tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/11/2014 : RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT - De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014

RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT

De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014

Concert
12/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

Although I already saw The Klinik a few times, I didn’t want to miss their last concert ever on Belgian soil. The final concert will be in Berlin on 27/12/2014. When we arrived in St.-Niklaas Ringel-s was already playing for a while, but we immediately noticed the good sound quality. De Casino is a nice, cosy venue with a beautiful chandelier at the ceiling. The event was sold-out, so it was getting crowded. I am not familiar with the music from Ringel-s, but they were quite enjoyable. Geert Bogaerts is involved in this project with Jan D’Hooge, who we know from Vive La Fête, Implant and 32Crash. They play smooth electro that reminds me of Krautrock because of the German vocals. I heard some nice bass guitar playing and you could see that these men are enjoying themselves on stage.

The Klinik opened their show with Walking On Shadows. Opposed to their recent shows that I witnessed (Beverwave 2012, Rewind and BIM-fest 2013), the crowd wasn’t fired-up from the start. Although Dirk Ivens was energetic and determined as always, I guess it was rather due to the lack of space as people were packed in front of the stage. Once Hours and hours began the crowd started moving and singing along. After this they played two songs from the latest album which the people seemed to know well too. With the harsh Pain and pleasure the temperature raised even more. The enthusiasm of the crowd went crescendo when Obsession (with its fantastic percussion) and Sick in your mind (with its wicked overtones) followed. Peter “Liquid G” Van Den Bogaert was also enjoying the show. During Moving your hands Hilde Ivens mounted the stage and danced a while. Then some more pulsing beats followed with Memories. After that the band left and the crowd screamed for more. Of course they came back for one encore. The crowd went crazy on Go Back and that was it. The band left and the crowd didn’t get the chance to scream for more as the organisation quickly switched on the lights. And so it was finished too soon.

Although it started a bit slowly, it was a great concert once again with a great sound. It’s a pity that there will be no next time. Luckily we still can see Dirk Ivens with Dive, Sonar and Absolute Body Control in the future. By the way, he just released a new album with Sonar. And Borg we might meet again with The Juggernauts.

After The Klinik I went downstairs for a cigarette outside and a visit to the Wool-E-Shop stand. I noticed there were a lot of people from outside the gothic scene, so it seems that The Neon Judgement is popular with a larger public. TNJ opened with Too cold to breath. Classics as Factory walk and Miss Brown followed. Tomorrow in the papers and Concrete were played in different versions. You could say it sounded more poppy and danceable. The crowd was enthusiastic, even in the back of the venue people were dancing. Chinese black is a favourite among the goths from TNJ’s public (dixit TB Frank). Of course The Fashion Party and TV Treated were included too!

Benny CALUWE
12/11/2014


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS