tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/03/2012 : REVOLTING COCKS (THE) - Got Mixxx?

REVOLTING COCKS (THE)

Got Mixxx?

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial MetalMetal

[92/100]   
16/03/2012, Fred GADGET

Being the biggest Revco fan of my … well erm … my street I simply had to buy this CD. Yes indeed BUY because I don't want to jeopardize my taste by ONLY listening to and reviewing free send or given promo stuff! Of course, buying this silver disc had also something to do with this cunning little blue and bearded Wooly CD salesman who flashed me with this latest Revco album 'Got Mixxx'. But as biggest fan of my street I have to admit that I didn't really dig the latest Revco albums that much. Not because they where shit, but because in my humble opinion Revco lost their original harsh electro-industrial sound bit by bit, album by album. Almost like they got rid of their original members one by one, album by album. Turning Revco almost in an Al Jourgensen solo project with guest musicians. With their 'original sound' I do not specifically mean their sound of the '80's but most of all the originality of their music, which used to be quite unique in that time. I think we can dare to say they were one of the first industrial-rock bands to surface. Why do I spend all these words before actually review this album? Well, because this album restored my faith in Al a little! Although the title and the song title addenda suggest this is just another lame remix album, with remixes that usually don't do any good to the original songs, these versions, al remixed by the band (read Al Jourgensen), should have been on the regular 'Got Cock' album! As the CD opens with 'Trojan Horse (Sell Your Cars mixxx)', immediately the long forgotten Revco sound is recognizable. The US industrial party continues with more harsh and heavy tracks like ' Dykes (Get a Real Job Mixxx)','Juice (Feed Me Support Me Mixxx) and Piss Army (Piss Piss Bye Bye). 'Fuck Money' reminds my of a brilliant Belgian song of The Holy Gang (feat. R23 of Front 242 & JD of La Muerte). If by now the songtitles and the album artwork didn't give you a hint, the last two songs, 'Poke-a-Hot-Ass (Assholes are everywhere Mixxx) and the their own cover/interpretation of 'Me So Horny', certainly do!
Revco is horny, perverted and sick and that’s the way we like it!

The only major and unforgivable default of 'Got Mixxx' is the absence of our fellow Belgian and original Revco co-founder, Luc Van Acker. Not even in the thank word credits. Shame on you Al!

This being said, the album is a real treat for all the fans of the Revco/Ministry pre-Metal era, so do like they sing: ' Fuck money! So buy my fucking album!' 

Fred GADGET
16/03/2012


 

Next reviews
BENE GESSERIT • A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent

 

Same genre: EBM
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
3TEETH • 3TEETH

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell