tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/05/2015 : RED SUN REVIVAL - Identities

RED SUN REVIVAL

Identities

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[85/100]   

Echozone
27/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Guitars, atmospheric keys, electric violin and a throbbing bass. These are the elements with which this alternative gothic rock band from London makes music. Vicalist Rob Leyton reminds me a little of Richard Butler of the Psychedelic Furs. Rob was member of ‘The Voices of Masada’ and he also plays guitar with the band ‘Adoration’. Besides, he was also session musician for 'Nosferatu' and 'The Eden House'.

On ‘Premonition’ we hear some nice synth sounds and on ‘Echoes’ some pretty guitar work : well-constructed songs. All elements for gothic rock are present: the throbbing bass, the sound of the guitar, the keys and strings that enhance the emo in the music. Much attention for melody and harmony and also nice artwork.

Beside ‘Aeon Sable’ we don’ t hear much gothic rock these days. Mostly, it comes from (German) bands such as Blutengel, that use an (over) dose of pathos and schlager-like choruses. This band makes solid gothrock (like The Mission, The Fields, etc.) on an album that is good from start to fiinish. And for once with a singer who doesn't sound like Andrew Eldritch.

Most songs last around five minutes but you never have the feeling that they last to long.

They already released an album (Running From The Dawn, 2012) and an EP (Embers, 2014). Urgent time to discover this one as well.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


NL

Gitaren, atmosferische keys, electrische viool en een ronkende bas. Dat zijn de elementen van deze alternative gothicrockband uit London. Rob Leyton, die de vocals voor zijn rekening neemt, doet mij soms een beetje denken aan Richard Butler van The Psychedelic Furs. Rob was bandlid van ‘The Voices of Masada’ en speelt ook nog gitaar bij ‘Adoration’. Daarnaast heeft hij ook als sessiemuzikant gitaar gespeeld bij Nosferatu en The Eden House.

In opener ‘Premonition’ zitten enkele aardige synths en op ‘Echoes’ krijgen we mooi gitaarwerk. Het valt op dat we hier stuk voor stuk mooi opgebouwde songs horen. Alle elementen van een gothicrockalbum zijn aanwezig: de ronkende baslijnen, de sound van de gitaar, de keys en strijkers die emo in de songs versterken. Daarnaast aandacht voor melodie en harmonie. Tevens is het album voorzien van mooi artwork.

Veel nieuwe gothicrock, behalve van Aeon Sable, krijgen we tegenwoordig niet meer over de vloer. Meestal zijn het (Duitse) bands zoals bv. Blutengel die het van een ( over)dosis pathos en schlagereske refreinen moeten hebben. Deze band is nog een oerdegelijke gothrocker (zoals The Mission, The Fields, etc.) die er met ‘Identities’ staat van begin tot einde met een zanger die bewijst dat je geen Andrew Eldritch hoeft te zijn om mooi gothic te klinken.

De meeste nummers klokken af omstreeks vijf minuten, maar nergens heb je het gevoel dat ze te lang zijn.

Ze hebben al een album (Running From The Dawn, 2012 ) en een ep (Embers, 2014) uitgebracht. Dringend tijd om deze ook eens te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/05/2015


Music reviews

10
04
HYSTERY
Duiel
09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL