tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/06/2011 : REIZSTROM - Gitarre Kaputt

REIZSTROM

Gitarre Kaputt

MusicCD
Indie

[63/100]   
06/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

The German band REIZstrom decided, after making 2 albums of their own material, that they wanted to make a cover album of what they called ‘a few indie-evergreens’. Songs they liked themselves and hoped to bring back to people’s attention by making their own version of them.

As I didn’t know the band, I wanted to do a little research beforehand and saw that they listed ‘dark, electronic music’ as their influences and liked the fan pages of ‘Front242’ and ‘Kraftwerk’ on Facebook. Well, what can I say…? Consider me intrigued!

The band called the EP ‘Gitarre Kaputt’, but as soon as the first track ‘Vagabonds’ blows through the speakers you find there is nothing even slightly broken about the guitars.

Two tracks that immediately suck up all my attention are ‘The Passenger’ and ‘All Shook Up’. Needless to introduce anyone to the originals of ‘Iggy Pop’ and ‘Elvis Presley’ I presume. Two wonderful songs that are, indeed, evergreens. Though if they are indie-evergreens is probably open to debate. But I digress.

Another reason why these two tracks stand out so much is because the band went about them in a completely different way. ‘The Passenger’ sweeps you off your feet and has you looking for the original because you temporarily forget what the real thing sounded like. ‘All shook up’ on the other hand just makes you wonder why they hate Elvis so much. The guitars just don’t do the song any favours.

When listening to ‘Gitarre Kaputt’, I got the distinct impression that the band is still searching for the direction they want to move in. They try to combine so many different styles at the same time. Sometimes with better results than others. Vocalist MeCha has a voice that doesn’t go by unnoticed. No doubt that once they set their goals straight, the sky will surely be the limit.

Melissa BAUWENS
06/06/2011


NL

De Duitse band REIZstrom wilde, na 2 albums met eigen nummers te hebben gemaakt, een coveralbum op de markt brengen. Ze hadden al een tijdje het idee om covers te maken van, naar eigen zeggen, enkele ‘indie-evergreens’ om zo ook de originele versies weer meer gedraaid te krijgen.

Omdat ik de band niet kende besloot ik eerst even wat research te verrichten. Zo kwam ik op hun Facebookpagina terecht en zag ik dat ze ‘donkere, electronische’ muziek als hun invloed beschrijven en dat ze de fanpagina’s van ‘Kraftwerk’ en ‘Front242’ op hun pagina gelinkt hadden. Nu, mijn aandacht hadden ze...

Het album heet ‘Gitarre Kaputt’, maar zodra je het eerste nummer ‘Vagabonds’ door je luidsprekers jaagt besef je al gauw dat er absoluut niets mis is met de gitaren.

De 2 nummers die onmiddelijk al mijn aandacht in beslag nemen zijn ‘The Passenger’ en ‘All Shook Up’. Ongetwijfeld kent iedereen de originele versies van Iggy Pop en Elvis Presley wel. Het zijn dan ook inderdaad wat je noemt ‘evergreens’. Maar of dit nu ‘indie-evergreens’ zijn staat toch wel open voor discussie. Maar goed, ik wijk af. 

Een andere reden waarom die twee nummers net zo opvallen is omdat de band ze op zo een verschillende manier heeft aangepakt. ‘The Passenger’ blaast je letterlijk uit je sokken en laat je onmiddelijk het origineel opzoeken omdat je tijdelijk vergat hoe dat ook alweer klonk. ‘All Shook Up’ daarentegen doet je afvragen wat Elvis Presley de band ooit misdaan heeft. De gitaren blijken toch iets teveel van het goede voor dit nummer.

Tijdens het luisteren naar ‘Gitarre Kaputt’ kreeg ik heel sterk de indruk dat de band volop op zoek is naar de richting die ze uit willen. Ze proberen zoveel stijlen te combineren, sommige nummers al meer succesvol dan andere. Zanger Mecha heeft een stem die niemand onbetuigd laat. Eens ze besluiten welke stijl ze willen aanhouden, houdt ongetwijfeld niemand hen nog tegen.

Melissa BAUWENS
06/06/2011


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets