tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/05/2015 : RED SUN REVIVAL - Identities

RED SUN REVIVAL

Identities

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[85/100]   

Echozone
27/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Guitars, atmospheric keys, electric violin and a throbbing bass. These are the elements with which this alternative gothic rock band from London makes music. Vicalist Rob Leyton reminds me a little of Richard Butler of the Psychedelic Furs. Rob was member of ‘The Voices of Masada’ and he also plays guitar with the band ‘Adoration’. Besides, he was also session musician for 'Nosferatu' and 'The Eden House'.

On ‘Premonition’ we hear some nice synth sounds and on ‘Echoes’ some pretty guitar work : well-constructed songs. All elements for gothic rock are present: the throbbing bass, the sound of the guitar, the keys and strings that enhance the emo in the music. Much attention for melody and harmony and also nice artwork.

Beside ‘Aeon Sable’ we don’ t hear much gothic rock these days. Mostly, it comes from (German) bands such as Blutengel, that use an (over) dose of pathos and schlager-like choruses. This band makes solid gothrock (like The Mission, The Fields, etc.) on an album that is good from start to fiinish. And for once with a singer who doesn't sound like Andrew Eldritch.

Most songs last around five minutes but you never have the feeling that they last to long.

They already released an album (Running From The Dawn, 2012) and an EP (Embers, 2014). Urgent time to discover this one as well.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


NL

Gitaren, atmosferische keys, electrische viool en een ronkende bas. Dat zijn de elementen van deze alternative gothicrockband uit London. Rob Leyton, die de vocals voor zijn rekening neemt, doet mij soms een beetje denken aan Richard Butler van The Psychedelic Furs. Rob was bandlid van ‘The Voices of Masada’ en speelt ook nog gitaar bij ‘Adoration’. Daarnaast heeft hij ook als sessiemuzikant gitaar gespeeld bij Nosferatu en The Eden House.

In opener ‘Premonition’ zitten enkele aardige synths en op ‘Echoes’ krijgen we mooi gitaarwerk. Het valt op dat we hier stuk voor stuk mooi opgebouwde songs horen. Alle elementen van een gothicrockalbum zijn aanwezig: de ronkende baslijnen, de sound van de gitaar, de keys en strijkers die emo in de songs versterken. Daarnaast aandacht voor melodie en harmonie. Tevens is het album voorzien van mooi artwork.

Veel nieuwe gothicrock, behalve van Aeon Sable, krijgen we tegenwoordig niet meer over de vloer. Meestal zijn het (Duitse) bands zoals bv. Blutengel die het van een ( over)dosis pathos en schlagereske refreinen moeten hebben. Deze band is nog een oerdegelijke gothrocker (zoals The Mission, The Fields, etc.) die er met ‘Identities’ staat van begin tot einde met een zanger die bewijst dat je geen Andrew Eldritch hoeft te zijn om mooi gothic te klinken.

De meeste nummers klokken af omstreeks vijf minuten, maar nergens heb je het gevoel dat ze te lang zijn.

Ze hebben al een album (Running From The Dawn, 2012 ) en een ep (Embers, 2014) uitgebracht. Dringend tijd om deze ook eens te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent