tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/03/2012 : REVOLTING COCKS (THE) - Got Mixxx?

REVOLTING COCKS (THE)

Got Mixxx?

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial MetalMetal

[92/100]   
16/03/2012, Fred GADGET

Being the biggest Revco fan of my … well erm … my street I simply had to buy this CD. Yes indeed BUY because I don't want to jeopardize my taste by ONLY listening to and reviewing free send or given promo stuff! Of course, buying this silver disc had also something to do with this cunning little blue and bearded Wooly CD salesman who flashed me with this latest Revco album 'Got Mixxx'. But as biggest fan of my street I have to admit that I didn't really dig the latest Revco albums that much. Not because they where shit, but because in my humble opinion Revco lost their original harsh electro-industrial sound bit by bit, album by album. Almost like they got rid of their original members one by one, album by album. Turning Revco almost in an Al Jourgensen solo project with guest musicians. With their 'original sound' I do not specifically mean their sound of the '80's but most of all the originality of their music, which used to be quite unique in that time. I think we can dare to say they were one of the first industrial-rock bands to surface. Why do I spend all these words before actually review this album? Well, because this album restored my faith in Al a little! Although the title and the song title addenda suggest this is just another lame remix album, with remixes that usually don't do any good to the original songs, these versions, al remixed by the band (read Al Jourgensen), should have been on the regular 'Got Cock' album! As the CD opens with 'Trojan Horse (Sell Your Cars mixxx)', immediately the long forgotten Revco sound is recognizable. The US industrial party continues with more harsh and heavy tracks like ' Dykes (Get a Real Job Mixxx)','Juice (Feed Me Support Me Mixxx) and Piss Army (Piss Piss Bye Bye). 'Fuck Money' reminds my of a brilliant Belgian song of The Holy Gang (feat. R23 of Front 242 & JD of La Muerte). If by now the songtitles and the album artwork didn't give you a hint, the last two songs, 'Poke-a-Hot-Ass (Assholes are everywhere Mixxx) and the their own cover/interpretation of 'Me So Horny', certainly do!
Revco is horny, perverted and sick and that’s the way we like it!

The only major and unforgivable default of 'Got Mixxx' is the absence of our fellow Belgian and original Revco co-founder, Luc Van Acker. Not even in the thank word credits. Shame on you Al!

This being said, the album is a real treat for all the fans of the Revco/Ministry pre-Metal era, so do like they sing: ' Fuck money! So buy my fucking album!' 

Fred GADGET
16/03/2012


 

Next reviews
BENE GESSERIT • A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent

 

Same genre: EBM
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL METAL
PIG • Pain Is God
OST+FRONT • Ikarus
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf