tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/01/2016 : RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE - Revoke

RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE

Revoke

MusicCD
Dark AmbientEBMElectroElectronics

[88/100]   

Neris Records
24/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The cover of the CD shows the inside of a church that is struck by lightning. Without hearing one note, we immediately are aware of the fact that Revoke by Résonance Magnétique is a very dark record.

The driving force behind this project is the Frenchman Ludovic Dhenry, who is also involved in the neoclassical Exponentia and the electro act Zauber.

Reflection starts with dark, eerie sounds. You hear a solitary bell, but dark (almost inhuman) synth sounds dominate. To Mystification human voices are added (well, Gregorian chants in fact) and an industrial beat. All in all, a strange combination, but one that works! Illusion has more stabbing beats, they almost make the electro-industrial of Résonance Magnétique accessible. Don’t panic, Arcane remains frightening music and creates the feeling that you get during a night walk in a dark alley when you are overwhelmed by all sorts of thoughts of panic. The further the CD progresses, the more electro beats you hear and everything even becomes danceable!

The title track Revoke is danceable industrial and it sounds a bit like The Klinik. Admittedly, the various styles on this disc might at first sight seems like a mishmash, it also shows the diversity of Résonance Magnétique.

You also hear that danceable character in Penumbra and Radiance, which can be best described as a dark electro version of Giorgio Moroder: a deep bass, stirring rhythms and a melancholic feeling. Darken continues in the direction of EBM direction: deafening beats to make you dance, even if you hear all kinds of obscure, dark sounds in the background.

During seventy minutes, Ludovic Dhenry sucks you into the darkest places of the electronic music. A sublime disc!

Didier BECU
24/01/2016


NL

Op het hoesje van de cd zien we de binnenkant van een kerk die wordt getroffen door een bliksemschicht. En tja, zonder dat we ook maar één toon horen, weten we meteen dat Revoke van Résonance Magnétique een zeer donker schijfje zal zijn.

De bezieler van dit project is de Fransman Ludovic Dhenry, die ook betrokken is bij het neoklassieke Exponentia en het electrogetinte Zauber.

Reflection begint meteen met donkere, angstaanjagende klanken. Je hoort het geluid van een eenzame klok, maar het is vooral de duistere (bijna onmenselijke) synthklank die overheerst. Aan Mystification worden stemmen toegevoegd (nou ja, vreemde Gregoriaanse gezangen) en een industriële beat. Al bij al een vreemde combinatie, maar wel eentje die prima werkt! In Illusion steken nog meer beats de kop op waardoor de elektro-industrial van Résonance Magnétique vrij toegankelijk wordt. Nou ja, toegankelijk, Arcane blijft beangstigende muziek en schept het gevoel dat je krijgt als je ‘s nachts een wandeling door een donker steegje maakt en je overvallen wordt door allerlei panische gedachten. Maar geen nood, hoe verder de cd vordert, des te meer worden de elektrobeats opgetrokken en alles wordt zelfs dansbaar!

De titeltrack Revoke is heerlijke dansbare industrial die wel een beetje op The Klinik lijkt. Toegegeven, de verschillende stijlen die je op dit schijfje aantreft maken er misschien op het eerste gezicht een bont allegaartje van, het toont echter ook de diversiteit van Résonance Magnétique.

Dat dansbare karakter hoor je ook in Penumbra en Radiance, die je gerust als een darkelectro-versie van Giorgio Moroder mag omschrijven: een diepe bas, opzwepende ritmes en een heerlijk melancholisch gevoel. Darken gaat nog meer de richting van EBM uit: loeiharde beats die bedoeld zijn om je te doen dansen, ook al hoor je in de achtergrond allerlei obscure, donkere geluiden.

Bijna zeventig minuten lang zuigt Ludovic Dhenry je mee naar de donkerste plekken van het elektrowereldje. Tamelijk subliem schijfje!

Didier BECU
24/01/2016


 

Next reviews
FRANQ • Common Ground
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
ULTRANOIRE • Disclosure
BURNING GATES • Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KOLFSKOP • halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR
THEN THEY FLEW • Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
A-HA • Cast In Steel

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms

 

Same genre: EBM
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal