tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings

RIDLEY SCOTT

Exodus: Gods And Kings

MovieCinema
Adventure
20th Century Fox
21/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

The BiblefFilm is back in vogue. At least that is what Hollywood wants, because after Noah by Darren Aronosfky did not become the expected hit, Exodus: Gods And Kings also seems to be a film that will soon be forgotten. Strange, because director Ridley Scott once made a similar story with a genius result (Gladiator), but in Exodus everything is wrong.

Let's start with the good part! It adorns Scott that the movie isn’t drowning in CG effects, because Exodus has a classic Bible movie pattern and is not a variant of The Lord Of The Rings like Noah is. This approach didn’t provoke fanatic catholics. Some thought it was a bad idea that God was a boy in this movie or that Moses in Hollywood is a white muscular guy, for the rest it was fairly quiet in Vatican City. Or should we assume that Christians are just fond of nasty movies, because that is the exact description for Exodus: Gods And Kings certainly.

The story of Moses is well known, and if that is not the case you should just pick up the Old Testament. Apparently that is also what Scott thinks you should do as he gives very little explanation about the story. There are the plagues (of course visually stunning), Moses gets his ten commandments and of course the Red Sea splits in two (although the version of 1956 - The Ten Commandments - was a lot more spectacular). They are almost moments of relief in a film that is technically superior, but also very boring. The dialogues are meaningless, the fights are soporific. Christian Bale is a good actor, but as Moses he is a boring guy. Joel Edgerton does his best to be the baddie as Ramses, but the overacting makes it a grotesque appearance. And we thought that Exodus would be the Batman among Bible movies! 

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


NL

De Bijbelfilm is weer helemaal in. Ten minste dat zou men in Hollywood toch willen, want nadat Noah van Darren Aronosfky niet de verwachte natte droom is geworden, dreigt ook Exodus: Gods And Kings een film te worden om gauw te vergeten. Vreemd, want regisseur Ridley Scott maakte ooit met een gelijksoortig verhaal een dijk van een film (Gladiator), maar in Exodus loopt het behoorlijk fout.

Laten we beginnen met het goede deel. Het siert Scott dat hij niet verzoop in de CG-effecten, want Exodus heeft een klassiek bijbelpatroon en is geen variant op de The Lord Of The Rings geworden zoals dat met Noah wel het geval is. Deze aanpak zorgt er ten minste voor dat pilaarbijters geen moord en brand schreeuwden. Sommige fanatici vonden het wel niet kunnen dat God in deze film een jongetje was of dat Mozes voor Hollywood een blanke gespierde kerel is, voor de rest bleef het tamelijk rustig in Vaticaanstad. Of moeten we ervan uitgaan dat christenen gewoon verzot zijn op vervelende films, want dat is Exodus: Gods And Kings zeker en vast.

Het verhaal over Mozes is ondertussen overbekend en als dat niet het geval is moet je maar het Oude Testament uit de kast halen. Dat vindt blijkbaar ook Scott die bijzonder weinig uitleg bij deze film geeft. Er zijn de plagen (natuurlijk visueel verbluffend), Mozes krijgt zijn tien geboden en natuurlijk gaat ook de Rode Zee open (ofschoon dat in 1956 met The Ten Commandments heel wat spectaculairder leek). Het zijn bijna momenten van opluchting in een film die technisch superieur is, maar tegelijkertijd ook bijzonder saai. De dialogen zijn nietszeggend, de gevechten zijn slaapverwekkend spectaculair (jawel, slaapverwekkend spectaculair) en Christian Bale is wel een goede acteur, maar als Mozes gewoon een vervelende vent. Joel Edgerton doet wel zijn best om als Ramses de baddie van dienst te zijn, de overacting maakt van hem helaas een potsierlijke verschijning. En wij die dachten dat Exodus de Batman van de bijbelfilms zou worden. Mooi mis dus!

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings 21/12/2014 : RIDLEY SCOTT - Exodus: Gods And Kings

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down