemen. Over het project is ook weinig informatie te vinden. Dat dwingt ons om zich tot de kern van de zaak te beperken en om naar de muziek te luisteren.
Op 4 juni 2011 was Gil Kockelmans te gast bij een performance van Jonathan De Winter in galerie Sébastien Ricou in Brussel (zie gedeelde clip op deze pagina). In dergelijke context van een totaalconcept kan ik de muziek perfect plaatsen en appreciëren. Of ik er bij het beluisteren van een CD kan van genieten, is een andere zaak.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


Music reviews

24
04
THE MEMBRANES
What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
DECODED FEEDBACK
Waiting For The Storm
23
04
AEX
Selected Memories
22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline