tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/05/2015 : RED SUN REVIVAL - Identities

RED SUN REVIVAL

Identities

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[85/100]   

Echozone
27/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Guitars, atmospheric keys, electric violin and a throbbing bass. These are the elements with which this alternative gothic rock band from London makes music. Vicalist Rob Leyton reminds me a little of Richard Butler of the Psychedelic Furs. Rob was member of ‘The Voices of Masada’ and he also plays guitar with the band ‘Adoration’. Besides, he was also session musician for 'Nosferatu' and 'The Eden House'.

On ‘Premonition’ we hear some nice synth sounds and on ‘Echoes’ some pretty guitar work : well-constructed songs. All elements for gothic rock are present: the throbbing bass, the sound of the guitar, the keys and strings that enhance the emo in the music. Much attention for melody and harmony and also nice artwork.

Beside ‘Aeon Sable’ we don’ t hear much gothic rock these days. Mostly, it comes from (German) bands such as Blutengel, that use an (over) dose of pathos and schlager-like choruses. This band makes solid gothrock (like The Mission, The Fields, etc.) on an album that is good from start to fiinish. And for once with a singer who doesn't sound like Andrew Eldritch.

Most songs last around five minutes but you never have the feeling that they last to long.

They already released an album (Running From The Dawn, 2012) and an EP (Embers, 2014). Urgent time to discover this one as well.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


NL

Gitaren, atmosferische keys, electrische viool en een ronkende bas. Dat zijn de elementen van deze alternative gothicrockband uit London. Rob Leyton, die de vocals voor zijn rekening neemt, doet mij soms een beetje denken aan Richard Butler van The Psychedelic Furs. Rob was bandlid van ‘The Voices of Masada’ en speelt ook nog gitaar bij ‘Adoration’. Daarnaast heeft hij ook als sessiemuzikant gitaar gespeeld bij Nosferatu en The Eden House.

In opener ‘Premonition’ zitten enkele aardige synths en op ‘Echoes’ krijgen we mooi gitaarwerk. Het valt op dat we hier stuk voor stuk mooi opgebouwde songs horen. Alle elementen van een gothicrockalbum zijn aanwezig: de ronkende baslijnen, de sound van de gitaar, de keys en strijkers die emo in de songs versterken. Daarnaast aandacht voor melodie en harmonie. Tevens is het album voorzien van mooi artwork.

Veel nieuwe gothicrock, behalve van Aeon Sable, krijgen we tegenwoordig niet meer over de vloer. Meestal zijn het (Duitse) bands zoals bv. Blutengel die het van een ( over)dosis pathos en schlagereske refreinen moeten hebben. Deze band is nog een oerdegelijke gothrocker (zoals The Mission, The Fields, etc.) die er met ‘Identities’ staat van begin tot einde met een zanger die bewijst dat je geen Andrew Eldritch hoeft te zijn om mooi gothic te klinken.

De meeste nummers klokken af omstreeks vijf minuten, maar nergens heb je het gevoel dat ze te lang zijn.

Ze hebben al een album (Running From The Dawn, 2012 ) en een ep (Embers, 2014) uitgebracht. Dringend tijd om deze ook eens te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen