tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON - Subversive I

RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON

Subversive I

MusicCD
Psych RockShoegazeSpacerock

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2015, Didier BECU

It is no longer a problem if nobody plays your stuff on the radio, because in the most democratic manner the underground will raise your voice, at least if you have enough quality! And that is something Radar Men From The Moon of Eindhoven has plenty of!

These four guys play instrumental psychedelic rock, but of the kind that you rarely heard before, because these Dutch like to throw some shoegaze and krautrock in their psychedelic sound. Previously, they released the debut Echo Forever on Fuzz Club, and at the same the English shoegaze label has released the EP Subversive I, featuring four songs.

Deconstruction reveals why so many people talk about Radar Men From The Moon these days. But, what is it exactly? You hear some melodic guitars in Ride style, there’s the primeval chaos of post-punk, the rhythm of A Certain Ratio, but also something of Hawkwind. Whatever the category is, it is certainly instrumental music that gives you a smack in the face! This is music that makes you live. And although it is quite noisy, it does not end in a cacophony.

Habitual is repetitive but addictive. The bass reminds you of what Steve Hanley did with The Fall nearly twenty years ago. Neon is like Spacemen 3, complemented with the aggression of Suicide and in the background a post-punk guitar. And ending song Hacienda is well, another psychedelic pop gem!

No, they don’t fit in any box, and if they do, then it must be with the f of fantastic!

Didier BECU
10/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules