tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/01/2016 : RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE - Revoke

RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE

Revoke

MusicCD
Dark AmbientEBMElectroElectronics

[88/100]   

Neris Records
24/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The cover of the CD shows the inside of a church that is struck by lightning. Without hearing one note, we immediately are aware of the fact that Revoke by Résonance Magnétique is a very dark record.

The driving force behind this project is the Frenchman Ludovic Dhenry, who is also involved in the neoclassical Exponentia and the electro act Zauber.

Reflection starts with dark, eerie sounds. You hear a solitary bell, but dark (almost inhuman) synth sounds dominate. To Mystification human voices are added (well, Gregorian chants in fact) and an industrial beat. All in all, a strange combination, but one that works! Illusion has more stabbing beats, they almost make the electro-industrial of Résonance Magnétique accessible. Don’t panic, Arcane remains frightening music and creates the feeling that you get during a night walk in a dark alley when you are overwhelmed by all sorts of thoughts of panic. The further the CD progresses, the more electro beats you hear and everything even becomes danceable!

The title track Revoke is danceable industrial and it sounds a bit like The Klinik. Admittedly, the various styles on this disc might at first sight seems like a mishmash, it also shows the diversity of Résonance Magnétique.

You also hear that danceable character in Penumbra and Radiance, which can be best described as a dark electro version of Giorgio Moroder: a deep bass, stirring rhythms and a melancholic feeling. Darken continues in the direction of EBM direction: deafening beats to make you dance, even if you hear all kinds of obscure, dark sounds in the background.

During seventy minutes, Ludovic Dhenry sucks you into the darkest places of the electronic music. A sublime disc!

Didier BECU
24/01/2016


NL

Op het hoesje van de cd zien we de binnenkant van een kerk die wordt getroffen door een bliksemschicht. En tja, zonder dat we ook maar één toon horen, weten we meteen dat Revoke van Résonance Magnétique een zeer donker schijfje zal zijn.

De bezieler van dit project is de Fransman Ludovic Dhenry, die ook betrokken is bij het neoklassieke Exponentia en het electrogetinte Zauber.

Reflection begint meteen met donkere, angstaanjagende klanken. Je hoort het geluid van een eenzame klok, maar het is vooral de duistere (bijna onmenselijke) synthklank die overheerst. Aan Mystification worden stemmen toegevoegd (nou ja, vreemde Gregoriaanse gezangen) en een industriële beat. Al bij al een vreemde combinatie, maar wel eentje die prima werkt! In Illusion steken nog meer beats de kop op waardoor de elektro-industrial van Résonance Magnétique vrij toegankelijk wordt. Nou ja, toegankelijk, Arcane blijft beangstigende muziek en schept het gevoel dat je krijgt als je ‘s nachts een wandeling door een donker steegje maakt en je overvallen wordt door allerlei panische gedachten. Maar geen nood, hoe verder de cd vordert, des te meer worden de elektrobeats opgetrokken en alles wordt zelfs dansbaar!

De titeltrack Revoke is heerlijke dansbare industrial die wel een beetje op The Klinik lijkt. Toegegeven, de verschillende stijlen die je op dit schijfje aantreft maken er misschien op het eerste gezicht een bont allegaartje van, het toont echter ook de diversiteit van Résonance Magnétique.

Dat dansbare karakter hoor je ook in Penumbra en Radiance, die je gerust als een darkelectro-versie van Giorgio Moroder mag omschrijven: een diepe bas, opzwepende ritmes en een heerlijk melancholisch gevoel. Darken gaat nog meer de richting van EBM uit: loeiharde beats die bedoeld zijn om je te doen dansen, ook al hoor je in de achtergrond allerlei obscure, donkere geluiden.

Bijna zeventig minuten lang zuigt Ludovic Dhenry je mee naar de donkerste plekken van het elektrowereldje. Tamelijk subliem schijfje!

Didier BECU
24/01/2016


 

Next reviews
FRANQ • Common Ground
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
ULTRANOIRE • Disclosure
BURNING GATES • Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KOLFSKOP • halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR
THEN THEY FLEW • Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
A-HA • Cast In Steel

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten