tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/01/2016 : RICARDO DONOSO - Symmetry

RICARDO DONOSO

Symmetry

MusicCD
Ambient PopDroneElectronicsExperimentalMinimalNoiseSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[65/100]   

Denovali Records
27/01/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Denovali Records releases a boxset with the early albums of the Brazilian musician Richardo Donoso: his first two full albums (2011-2012) and two EPs (2013), which together are called Digitalis Trilogy (2007-2012). If you still have nothing of this artist in your collection, then this might be the perfect opportunity to get acquainted with his work. At the same time, Symmetry gives you the opportunity to gain insight into the evolution process of Ricardo Donoso's work since 2007.

Progress Chance (2011) is the first album of the collection. Donoso calls himself influenced by Steve Reich and Terry Riley, and that you we hear in Klatu, in which the repetitive approach clearly refers to Reich's Drumming. A similar process is used in Beiting Dissapointment, but the composition sounds too atmospheric and too little emphatic to lead to a similar result. The rest of the compositions drifts on great melodies, but the effect is too little daring with little variation to speak of a really strong album.

Assimilating the Shadow (2012) is the second album from this boxset and it is largely of the same genre. It all sounds playful and innocent, but sometimes you would hope that Ricardo Donoso makes a fist and puts the place on fire, but that doesn’t happen. Best track on this album is Empathy Gap, in which he replaces the melodious electro keyboard sound through a minimalist and plaintive, almost religious sound.

The EPs As Iron Sharpens Iron sharpens Fresh and One Verse sharpens Another are both on the third CD. It is a collection that contains dark tracks that impress more than what we have heard so far. The playful character or these compositions is exchanged for dark but never explicit drones, while the electro sounds are much more restrained. Affirmation is a repetitive track in the style of Steve Reich, and the use of a quiet and austere keyboard sound is a perfect choice. The Child Primitive can convince us as a result of the dark atmosphere that fans through the track, but 2 out of 8 is too little to speak of a totally different approach.

Donoso has come a long way since his debut album, but he obviously still has a long road ahead. If you like airy and playful electro, then this boxset definitely is a good buy. For us, there is just not enough variety and too little courage to convince.

www.soundcloud.com/denovali/sets/ricardo-donoso-symmetry
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPNAoghTuEo
www.denovali.com/ricardodonoso
www.ricardodonoso.com

William LIÉNARD
27/01/2016


NL

Denovali Records brengt een boxset uit met het vroege werk van de Braziliaanse muzikant Richardo Donoso en met name zijn twee eerste full albums (2011-2012) en twee ep’s (2013) die samen de Digitalis Trilogy (2007-2012) worden genoemd. Mocht u nog niets in huis hebben van deze artiest, dan is dit misschien de perfecte gelegenheid om met zijn werk kennis te maken. Tegelijk biedt Symmetry u de kans om inzicht te krijgen in het evolutieproces van Ricardo Donoso’s oeuvre sinds 2007.
Progress Chance is het eerste en tegelijk het oudste album uit de collectie (2011). Donoso noemt zich beïnvloed door Steve Reich en Terry Riley, en dat hoor je in Klatu, waarin de repetitieve aanpak duidelijk naar Reich’s Drumming verwijst. Eenzelfde procedé wordt toegepast in Beiting Dissapointment, maar de compositie klinkt té atmosferisch en te weinig nadrukkelijk om tot een gelijksoortig resultaat te leiden. De rest van de composities drijft op leuke melodietjes, maar de uitwerking is te weinig gedurfd en door de bank is er te weinig sprake van variatie om van een echt sterk album te spreken.

Assimilating the Shadow (2012) is het tweede album uit deze boxset en die gaat grotendeels in hetzelfde genre door. Het klinkt allemaal speels en onschuldig, maar soms hoop je dat Ricardo Donoso een keer een vuist maakt en de boel laat ontploffen. Beste track op dit album is Empathy Gap, waarin hij het welluidende elektrokeyboardgeluid inruilt voor een minimalistische en klagende, bijna religieus geluid.

De ep’s As Iron Sharpens Iron en One Verse sharpens Another zijn verzameld op de derde cd. Het is een collectie die een aantal donkere track bevat die meer indruk maken dan wat we tot nu toe gehoord hebben. Het speelse en huppelende karakter wordt in deze composities ingeruimd voor donkere maar nooit nadrukkelijke drones en de elektrogeluiden klinken veel meer ingehouden. Affirmation is een repetitieve track in de stijl van Steve Reich, en de rustige en sobere opbouw met keyboardgeluid is een perfecte keuze. Ook The Child Primitive kan ons overtuigen door de donkere sfeer die door de track waaiert, maar 2 op 8 is te weinig om te spreken van een totaal andere aanpak.

Donoso heeft sinds zijn debuutalbum een lang traject afgelegd, maar hij heeft duidelijk nog een lange weg te gaan. Als je van lichtvoetige elektro houdt is deze boxset beslist een goede aanschaf. Wat ons betreft is er sprake van net iets te weinig variatie en een te brave aanpak om te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
27/01/2016


 

Next reviews
VALERIO LOVECCHIO (SWISS DARK NIGHTS) • Ten Records That Changed My Life
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
DARKWOOD • Flammenlieder
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
PROMISE & THE MONSTER • Feed The Fire
KNK • Coalescaremonium 2016
INNERWOUD • Antwerpen, De Groene Waterman (22/01/2016)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
PARADE GROUND • Cut up

 

Other reviews from RICARDO DONOSO
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
RICARDO DONOSO • Sarava Exu Remixes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi