tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods

ROB MARSHALL

Into The Woods

MovieCinema
Musical
Walt Disney
23/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

After two hours, you wonder what stimulants the Walt Disney producers used when giving green light for Into The Woods. Not only do they take make a mockery of the classic tales that made their company famous (the handsome prince who deceives Cinderella with the baker's wife, imagine that!), but the style isrisky, to say the least. Several movie studios (including Columbia) were planning for years to film the Broadway hit by Stephen Sondheim, but ultimately it was Disney who did the job. That was a risk as the musical gave Hollywood its golden years, but now the genre is dead on the big screen. Apparently they believed in Rob Marshall, who in Europe is best known for Chicago. With a dazzling star cast, positive figures at the American box office and (again) an Oscar nomination for Meryl Streep, the pessimists seemed to be wrong. Let us see if our region will also fall for the musical escapades of Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and so many others!

Different tales are mixed in here, but the main theme is that of a baker (James Corden) and his wife (Emily Blunt), who are victims of a curse by an old witch (Meryl Streep). The two are childless and the shrew is only willing to lift the curse if they manage to do an extremely difficult task. They have three nights to find a white cow, a red cape, a golden slipper and blonde hair in the woods.

All the characters are great, apart from Little Red Riding Hood who is quite irritating. Anna Kendrick makes Cinderella look sexy (and she can also sing), Emily Blunt remains one of the best actresses of the moment and even Johnny Depp - as a wolf - doesn’t give you the usual headache. Naturally, Into The Woods remains a musical in the very traditional sense of the word (so do not expect modern songs as in Moulin Rouge), so you love it or run away from it. In a cinematographic sense, everything is done in a classical (but flawless) style. Perhaps Into The Woods is too lengthy, but otherwise it is a very peculiar phenomenon in Disneyland. Who knows within ten years they will be ashamed about it, in the meantime you better enjoy it.

Didier BECU
23/01/2015


NL

Na twee uur film vraag je je af welke genotsmiddelen de Walt Disney-producers hebben gebruikt om groen licht te geven voor Into The Woods. Niet alleen wordt er een loopje genomen met de sprookjes die hun bedrijf wereldberoemd hebben gemaakt (de knappe prins die Assepoester bedriegt met een bakkersvrouw, stel je voor!), maar ook de stijl is op zijn minst gewaagd te noemen. Verschillende filmstudio’s (waaronder Columbia) liepen al jaren met het idee rond om de Broadwayhit van Stephen Sondheim te verfilmen, maar uiteindelijk was het Disney dat de knoop doorhakte. De musical heeft Hollywood gouden jaren bezorgd, maar hij is vandaag op het witte doek morsdood. Blijkbaar geloofde men nog in Rob Marshall, die we in Europa vooral van Chicago kennen. Met een duizelingwekkende sterrencast, positieve cijfers aan de Amerikaanse kassa en (alweer) een Oscarnominatie voor Meryl Streep, hebben de zwartkijkers ongelijk gekregen. Nu nog afwachten of ook onze contreien zullen zwichten voor de muzikale uitstapjes van Roodkapje, Rapunzel en zo vele anderen!

Verschillende sprookjes passeren de revue, maar het hoofdthema is wel dat van de bakker (James Corden) en zijn vrouw (Emily Blunt), die het slachtoffer zijn van een vloek van een oude heks (Meryl Streep). De twee zijn daardoor kinderloos gebleven en de feeks is bereid om de vloekop te heffen als zij een aartsmoeilijke opdracht kunnen vervullen. Ze hebben drie nachten de tijd om in het bos op zoek te gaan naar een witte koe, een rode cape, een gouden muiltje en blonde haren.

Alle personages zijn (op een irriterend Roodkapje na) geslaagd. Anna Kendrick maakt van Assepoester een sexy verschijning (die nog kan zingen ook), Emily Blunt blijft gewoon één van de betere actrices van het moment en zelfs Johnny Depp werkt als wolf voor één keer niet op de zenuwen! Natuurlijk blijft Into The Woods een musical in de zeer klassieke zin van het woord (verwacht dus geen moderne nummers zoals in bijv. Moulin Rouge) en je houdt ervan of loopt ervan weg. Cinematografisch is alles volgens de klassieke (maar feilloze) regels. Het enige wat Into The Woods nekt is zijn lengte. Voor de rest is het een zeer eigenaardig fenomeen in Disneyland. Wie weet of ze er zich over tien jaar voor zullen schamen, maar vooraleer hett zo ver is kun je er best nog wat van genieten.

Didier BECU
23/01/2015


23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods 23/01/2015 : ROB MARSHALL - Into The Woods

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design