tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : REZUREX - Dance of the dead

REZUREX

Dance of the dead

MusicCD
PsychobillyPunk

[67/100]   
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from a genre named romantic psychobilly? Neither have we, but since the latest album by Rezurex landed on the Peek-A-Boo desk this has changed.

If your mother ever taught you not to judge a book by its cover (did she?) then she surely must have foreseen that there would be a band around like Rezurex. With their white painted faces you're expecting something extreme like say The Misfits, but this is different...it's even sweet. Well, they chose the term romantic psychobilly for a reason.

With their 2006 release "Beyond the grave" and "Psycho radio", this album is already their third one and it's the kind of album you can come home to without the fear of being kicked out.

This has a lot to do with frontman Daniel deLeon whose goal exists in combining 80's psychobilly with 40's & 50's crooners and so it happens that you end up with songs like "Vampire kiss" which would fit perfectly on a jukebox in those days your parents were dancing to the tunes of Little Richard.

This American band are often seen in the streets of Hollywood and you even might have frontman Daniel spotted in True Blood or Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium.

Indeed, there's a lot of pose involved and at times it seems (oh the irony!) that you're dealing more with actors who are playing a role instead of musicians but it doesn't stop us from saying that this is a nice punk rock album, at least, if you have a mellow heart!

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Ooit al gehoord van de term "romantic psychobilly"? Troost je, wij ook niet, maar sinds het laatste album van Rezurex de Peek-A-Boo redactie werd binnengegooid, is dat enigzins veranderd.

Indien je moeder je ooit leerde dat je een boek nooit op de kaft mag beoordelen, dan gaat dit ook op voor CD's en had ze misschien in gedachten dat er ooit een groep als Rezurex zou bestaan.
Inderdaad, van zodra je frontman Daniel deLeon met een witgeschilderd gezicht ziet opdraven, zou je denken dat dit zootje ongeregeld muziek voortbrengt in de stijl van pakweg The Misfits, maar niks is minder waar!

Het was steeds Daniel's droom geweest om de elementen van de psychobilly uit de jaren '80 te gaan vermengen met de crooners van de fourties en fifties, maar op deze cd gaat hij wel zeer ver.
Volgens de groep zelf is het ook voor het eerst dat ze zo zacht klinken, want voorgangers "Beyond the grave" en "Psycho radio" waren hardere koek, waar de geest van The Misfits wel in opdraaft.
Zoiets maakt dat dit het ideale plaatje is om mee thuis te komen zonder het nakend gevaar dat je op de straatstenen zult belanden. Op deze CD staan nummers zoals bijvoorbeeld het leuke "Vampire kiss" dat niet zou misstaan op de Wurlitzer jukebox waarop je ouders (of grootouders) stonden te swingen.

Een goed verstaander heeft ondertussen reeds begrepen dat deze mannen niet bang zijn voor de nodige pose.
Maar wat verwacht je van een groep die zich ophoudt in de straten van Hollywood en wiens frontman reeds te zien was in films als True Blood of Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium?

Nu goed, deze cd bevat best aardige punkrock ook al is hij gemaakt voor de bezitters van een fluwelen hartje.

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit