tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED SLEEPING BEAUTY - Red Sleeping Beauty

RED SLEEPING BEAUTY

Red Sleeping Beauty

MusicCD
IndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Labrador Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In the dream pop genre, Red Sleeping Beauty is a true legend. The band from Stockholm exists almost twenty years and released numerous singles on famous labels like Siesta Records or Marsh Marigold.

Previously, this kind of music was often labeled as bedroom pop, simply because it is composed in such a place. It might sound strange, but this is how White Town scored a monster hit with Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty fits perfectly in this genre. Music that allows you to close the eyes, to daydream and to think about a better world.

Dreamers, even a tad naive. It shows in the music. The Swedes are not ashamed to sound kitschy or to come up with instruments that you normally would only expect on some Italian beach in summer time. Call it lo-fi Pet Shop Boys or whatever, but it sounds good.

On this new album (only the third one, because this band prefers to release singles and EP’s) we hear some fine examples: Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye is driven by a piano and sounds a bit like Pulp, while Always could be a track by The Field Mice.

In The Darkest Hour has some Kraftwerk-beats, although they’re quite soft (and of course lo-fi). Breaking Up Is Easy (talking about satirical titles) has the same glockenspiel as Close To Me by The Cure. And yes, If You Want Affection is even a bit goth.

Bitter sweet, on the brink of kitsch... but delicious!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

In het dreampopgenre is Red Sleeping Beauty een echte legende. De band uit Stockholm bestaat bijna twintig jaar en bracht tal van singletjes uit op befaamde labels als Siesta Records of Marsh-Marigold.

Vroeger werd dergelijke muziek als bedroompop bestempeld, gewoon omdat ze in een huiskamer is gecomponeerd. Klinkt misschien wat vreemd, maar op deze manier scoorde White Town een monsterhit met Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty past dan ook perfect in dit plaatje. Muziek om je ogen bij te sluiten, eventjes wegdromen en wat nadenken over hoe de wereld wel zou kunnen zijn.

Dagdromers, dus en zelfs een tikkeltje naïef. Dat hoor je ook in hun muziek. De Zweden schamen er zich niet voor om wat kitscherig te klinken of om met instrumenten voor de dag te komen die je normaal alleen in de zomer ergens op een Italiaans strand zou verwachten. Noem het lo-fi Pet Shop Boys of wat dan ook, het klinkt wel lekker.

Op deze nieuwe cd (de derde, want deze band moet het meer van singles hebben) vinden we daar mooie voorbeelden van: het door de piano gedreven Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye lijkt wel wat op Pulp en Always kon wel van The Field Mice zijn. In The Darkest Hour heeft wat Kraftwerk-beats, alhoewel ze vrij zacht klinken. In Breaking Up Is Easy (over satirische titels gesproken) hoor je het glockenspiel van Close To Me van The Cure. En ja hoor, If You Want Affection is zelfs wat goth.

Zeemzoet, op het randje van kitsch... maar heerlijk!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty