tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME - A Time For A Timing

QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME

A Time For A Timing

MusicCD
Noise

[70/100]   

Block Bunker Records
24/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

 

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is the title of a project of Gil Kockelmans.
Straight to the point: This is noise. Noise, both in the use of the instruments as well as the voice. I can hardly call the vocal pieces singing nor shouting or whispering – it all sounds a bit strange. The musician improvises and that result is: the project. Fine – but nothing more.
In the press release one tries to place this music into the broader perspective of free jazz and noise/blues. Yes - ?! Everything that does not evolve within established lines is easily called free jazz, while this musical style has its own regularity. But I understand what is meant. At least, I think I do.
What I find particularly special in those experiments is that the tracks have titles. The 13 tracks on the album (with only 30 minutes of music) have names. How does one invent: Blind clothes, Traque continentale,... I find this associative ability fascinating, but I miss the point. I know, not everything needs an intellectualised approach. Luckily! But this is a trip and I do not mean that pejoratively. It is (as said): noise, improvisation, association and (mainly) concept. And, if the latter is the case, I can, perfectly, live with it.
It will be clear that it's difficult for me to label this album. There is also little information available about this project. This forces us to focus on the core of the matter and to listen to the music.
On June 4 (2011) Gil Kockelmans was a guest at the performance of Jonathan De Winter in art gallery Sébastien Ricou in Brussels (see shared clip on this page). In such a context of an overall concept I can place and appreciate this music perfectly. If I can enjoy it listing to it on a CD, is another matter.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


NL

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is de titel van een project van Gil Kockelmans.
Meteen ter zake: dit is geluid. Geluid zowel wat betreft het gebruik van de instrumenten als de stem. De vocale stukken kan ik moeilijk zingen noemen maar ook geen roepen, fluisteren – het klinkt een beetje vreemd allemaal. De muzikant improviseert en dat resultaat is: het project. Prima – maar meer ook niet.
In de perstekst probeert men deze muziek een plaats te geven. Men spreekt over free jazz en noise / blues. Ja - ?! Alles wat niet meteen volgens een vast stramien verloopt wordt al gauw free jazz genoemd, terwijl deze muziekstijl toch zijn wetmatigheden kent. Maar ik begrijp wat bedoeld wordt. Tenminste, dat denk ik.
Wat ik bij dergelijke experimenten vooral bijzonder vind is dat men de tracks ook effectief een titel weet mee te geven. De 13 tracks op het album (met amper 30 minuten muziek) hebben namen. Hoe bedenkt men: Blind Clothes, Traque continentale, … Het is een associatief vermogen dat ik fascinerend vind, maar de essentie ontgaat mij. Ik weet het wel – niet alles hoeft op een doordacht intellectualistische manier benaderd te worden. Gelukkig maar! Maar dit is een trip. En dat bedoel ik niet pejoratief. Het is, zoals gezegd, geluid, improvisatie, associatie en (vooral) concept. En als dat laatste aanwezig is, dan kan ik daar prima mee leven.
Het zal duidelijk zijn dat ik moeite heb om dit geheel te benoemen. Over het project is ook weinig informatie te vinden. Dat dwingt ons om zich tot de kern van de zaak te beperken en om naar de muziek te luisteren.
Op 4 juni 2011 was Gil Kockelmans te gast bij een performance van Jonathan De Winter in galerie Sébastien Ricou in Brussel (zie gedeelde clip op deze pagina). In dergelijke context van een totaalconcept kan ik de muziek perfect plaatsen en appreciëren. Of ik er bij het beluisteren van een CD kan van genieten, is een andere zaak.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven