tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/05/2015 : RED SUN REVIVAL - Identities

RED SUN REVIVAL

Identities

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[85/100]   

Echozone
27/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Guitars, atmospheric keys, electric violin and a throbbing bass. These are the elements with which this alternative gothic rock band from London makes music. Vicalist Rob Leyton reminds me a little of Richard Butler of the Psychedelic Furs. Rob was member of ‘The Voices of Masada’ and he also plays guitar with the band ‘Adoration’. Besides, he was also session musician for 'Nosferatu' and 'The Eden House'.

On ‘Premonition’ we hear some nice synth sounds and on ‘Echoes’ some pretty guitar work : well-constructed songs. All elements for gothic rock are present: the throbbing bass, the sound of the guitar, the keys and strings that enhance the emo in the music. Much attention for melody and harmony and also nice artwork.

Beside ‘Aeon Sable’ we don’ t hear much gothic rock these days. Mostly, it comes from (German) bands such as Blutengel, that use an (over) dose of pathos and schlager-like choruses. This band makes solid gothrock (like The Mission, The Fields, etc.) on an album that is good from start to fiinish. And for once with a singer who doesn't sound like Andrew Eldritch.

Most songs last around five minutes but you never have the feeling that they last to long.

They already released an album (Running From The Dawn, 2012) and an EP (Embers, 2014). Urgent time to discover this one as well.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


NL

Gitaren, atmosferische keys, electrische viool en een ronkende bas. Dat zijn de elementen van deze alternative gothicrockband uit London. Rob Leyton, die de vocals voor zijn rekening neemt, doet mij soms een beetje denken aan Richard Butler van The Psychedelic Furs. Rob was bandlid van ‘The Voices of Masada’ en speelt ook nog gitaar bij ‘Adoration’. Daarnaast heeft hij ook als sessiemuzikant gitaar gespeeld bij Nosferatu en The Eden House.

In opener ‘Premonition’ zitten enkele aardige synths en op ‘Echoes’ krijgen we mooi gitaarwerk. Het valt op dat we hier stuk voor stuk mooi opgebouwde songs horen. Alle elementen van een gothicrockalbum zijn aanwezig: de ronkende baslijnen, de sound van de gitaar, de keys en strijkers die emo in de songs versterken. Daarnaast aandacht voor melodie en harmonie. Tevens is het album voorzien van mooi artwork.

Veel nieuwe gothicrock, behalve van Aeon Sable, krijgen we tegenwoordig niet meer over de vloer. Meestal zijn het (Duitse) bands zoals bv. Blutengel die het van een ( over)dosis pathos en schlagereske refreinen moeten hebben. Deze band is nog een oerdegelijke gothrocker (zoals The Mission, The Fields, etc.) die er met ‘Identities’ staat van begin tot einde met een zanger die bewijst dat je geen Andrew Eldritch hoeft te zijn om mooi gothic te klinken.

De meeste nummers klokken af omstreeks vijf minuten, maar nergens heb je het gevoel dat ze te lang zijn.

Ze hebben al een album (Running From The Dawn, 2012 ) en een ep (Embers, 2014) uitgebracht. Dringend tijd om deze ook eens te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)