tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED SLEEPING BEAUTY - Red Sleeping Beauty

RED SLEEPING BEAUTY

Red Sleeping Beauty

MusicCD
IndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Labrador Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In the dream pop genre, Red Sleeping Beauty is a true legend. The band from Stockholm exists almost twenty years and released numerous singles on famous labels like Siesta Records or Marsh Marigold.

Previously, this kind of music was often labeled as bedroom pop, simply because it is composed in such a place. It might sound strange, but this is how White Town scored a monster hit with Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty fits perfectly in this genre. Music that allows you to close the eyes, to daydream and to think about a better world.

Dreamers, even a tad naive. It shows in the music. The Swedes are not ashamed to sound kitschy or to come up with instruments that you normally would only expect on some Italian beach in summer time. Call it lo-fi Pet Shop Boys or whatever, but it sounds good.

On this new album (only the third one, because this band prefers to release singles and EP’s) we hear some fine examples: Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye is driven by a piano and sounds a bit like Pulp, while Always could be a track by The Field Mice.

In The Darkest Hour has some Kraftwerk-beats, although they’re quite soft (and of course lo-fi). Breaking Up Is Easy (talking about satirical titles) has the same glockenspiel as Close To Me by The Cure. And yes, If You Want Affection is even a bit goth.

Bitter sweet, on the brink of kitsch... but delicious!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

In het dreampopgenre is Red Sleeping Beauty een echte legende. De band uit Stockholm bestaat bijna twintig jaar en bracht tal van singletjes uit op befaamde labels als Siesta Records of Marsh-Marigold.

Vroeger werd dergelijke muziek als bedroompop bestempeld, gewoon omdat ze in een huiskamer is gecomponeerd. Klinkt misschien wat vreemd, maar op deze manier scoorde White Town een monsterhit met Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty past dan ook perfect in dit plaatje. Muziek om je ogen bij te sluiten, eventjes wegdromen en wat nadenken over hoe de wereld wel zou kunnen zijn.

Dagdromers, dus en zelfs een tikkeltje naïef. Dat hoor je ook in hun muziek. De Zweden schamen er zich niet voor om wat kitscherig te klinken of om met instrumenten voor de dag te komen die je normaal alleen in de zomer ergens op een Italiaans strand zou verwachten. Noem het lo-fi Pet Shop Boys of wat dan ook, het klinkt wel lekker.

Op deze nieuwe cd (de derde, want deze band moet het meer van singles hebben) vinden we daar mooie voorbeelden van: het door de piano gedreven Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye lijkt wel wat op Pulp en Always kon wel van The Field Mice zijn. In The Darkest Hour heeft wat Kraftwerk-beats, alhoewel ze vrij zacht klinken. In Breaking Up Is Easy (over satirische titels gesproken) hoor je het glockenspiel van Close To Me van The Cure. En ja hoor, If You Want Affection is zelfs wat goth.

Zeemzoet, op het randje van kitsch... maar heerlijk!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire