tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME - A Time For A Timing

QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME

A Time For A Timing

MusicCD
Noise

[70/100]   

Block Bunker Records
24/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

 

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is the title of a project of Gil Kockelmans.
Straight to the point: This is noise. Noise, both in the use of the instruments as well as the voice. I can hardly call the vocal pieces singing nor shouting or whispering – it all sounds a bit strange. The musician improvises and that result is: the project. Fine – but nothing more.
In the press release one tries to place this music into the broader perspective of free jazz and noise/blues. Yes - ?! Everything that does not evolve within established lines is easily called free jazz, while this musical style has its own regularity. But I understand what is meant. At least, I think I do.
What I find particularly special in those experiments is that the tracks have titles. The 13 tracks on the album (with only 30 minutes of music) have names. How does one invent: Blind clothes, Traque continentale,... I find this associative ability fascinating, but I miss the point. I know, not everything needs an intellectualised approach. Luckily! But this is a trip and I do not mean that pejoratively. It is (as said): noise, improvisation, association and (mainly) concept. And, if the latter is the case, I can, perfectly, live with it.
It will be clear that it's difficult for me to label this album. There is also little information available about this project. This forces us to focus on the core of the matter and to listen to the music.
On June 4 (2011) Gil Kockelmans was a guest at the performance of Jonathan De Winter in art gallery Sébastien Ricou in Brussels (see shared clip on this page). In such a context of an overall concept I can place and appreciate this music perfectly. If I can enjoy it listing to it on a CD, is another matter.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


NL

Quelqu’un ramasse l’arme du crime is de titel van een project van Gil Kockelmans.
Meteen ter zake: dit is geluid. Geluid zowel wat betreft het gebruik van de instrumenten als de stem. De vocale stukken kan ik moeilijk zingen noemen maar ook geen roepen, fluisteren – het klinkt een beetje vreemd allemaal. De muzikant improviseert en dat resultaat is: het project. Prima – maar meer ook niet.
In de perstekst probeert men deze muziek een plaats te geven. Men spreekt over free jazz en noise / blues. Ja - ?! Alles wat niet meteen volgens een vast stramien verloopt wordt al gauw free jazz genoemd, terwijl deze muziekstijl toch zijn wetmatigheden kent. Maar ik begrijp wat bedoeld wordt. Tenminste, dat denk ik.
Wat ik bij dergelijke experimenten vooral bijzonder vind is dat men de tracks ook effectief een titel weet mee te geven. De 13 tracks op het album (met amper 30 minuten muziek) hebben namen. Hoe bedenkt men: Blind Clothes, Traque continentale, … Het is een associatief vermogen dat ik fascinerend vind, maar de essentie ontgaat mij. Ik weet het wel – niet alles hoeft op een doordacht intellectualistische manier benaderd te worden. Gelukkig maar! Maar dit is een trip. En dat bedoel ik niet pejoratief. Het is, zoals gezegd, geluid, improvisatie, associatie en (vooral) concept. En als dat laatste aanwezig is, dan kan ik daar prima mee leven.
Het zal duidelijk zijn dat ik moeite heb om dit geheel te benoemen. Over het project is ook weinig informatie te vinden. Dat dwingt ons om zich tot de kern van de zaak te beperken en om naar de muziek te luisteren.
Op 4 juni 2011 was Gil Kockelmans te gast bij een performance van Jonathan De Winter in galerie Sébastien Ricou in Brussel (zie gedeelde clip op deze pagina). In dergelijke context van een totaalconcept kan ik de muziek perfect plaatsen en appreciëren. Of ik er bij het beluisteren van een CD kan van genieten, is een andere zaak.

Bernadette ALLAERT
24/08/2011


Music reviews

25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell