tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : REZUREX - Dance of the dead

REZUREX

Dance of the dead

MusicCD
PsychobillyPunk

[67/100]   
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from a genre named romantic psychobilly? Neither have we, but since the latest album by Rezurex landed on the Peek-A-Boo desk this has changed.

If your mother ever taught you not to judge a book by its cover (did she?) then she surely must have foreseen that there would be a band around like Rezurex. With their white painted faces you're expecting something extreme like say The Misfits, but this is different...it's even sweet. Well, they chose the term romantic psychobilly for a reason.

With their 2006 release "Beyond the grave" and "Psycho radio", this album is already their third one and it's the kind of album you can come home to without the fear of being kicked out.

This has a lot to do with frontman Daniel deLeon whose goal exists in combining 80's psychobilly with 40's & 50's crooners and so it happens that you end up with songs like "Vampire kiss" which would fit perfectly on a jukebox in those days your parents were dancing to the tunes of Little Richard.

This American band are often seen in the streets of Hollywood and you even might have frontman Daniel spotted in True Blood or Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium.

Indeed, there's a lot of pose involved and at times it seems (oh the irony!) that you're dealing more with actors who are playing a role instead of musicians but it doesn't stop us from saying that this is a nice punk rock album, at least, if you have a mellow heart!

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Ooit al gehoord van de term "romantic psychobilly"? Troost je, wij ook niet, maar sinds het laatste album van Rezurex de Peek-A-Boo redactie werd binnengegooid, is dat enigzins veranderd.

Indien je moeder je ooit leerde dat je een boek nooit op de kaft mag beoordelen, dan gaat dit ook op voor CD's en had ze misschien in gedachten dat er ooit een groep als Rezurex zou bestaan.
Inderdaad, van zodra je frontman Daniel deLeon met een witgeschilderd gezicht ziet opdraven, zou je denken dat dit zootje ongeregeld muziek voortbrengt in de stijl van pakweg The Misfits, maar niks is minder waar!

Het was steeds Daniel's droom geweest om de elementen van de psychobilly uit de jaren '80 te gaan vermengen met de crooners van de fourties en fifties, maar op deze cd gaat hij wel zeer ver.
Volgens de groep zelf is het ook voor het eerst dat ze zo zacht klinken, want voorgangers "Beyond the grave" en "Psycho radio" waren hardere koek, waar de geest van The Misfits wel in opdraaft.
Zoiets maakt dat dit het ideale plaatje is om mee thuis te komen zonder het nakend gevaar dat je op de straatstenen zult belanden. Op deze CD staan nummers zoals bijvoorbeeld het leuke "Vampire kiss" dat niet zou misstaan op de Wurlitzer jukebox waarop je ouders (of grootouders) stonden te swingen.

Een goed verstaander heeft ondertussen reeds begrepen dat deze mannen niet bang zijn voor de nodige pose.
Maar wat verwacht je van een groep die zich ophoudt in de straten van Hollywood en wiens frontman reeds te zien was in films als True Blood of Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium?

Nu goed, deze cd bevat best aardige punkrock ook al is hij gemaakt voor de bezitters van een fluwelen hartje.

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation