tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON - Subversive I

RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON

Subversive I

MusicCD
Psych RockShoegazeSpacerock

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2015, Didier BECU

It is no longer a problem if nobody plays your stuff on the radio, because in the most democratic manner the underground will raise your voice, at least if you have enough quality! And that is something Radar Men From The Moon of Eindhoven has plenty of!

These four guys play instrumental psychedelic rock, but of the kind that you rarely heard before, because these Dutch like to throw some shoegaze and krautrock in their psychedelic sound. Previously, they released the debut Echo Forever on Fuzz Club, and at the same the English shoegaze label has released the EP Subversive I, featuring four songs.

Deconstruction reveals why so many people talk about Radar Men From The Moon these days. But, what is it exactly? You hear some melodic guitars in Ride style, there’s the primeval chaos of post-punk, the rhythm of A Certain Ratio, but also something of Hawkwind. Whatever the category is, it is certainly instrumental music that gives you a smack in the face! This is music that makes you live. And although it is quite noisy, it does not end in a cacophony.

Habitual is repetitive but addictive. The bass reminds you of what Steve Hanley did with The Fall nearly twenty years ago. Neon is like Spacemen 3, complemented with the aggression of Suicide and in the background a post-punk guitar. And ending song Hacienda is well, another psychedelic pop gem!

No, they don’t fit in any box, and if they do, then it must be with the f of fantastic!

Didier BECU
10/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl