tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/06/2011 : REIZSTROM - Gitarre Kaputt

REIZSTROM

Gitarre Kaputt

MusicCD
Indie

[63/100]   
06/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

The German band REIZstrom decided, after making 2 albums of their own material, that they wanted to make a cover album of what they called ‘a few indie-evergreens’. Songs they liked themselves and hoped to bring back to people’s attention by making their own version of them.

As I didn’t know the band, I wanted to do a little research beforehand and saw that they listed ‘dark, electronic music’ as their influences and liked the fan pages of ‘Front242’ and ‘Kraftwerk’ on Facebook. Well, what can I say…? Consider me intrigued!

The band called the EP ‘Gitarre Kaputt’, but as soon as the first track ‘Vagabonds’ blows through the speakers you find there is nothing even slightly broken about the guitars.

Two tracks that immediately suck up all my attention are ‘The Passenger’ and ‘All Shook Up’. Needless to introduce anyone to the originals of ‘Iggy Pop’ and ‘Elvis Presley’ I presume. Two wonderful songs that are, indeed, evergreens. Though if they are indie-evergreens is probably open to debate. But I digress.

Another reason why these two tracks stand out so much is because the band went about them in a completely different way. ‘The Passenger’ sweeps you off your feet and has you looking for the original because you temporarily forget what the real thing sounded like. ‘All shook up’ on the other hand just makes you wonder why they hate Elvis so much. The guitars just don’t do the song any favours.

When listening to ‘Gitarre Kaputt’, I got the distinct impression that the band is still searching for the direction they want to move in. They try to combine so many different styles at the same time. Sometimes with better results than others. Vocalist MeCha has a voice that doesn’t go by unnoticed. No doubt that once they set their goals straight, the sky will surely be the limit.

Melissa BAUWENS
06/06/2011


NL

De Duitse band REIZstrom wilde, na 2 albums met eigen nummers te hebben gemaakt, een coveralbum op de markt brengen. Ze hadden al een tijdje het idee om covers te maken van, naar eigen zeggen, enkele ‘indie-evergreens’ om zo ook de originele versies weer meer gedraaid te krijgen.

Omdat ik de band niet kende besloot ik eerst even wat research te verrichten. Zo kwam ik op hun Facebookpagina terecht en zag ik dat ze ‘donkere, electronische’ muziek als hun invloed beschrijven en dat ze de fanpagina’s van ‘Kraftwerk’ en ‘Front242’ op hun pagina gelinkt hadden. Nu, mijn aandacht hadden ze...

Het album heet ‘Gitarre Kaputt’, maar zodra je het eerste nummer ‘Vagabonds’ door je luidsprekers jaagt besef je al gauw dat er absoluut niets mis is met de gitaren.

De 2 nummers die onmiddelijk al mijn aandacht in beslag nemen zijn ‘The Passenger’ en ‘All Shook Up’. Ongetwijfeld kent iedereen de originele versies van Iggy Pop en Elvis Presley wel. Het zijn dan ook inderdaad wat je noemt ‘evergreens’. Maar of dit nu ‘indie-evergreens’ zijn staat toch wel open voor discussie. Maar goed, ik wijk af. 

Een andere reden waarom die twee nummers net zo opvallen is omdat de band ze op zo een verschillende manier heeft aangepakt. ‘The Passenger’ blaast je letterlijk uit je sokken en laat je onmiddelijk het origineel opzoeken omdat je tijdelijk vergat hoe dat ook alweer klonk. ‘All Shook Up’ daarentegen doet je afvragen wat Elvis Presley de band ooit misdaan heeft. De gitaren blijken toch iets teveel van het goede voor dit nummer.

Tijdens het luisteren naar ‘Gitarre Kaputt’ kreeg ik heel sterk de indruk dat de band volop op zoek is naar de richting die ze uit willen. Ze proberen zoveel stijlen te combineren, sommige nummers al meer succesvol dan andere. Zanger Mecha heeft een stem die niemand onbetuigd laat. Eens ze besluiten welke stijl ze willen aanhouden, houdt ongetwijfeld niemand hen nog tegen.

Melissa BAUWENS
06/06/2011


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela