tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door

ROB COHEN

The Boy Next Door

Movie
Thriller

[56/100]   

Universal Pictures
20/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

How would it be with Jennifer Lopez these days? Well, the Latino is still one of the most beautiful women on the planet, but unfortunately she still can’t act. That's not always a disadvantage (the eye wants something too), but if she ends up in a bad movie, then it’s rather painful to watch. In the US, Lopez is still weekly on television as she’s part of the jury of American Idol. That’s reason enough for letting her act in a thriller, was probably what Rob Cohen (the man of the first Fast & Furious!) thought. Unfortunately for him, and even more for J-Lo, The Boy Next Door is considered as one of the worst films of the year.

In all fairness, I have seen this year seen a lot worse, still you can not say that it is an original thriller and that is exactly (along with the silly scenario) the great weakness of The Boy Next Door. You can’t blame Jennifer, as she does what she has to do. She performs the role of teacher Claire, who hasn’t an easy life. Her husband is send away because he prefers the talent of his secretary, while her teenage son Kevin (Ian Nelson) suffers from the bullying at school. She should know better, of course, but Claire likes the fact that she is being seduced by her neighbour Noah (Ryan Guzman, who is known from the horrendous Step Up-films). The young guy gets a taste of the forbidden (we guess delicious) fruit, but when he finds out that his dream woman only sees him as a one night stand, he is going nuts. The helpful teenage boy becomes an aggressive stalker.

The only one who is not pathetic in The Boy Next Door is Jennifer Lopez, and that says a lot about this film. There is not only the scenario that is just a concentration of clichés of all the possible Hollywood thrillers, there are also a lot of mistakes in this film. A nineteen-year-old who is played by someone who looks ten years older, for example. A strange choice indeed as Ryan Guzman doesn’t look one second scary, and that is needed when you play a psychopath, not? Or the fact that te teacher gets the first pressing of Homer's Iliad as a present! Apparently in Hollywood this three thousand year old book is available in the bookstore around the corner!

Conclusion? A mediocre thriller in which we remember the sexy ass of Jennifer Lopez. Maybe you better watch a video?

Didier BECU
20/07/2015


NL

Hoe zou het tegenwoordig met Jennifer Lopez zijn? Wel, de Latino is op rijpere leeftijd nog steeds één van de mooiste vrouwen op deze planeet, wel kan ze jammer genoeg nog altijd niet acteren. Dat is niet altijd een nadeel (het oog wil immers ook wat), maar als ze in een draak van een film terechtkomt, dan wordt dat soms bijzonder pijnlijk. In de VS is Lopez als jurylid van American Idol nog wekelijks op televisie te zien en dus kan ze ook nog wel aan de slag in een thriller, moet Rob Cohen (de man van de eerste Fast & Furious!) hebben gedacht. Helaas voor hem, en nog meer voor J-Lo, wordt The Boy Next Door als één van de slechtste films van het jaar beschouwd.

Eerlijkheidshalve heb ik dit jaar al veel slechter en dwazer gezien, toch kan je niet zeggen dat het om een originele thriller gaat en dat is nou net (samen met het lullige scenario) de grote zwakte van de film. Jennifer kan je niet veel verwijten, ze doet wat ze moet doen. Ze speelt lerares Claire die het allesbehalve gemakkelijk heeft. Haar man heeft ze aan de deur gezet omdat die liever onder de rok van zijn secretaresse zit en haar tienerzoon Kevin (Ian Nelson) zit door de vele pesterijen op school in een diepe identiteitscrisis. Tegen beter weten in laat Claire zich verleiden door haar buurjongen Noah (Ryan Guzman, die bekend raakte door de afgrijselijke Step Up-films). De jonge kerel proeft van de verboden (zonder meer lekkere) vrucht, maar als hij merkt dat zijn droomvrouw hem gewoon als een onenightstand ziet, slaan alle stoppen bij hem door. De behulpzame buurjongen ontaardt in een stalker die Claire op alle mogelijke fronten in een wurggreep houdt.

De enige die niet de bal misslaat in deze film is Jennifer Lopez, en zoiets zegt natuurlijk veel over deze film. Er is niet alleen het scenario dat een aaneenschakeling is van alle mogelijke clichés uit Hollywoodthrillers, ook zitten er behoorlijk wat fouten in deze film. Een negentienjarige door een dertiger laten spelen bijv. en dan komt daar nog bij dat Ryan Guzman er als psychopaat geen seconde angstaanjagend uitziet! Er zitten nog wel meer belachelijke fouten in deze ordinaire thriller. Zo krijgt de lerares de eerste persing van de Ilias van Homerus cadeau! Blijkbaar ligt in Hollywood dat drieduizend jaar oude boek gewoon in een ordinaire boekenwinkel.

Conclusie? Een matige thriller waaruit we vooral de kont van Jennifer Lopez onthouden. Misschien toch maar gewoon naar een videoclip kijken?

Didier BECU
20/07/2015


20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door 20/07/2015 : ROB COHEN - The Boy Next Door

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)