tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/11/2014 : RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT - De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014

RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT

De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014

Concert
12/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

Although I already saw The Klinik a few times, I didn’t want to miss their last concert ever on Belgian soil. The final concert will be in Berlin on 27/12/2014. When we arrived in St.-Niklaas Ringel-s was already playing for a while, but we immediately noticed the good sound quality. De Casino is a nice, cosy venue with a beautiful chandelier at the ceiling. The event was sold-out, so it was getting crowded. I am not familiar with the music from Ringel-s, but they were quite enjoyable. Geert Bogaerts is involved in this project with Jan D’Hooge, who we know from Vive La Fête, Implant and 32Crash. They play smooth electro that reminds me of Krautrock because of the German vocals. I heard some nice bass guitar playing and you could see that these men are enjoying themselves on stage.

The Klinik opened their show with Walking On Shadows. Opposed to their recent shows that I witnessed (Beverwave 2012, Rewind and BIM-fest 2013), the crowd wasn’t fired-up from the start. Although Dirk Ivens was energetic and determined as always, I guess it was rather due to the lack of space as people were packed in front of the stage. Once Hours and hours began the crowd started moving and singing along. After this they played two songs from the latest album which the people seemed to know well too. With the harsh Pain and pleasure the temperature raised even more. The enthusiasm of the crowd went crescendo when Obsession (with its fantastic percussion) and Sick in your mind (with its wicked overtones) followed. Peter “Liquid G” Van Den Bogaert was also enjoying the show. During Moving your hands Hilde Ivens mounted the stage and danced a while. Then some more pulsing beats followed with Memories. After that the band left and the crowd screamed for more. Of course they came back for one encore. The crowd went crazy on Go Back and that was it. The band left and the crowd didn’t get the chance to scream for more as the organisation quickly switched on the lights. And so it was finished too soon.

Although it started a bit slowly, it was a great concert once again with a great sound. It’s a pity that there will be no next time. Luckily we still can see Dirk Ivens with Dive, Sonar and Absolute Body Control in the future. By the way, he just released a new album with Sonar. And Borg we might meet again with The Juggernauts.

After The Klinik I went downstairs for a cigarette outside and a visit to the Wool-E-Shop stand. I noticed there were a lot of people from outside the gothic scene, so it seems that The Neon Judgement is popular with a larger public. TNJ opened with Too cold to breath. Classics as Factory walk and Miss Brown followed. Tomorrow in the papers and Concrete were played in different versions. You could say it sounded more poppy and danceable. The crowd was enthusiastic, even in the back of the venue people were dancing. Chinese black is a favourite among the goths from TNJ’s public (dixit TB Frank). Of course The Fashion Party and TV Treated were included too!

Benny CALUWE
12/11/2014


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty