tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RIDING THE LOW - Are Here To Help The Neighbourhood:

RIDING THE LOW

Are Here To Help The Neighbourhood:

MusicCD

Clinical Fishing
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Album number two for alt-rockers Riding the Low sees something of a departure for the Burtonians. They've grown up. They've (ahem) 'matured'. But all in a good way, not in a pipe, slippers and a cheeky-line-of-charlie-in-your-dressing-gown kinda way. Sure, there's all the firepower of the 2013 debut What Happened to the Get to Know Ya and all the lyrical couplets and musical twists that we've come to expect from an intelligent outfit. Now though, there's a rawness in them thar grooves. Bigger sweeping melodies, albeit from the school of hard knocks and the Brit-pop college of gurning, a variety of styles without aimless dabbling and choruses. Yes, 'choruses' - remember them?

While many other so-called indie pretenders have dumped substance for style, Paddy Considine's charges have grabbed life by the furry plums and squeezed them hard, riff by riff. No-nonsense belters include Sally Street Team, The Greatest Blast and the opener From the Top of the World, while things slip into (it has to be said) Charlatans, Shed Seven and (no, really) Monster-era REM territory with Meet Skanker, Sunshine My Son Shine and Beer Tears. Fuzzy jangling guitars and shuffle-beats a-go-go with neat witty lyrics - all good.

Riding the Low have gained a good reputation for live shows - including a recent Kendal Calling slot - and it's not hard to see why. Tracks like Heed and On Top of the Mayhem translate well on record and on stage, I'm certain, and wouldn't we all rather see a band like this on Jools than some dinosaur with a beard, donning a trilby and widdling on about hard life in Surrey?

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design