tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/01/2016 : RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE - Revoke

RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE

Revoke

MusicCD
Dark AmbientEBMElectroElectronics

[88/100]   

Neris Records
24/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The cover of the CD shows the inside of a church that is struck by lightning. Without hearing one note, we immediately are aware of the fact that Revoke by Résonance Magnétique is a very dark record.

The driving force behind this project is the Frenchman Ludovic Dhenry, who is also involved in the neoclassical Exponentia and the electro act Zauber.

Reflection starts with dark, eerie sounds. You hear a solitary bell, but dark (almost inhuman) synth sounds dominate. To Mystification human voices are added (well, Gregorian chants in fact) and an industrial beat. All in all, a strange combination, but one that works! Illusion has more stabbing beats, they almost make the electro-industrial of Résonance Magnétique accessible. Don’t panic, Arcane remains frightening music and creates the feeling that you get during a night walk in a dark alley when you are overwhelmed by all sorts of thoughts of panic. The further the CD progresses, the more electro beats you hear and everything even becomes danceable!

The title track Revoke is danceable industrial and it sounds a bit like The Klinik. Admittedly, the various styles on this disc might at first sight seems like a mishmash, it also shows the diversity of Résonance Magnétique.

You also hear that danceable character in Penumbra and Radiance, which can be best described as a dark electro version of Giorgio Moroder: a deep bass, stirring rhythms and a melancholic feeling. Darken continues in the direction of EBM direction: deafening beats to make you dance, even if you hear all kinds of obscure, dark sounds in the background.

During seventy minutes, Ludovic Dhenry sucks you into the darkest places of the electronic music. A sublime disc!

Didier BECU
24/01/2016


NL

Op het hoesje van de cd zien we de binnenkant van een kerk die wordt getroffen door een bliksemschicht. En tja, zonder dat we ook maar één toon horen, weten we meteen dat Revoke van Résonance Magnétique een zeer donker schijfje zal zijn.

De bezieler van dit project is de Fransman Ludovic Dhenry, die ook betrokken is bij het neoklassieke Exponentia en het electrogetinte Zauber.

Reflection begint meteen met donkere, angstaanjagende klanken. Je hoort het geluid van een eenzame klok, maar het is vooral de duistere (bijna onmenselijke) synthklank die overheerst. Aan Mystification worden stemmen toegevoegd (nou ja, vreemde Gregoriaanse gezangen) en een industriële beat. Al bij al een vreemde combinatie, maar wel eentje die prima werkt! In Illusion steken nog meer beats de kop op waardoor de elektro-industrial van Résonance Magnétique vrij toegankelijk wordt. Nou ja, toegankelijk, Arcane blijft beangstigende muziek en schept het gevoel dat je krijgt als je ‘s nachts een wandeling door een donker steegje maakt en je overvallen wordt door allerlei panische gedachten. Maar geen nood, hoe verder de cd vordert, des te meer worden de elektrobeats opgetrokken en alles wordt zelfs dansbaar!

De titeltrack Revoke is heerlijke dansbare industrial die wel een beetje op The Klinik lijkt. Toegegeven, de verschillende stijlen die je op dit schijfje aantreft maken er misschien op het eerste gezicht een bont allegaartje van, het toont echter ook de diversiteit van Résonance Magnétique.

Dat dansbare karakter hoor je ook in Penumbra en Radiance, die je gerust als een darkelectro-versie van Giorgio Moroder mag omschrijven: een diepe bas, opzwepende ritmes en een heerlijk melancholisch gevoel. Darken gaat nog meer de richting van EBM uit: loeiharde beats die bedoeld zijn om je te doen dansen, ook al hoor je in de achtergrond allerlei obscure, donkere geluiden.

Bijna zeventig minuten lang zuigt Ludovic Dhenry je mee naar de donkerste plekken van het elektrowereldje. Tamelijk subliem schijfje!

Didier BECU
24/01/2016


 

Next reviews
FRANQ • Common Ground
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
ULTRANOIRE • Disclosure
BURNING GATES • Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KOLFSKOP • halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR
THEN THEY FLEW • Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
A-HA • Cast In Steel

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day