tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/05/2015 : RED SUN REVIVAL - Identities

RED SUN REVIVAL

Identities

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[85/100]   

Echozone
27/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Guitars, atmospheric keys, electric violin and a throbbing bass. These are the elements with which this alternative gothic rock band from London makes music. Vicalist Rob Leyton reminds me a little of Richard Butler of the Psychedelic Furs. Rob was member of ‘The Voices of Masada’ and he also plays guitar with the band ‘Adoration’. Besides, he was also session musician for 'Nosferatu' and 'The Eden House'.

On ‘Premonition’ we hear some nice synth sounds and on ‘Echoes’ some pretty guitar work : well-constructed songs. All elements for gothic rock are present: the throbbing bass, the sound of the guitar, the keys and strings that enhance the emo in the music. Much attention for melody and harmony and also nice artwork.

Beside ‘Aeon Sable’ we don’ t hear much gothic rock these days. Mostly, it comes from (German) bands such as Blutengel, that use an (over) dose of pathos and schlager-like choruses. This band makes solid gothrock (like The Mission, The Fields, etc.) on an album that is good from start to fiinish. And for once with a singer who doesn't sound like Andrew Eldritch.

Most songs last around five minutes but you never have the feeling that they last to long.

They already released an album (Running From The Dawn, 2012) and an EP (Embers, 2014). Urgent time to discover this one as well.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


NL

Gitaren, atmosferische keys, electrische viool en een ronkende bas. Dat zijn de elementen van deze alternative gothicrockband uit London. Rob Leyton, die de vocals voor zijn rekening neemt, doet mij soms een beetje denken aan Richard Butler van The Psychedelic Furs. Rob was bandlid van ‘The Voices of Masada’ en speelt ook nog gitaar bij ‘Adoration’. Daarnaast heeft hij ook als sessiemuzikant gitaar gespeeld bij Nosferatu en The Eden House.

In opener ‘Premonition’ zitten enkele aardige synths en op ‘Echoes’ krijgen we mooi gitaarwerk. Het valt op dat we hier stuk voor stuk mooi opgebouwde songs horen. Alle elementen van een gothicrockalbum zijn aanwezig: de ronkende baslijnen, de sound van de gitaar, de keys en strijkers die emo in de songs versterken. Daarnaast aandacht voor melodie en harmonie. Tevens is het album voorzien van mooi artwork.

Veel nieuwe gothicrock, behalve van Aeon Sable, krijgen we tegenwoordig niet meer over de vloer. Meestal zijn het (Duitse) bands zoals bv. Blutengel die het van een ( over)dosis pathos en schlagereske refreinen moeten hebben. Deze band is nog een oerdegelijke gothrocker (zoals The Mission, The Fields, etc.) die er met ‘Identities’ staat van begin tot einde met een zanger die bewijst dat je geen Andrew Eldritch hoeft te zijn om mooi gothic te klinken.

De meeste nummers klokken af omstreeks vijf minuten, maar nergens heb je het gevoel dat ze te lang zijn.

Ze hebben al een album (Running From The Dawn, 2012 ) en een ep (Embers, 2014) uitgebracht. Dringend tijd om deze ook eens te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten