tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : REZUREX - Dance of the dead

REZUREX

Dance of the dead

MusicCD
PsychobillyPunk

[67/100]   
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Have you ever heard from a genre named romantic psychobilly? Neither have we, but since the latest album by Rezurex landed on the Peek-A-Boo desk this has changed.

If your mother ever taught you not to judge a book by its cover (did she?) then she surely must have foreseen that there would be a band around like Rezurex. With their white painted faces you're expecting something extreme like say The Misfits, but this is different...it's even sweet. Well, they chose the term romantic psychobilly for a reason.

With their 2006 release "Beyond the grave" and "Psycho radio", this album is already their third one and it's the kind of album you can come home to without the fear of being kicked out.

This has a lot to do with frontman Daniel deLeon whose goal exists in combining 80's psychobilly with 40's & 50's crooners and so it happens that you end up with songs like "Vampire kiss" which would fit perfectly on a jukebox in those days your parents were dancing to the tunes of Little Richard.

This American band are often seen in the streets of Hollywood and you even might have frontman Daniel spotted in True Blood or Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium.

Indeed, there's a lot of pose involved and at times it seems (oh the irony!) that you're dealing more with actors who are playing a role instead of musicians but it doesn't stop us from saying that this is a nice punk rock album, at least, if you have a mellow heart!

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Ooit al gehoord van de term "romantic psychobilly"? Troost je, wij ook niet, maar sinds het laatste album van Rezurex de Peek-A-Boo redactie werd binnengegooid, is dat enigzins veranderd.

Indien je moeder je ooit leerde dat je een boek nooit op de kaft mag beoordelen, dan gaat dit ook op voor CD's en had ze misschien in gedachten dat er ooit een groep als Rezurex zou bestaan.
Inderdaad, van zodra je frontman Daniel deLeon met een witgeschilderd gezicht ziet opdraven, zou je denken dat dit zootje ongeregeld muziek voortbrengt in de stijl van pakweg The Misfits, maar niks is minder waar!

Het was steeds Daniel's droom geweest om de elementen van de psychobilly uit de jaren '80 te gaan vermengen met de crooners van de fourties en fifties, maar op deze cd gaat hij wel zeer ver.
Volgens de groep zelf is het ook voor het eerst dat ze zo zacht klinken, want voorgangers "Beyond the grave" en "Psycho radio" waren hardere koek, waar de geest van The Misfits wel in opdraaft.
Zoiets maakt dat dit het ideale plaatje is om mee thuis te komen zonder het nakend gevaar dat je op de straatstenen zult belanden. Op deze CD staan nummers zoals bijvoorbeeld het leuke "Vampire kiss" dat niet zou misstaan op de Wurlitzer jukebox waarop je ouders (of grootouders) stonden te swingen.

Een goed verstaander heeft ondertussen reeds begrepen dat deze mannen niet bang zijn voor de nodige pose.
Maar wat verwacht je van een groep die zich ophoudt in de straten van Hollywood en wiens frontman reeds te zien was in films als True Blood of Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium?

Nu goed, deze cd bevat best aardige punkrock ook al is hij gemaakt voor de bezitters van een fluwelen hartje.

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks