tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : REZUREX - Dance of the dead

REZUREX

Dance of the dead

MusicCD
PsychobillyPunk

[67/100]   
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from a genre named romantic psychobilly? Neither have we, but since the latest album by Rezurex landed on the Peek-A-Boo desk this has changed.

If your mother ever taught you not to judge a book by its cover (did she?) then she surely must have foreseen that there would be a band around like Rezurex. With their white painted faces you're expecting something extreme like say The Misfits, but this is different...it's even sweet. Well, they chose the term romantic psychobilly for a reason.

With their 2006 release "Beyond the grave" and "Psycho radio", this album is already their third one and it's the kind of album you can come home to without the fear of being kicked out.

This has a lot to do with frontman Daniel deLeon whose goal exists in combining 80's psychobilly with 40's & 50's crooners and so it happens that you end up with songs like "Vampire kiss" which would fit perfectly on a jukebox in those days your parents were dancing to the tunes of Little Richard.

This American band are often seen in the streets of Hollywood and you even might have frontman Daniel spotted in True Blood or Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium.

Indeed, there's a lot of pose involved and at times it seems (oh the irony!) that you're dealing more with actors who are playing a role instead of musicians but it doesn't stop us from saying that this is a nice punk rock album, at least, if you have a mellow heart!

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Ooit al gehoord van de term "romantic psychobilly"? Troost je, wij ook niet, maar sinds het laatste album van Rezurex de Peek-A-Boo redactie werd binnengegooid, is dat enigzins veranderd.

Indien je moeder je ooit leerde dat je een boek nooit op de kaft mag beoordelen, dan gaat dit ook op voor CD's en had ze misschien in gedachten dat er ooit een groep als Rezurex zou bestaan.
Inderdaad, van zodra je frontman Daniel deLeon met een witgeschilderd gezicht ziet opdraven, zou je denken dat dit zootje ongeregeld muziek voortbrengt in de stijl van pakweg The Misfits, maar niks is minder waar!

Het was steeds Daniel's droom geweest om de elementen van de psychobilly uit de jaren '80 te gaan vermengen met de crooners van de fourties en fifties, maar op deze cd gaat hij wel zeer ver.
Volgens de groep zelf is het ook voor het eerst dat ze zo zacht klinken, want voorgangers "Beyond the grave" en "Psycho radio" waren hardere koek, waar de geest van The Misfits wel in opdraaft.
Zoiets maakt dat dit het ideale plaatje is om mee thuis te komen zonder het nakend gevaar dat je op de straatstenen zult belanden. Op deze CD staan nummers zoals bijvoorbeeld het leuke "Vampire kiss" dat niet zou misstaan op de Wurlitzer jukebox waarop je ouders (of grootouders) stonden te swingen.

Een goed verstaander heeft ondertussen reeds begrepen dat deze mannen niet bang zijn voor de nodige pose.
Maar wat verwacht je van een groep die zich ophoudt in de straten van Hollywood en wiens frontman reeds te zien was in films als True Blood of Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium?

Nu goed, deze cd bevat best aardige punkrock ook al is hij gemaakt voor de bezitters van een fluwelen hartje.

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith