tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED SLEEPING BEAUTY - Red Sleeping Beauty

RED SLEEPING BEAUTY

Red Sleeping Beauty

MusicCD
IndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Labrador Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In the dream pop genre, Red Sleeping Beauty is a true legend. The band from Stockholm exists almost twenty years and released numerous singles on famous labels like Siesta Records or Marsh Marigold.

Previously, this kind of music was often labeled as bedroom pop, simply because it is composed in such a place. It might sound strange, but this is how White Town scored a monster hit with Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty fits perfectly in this genre. Music that allows you to close the eyes, to daydream and to think about a better world.

Dreamers, even a tad naive. It shows in the music. The Swedes are not ashamed to sound kitschy or to come up with instruments that you normally would only expect on some Italian beach in summer time. Call it lo-fi Pet Shop Boys or whatever, but it sounds good.

On this new album (only the third one, because this band prefers to release singles and EP’s) we hear some fine examples: Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye is driven by a piano and sounds a bit like Pulp, while Always could be a track by The Field Mice.

In The Darkest Hour has some Kraftwerk-beats, although they’re quite soft (and of course lo-fi). Breaking Up Is Easy (talking about satirical titles) has the same glockenspiel as Close To Me by The Cure. And yes, If You Want Affection is even a bit goth.

Bitter sweet, on the brink of kitsch... but delicious!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

In het dreampopgenre is Red Sleeping Beauty een echte legende. De band uit Stockholm bestaat bijna twintig jaar en bracht tal van singletjes uit op befaamde labels als Siesta Records of Marsh-Marigold.

Vroeger werd dergelijke muziek als bedroompop bestempeld, gewoon omdat ze in een huiskamer is gecomponeerd. Klinkt misschien wat vreemd, maar op deze manier scoorde White Town een monsterhit met Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty past dan ook perfect in dit plaatje. Muziek om je ogen bij te sluiten, eventjes wegdromen en wat nadenken over hoe de wereld wel zou kunnen zijn.

Dagdromers, dus en zelfs een tikkeltje naïef. Dat hoor je ook in hun muziek. De Zweden schamen er zich niet voor om wat kitscherig te klinken of om met instrumenten voor de dag te komen die je normaal alleen in de zomer ergens op een Italiaans strand zou verwachten. Noem het lo-fi Pet Shop Boys of wat dan ook, het klinkt wel lekker.

Op deze nieuwe cd (de derde, want deze band moet het meer van singles hebben) vinden we daar mooie voorbeelden van: het door de piano gedreven Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye lijkt wel wat op Pulp en Always kon wel van The Field Mice zijn. In The Darkest Hour heeft wat Kraftwerk-beats, alhoewel ze vrij zacht klinken. In Breaking Up Is Easy (over satirische titels gesproken) hoor je het glockenspiel van Close To Me van The Cure. En ja hoor, If You Want Affection is zelfs wat goth.

Zeemzoet, op het randje van kitsch... maar heerlijk!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap