tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2015 : RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON - Subversive I

RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON

Subversive I

MusicCD
Psych RockShoegazeSpacerock

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2015, Didier BECU

It is no longer a problem if nobody plays your stuff on the radio, because in the most democratic manner the underground will raise your voice, at least if you have enough quality! And that is something Radar Men From The Moon of Eindhoven has plenty of!

These four guys play instrumental psychedelic rock, but of the kind that you rarely heard before, because these Dutch like to throw some shoegaze and krautrock in their psychedelic sound. Previously, they released the debut Echo Forever on Fuzz Club, and at the same the English shoegaze label has released the EP Subversive I, featuring four songs.

Deconstruction reveals why so many people talk about Radar Men From The Moon these days. But, what is it exactly? You hear some melodic guitars in Ride style, there’s the primeval chaos of post-punk, the rhythm of A Certain Ratio, but also something of Hawkwind. Whatever the category is, it is certainly instrumental music that gives you a smack in the face! This is music that makes you live. And although it is quite noisy, it does not end in a cacophony.

Habitual is repetitive but addictive. The bass reminds you of what Steve Hanley did with The Fall nearly twenty years ago. Neon is like Spacemen 3, complemented with the aggression of Suicide and in the background a post-punk guitar. And ending song Hacienda is well, another psychedelic pop gem!

No, they don’t fit in any box, and if they do, then it must be with the f of fantastic!

Didier BECU
10/12/2015


 

Next reviews
TUSEN AR UNDER JORD • Sorgsendömet Fobos
GENERAL LEE • Knives Out Everybody!
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man