tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/03/2012 : REVOLTING COCKS (THE) - Got Mixxx?

REVOLTING COCKS (THE)

Got Mixxx?

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial MetalMetal

[92/100]   
16/03/2012, Fred GADGET

Being the biggest Revco fan of my … well erm … my street I simply had to buy this CD. Yes indeed BUY because I don't want to jeopardize my taste by ONLY listening to and reviewing free send or given promo stuff! Of course, buying this silver disc had also something to do with this cunning little blue and bearded Wooly CD salesman who flashed me with this latest Revco album 'Got Mixxx'. But as biggest fan of my street I have to admit that I didn't really dig the latest Revco albums that much. Not because they where shit, but because in my humble opinion Revco lost their original harsh electro-industrial sound bit by bit, album by album. Almost like they got rid of their original members one by one, album by album. Turning Revco almost in an Al Jourgensen solo project with guest musicians. With their 'original sound' I do not specifically mean their sound of the '80's but most of all the originality of their music, which used to be quite unique in that time. I think we can dare to say they were one of the first industrial-rock bands to surface. Why do I spend all these words before actually review this album? Well, because this album restored my faith in Al a little! Although the title and the song title addenda suggest this is just another lame remix album, with remixes that usually don't do any good to the original songs, these versions, al remixed by the band (read Al Jourgensen), should have been on the regular 'Got Cock' album! As the CD opens with 'Trojan Horse (Sell Your Cars mixxx)', immediately the long forgotten Revco sound is recognizable. The US industrial party continues with more harsh and heavy tracks like ' Dykes (Get a Real Job Mixxx)','Juice (Feed Me Support Me Mixxx) and Piss Army (Piss Piss Bye Bye). 'Fuck Money' reminds my of a brilliant Belgian song of The Holy Gang (feat. R23 of Front 242 & JD of La Muerte). If by now the songtitles and the album artwork didn't give you a hint, the last two songs, 'Poke-a-Hot-Ass (Assholes are everywhere Mixxx) and the their own cover/interpretation of 'Me So Horny', certainly do!
Revco is horny, perverted and sick and that’s the way we like it!

The only major and unforgivable default of 'Got Mixxx' is the absence of our fellow Belgian and original Revco co-founder, Luc Van Acker. Not even in the thank word credits. Shame on you Al!

This being said, the album is a real treat for all the fans of the Revco/Ministry pre-Metal era, so do like they sing: ' Fuck money! So buy my fucking album!' 

Fred GADGET
16/03/2012


 

Next reviews
BENE GESSERIT • A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
3TEETH • 3TEETH

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap