tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : RED SLEEPING BEAUTY - Red Sleeping Beauty

RED SLEEPING BEAUTY

Red Sleeping Beauty

MusicCD
IndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[70/100]   

Labrador Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In the dream pop genre, Red Sleeping Beauty is a true legend. The band from Stockholm exists almost twenty years and released numerous singles on famous labels like Siesta Records or Marsh Marigold.

Previously, this kind of music was often labeled as bedroom pop, simply because it is composed in such a place. It might sound strange, but this is how White Town scored a monster hit with Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty fits perfectly in this genre. Music that allows you to close the eyes, to daydream and to think about a better world.

Dreamers, even a tad naive. It shows in the music. The Swedes are not ashamed to sound kitschy or to come up with instruments that you normally would only expect on some Italian beach in summer time. Call it lo-fi Pet Shop Boys or whatever, but it sounds good.

On this new album (only the third one, because this band prefers to release singles and EP’s) we hear some fine examples: Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye is driven by a piano and sounds a bit like Pulp, while Always could be a track by The Field Mice.

In The Darkest Hour has some Kraftwerk-beats, although they’re quite soft (and of course lo-fi). Breaking Up Is Easy (talking about satirical titles) has the same glockenspiel as Close To Me by The Cure. And yes, If You Want Affection is even a bit goth.

Bitter sweet, on the brink of kitsch... but delicious!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

In het dreampopgenre is Red Sleeping Beauty een echte legende. De band uit Stockholm bestaat bijna twintig jaar en bracht tal van singletjes uit op befaamde labels als Siesta Records of Marsh-Marigold.

Vroeger werd dergelijke muziek als bedroompop bestempeld, gewoon omdat ze in een huiskamer is gecomponeerd. Klinkt misschien wat vreemd, maar op deze manier scoorde White Town een monsterhit met Your Woman. Red Sleeping Beauty past dan ook perfect in dit plaatje. Muziek om je ogen bij te sluiten, eventjes wegdromen en wat nadenken over hoe de wereld wel zou kunnen zijn.

Dagdromers, dus en zelfs een tikkeltje naïef. Dat hoor je ook in hun muziek. De Zweden schamen er zich niet voor om wat kitscherig te klinken of om met instrumenten voor de dag te komen die je normaal alleen in de zomer ergens op een Italiaans strand zou verwachten. Noem het lo-fi Pet Shop Boys of wat dan ook, het klinkt wel lekker.

Op deze nieuwe cd (de derde, want deze band moet het meer van singles hebben) vinden we daar mooie voorbeelden van: het door de piano gedreven Cheryl, Cheryl, Bye lijkt wel wat op Pulp en Always kon wel van The Field Mice zijn. In The Darkest Hour heeft wat Kraftwerk-beats, alhoewel ze vrij zacht klinken. In Breaking Up Is Easy (over satirische titels gesproken) hoor je het glockenspiel van Close To Me van The Cure. En ja hoor, If You Want Affection is zelfs wat goth.

Zeemzoet, op het randje van kitsch... maar heerlijk!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real