tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/03/2013 : RED TEMPLE SPIRITS - Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...

RED TEMPLE SPIRITS

Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...

MusicCD
Dark PopGothicProgPsych Rock

[79/100]   

Infrastition
11/03/2013, Didier BECU

Red Temple Spirits are not what you should call a popular band, but those who heard one note from them immediately got hooked on their sound. It’s difficult to categorize them as their psychedelic rock sounds indeed a bit like Pink Floyd, but there’s also a high dose of post-punk involved. It’s no wonder that they’re popular among Savage Republic-fans as in a way you can compare their music with each other.

Their excellent debut Dancing To Restore An Eclipsed Moon became a classic (well, kind of) from the American darkwave. Those who were addicted to Independent Records-sound embraced this Los Angeles quartet as well. On this album they covered (in an excellent way) The Nile Song by Pink Floyd and with this, they showed at once their influences. They also did a Pink Floyd-song (Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun) on their next album If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more... and even a splendid version of Rollercoaster from 60’s-weirdo Roky Erickson.

Hearing an album by Red Temple Spirits is like one big psychedelic trip, it’s a great experience from the first to the last second.

Despite the high quality of their music, the band was doomed to the underground. Their albums were very hard to find and once in a while you could find a copy on E-Bay, of course for crazy prices. But the people from the French label Infrastition have now re-released these two albums onto cd. And just like it was the case with the vinyl back then, the package of this reissue is simply stunning. But you better hurry as it’s limited to 500 copies.

Essential stuff for fans of American psychedelic wave.

Didier BECU
11/03/2013


 

Next reviews
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
GHOST & WRITER • RED FLAGS
NYAM NYAM • Hope Of Heaven
MILITIA (IT) • Folk XII
KMFDM • Kunst
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1
ATOM TM • HD
OLIVIER MEGATON • TAKEN 2

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017