tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes

ROB REINER

And So it Goes

Movie
Comedy

[40/100]   

E1
12/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In a galaxy (probably too far away) Rob Reiner created delicious Hollywood pics such as A Few Good Men, This Is Spinal Tap, Stand By Me, and the romcom-classic par excellence: When Harry Met Sally. These days Reiner is of lesser importance. One of his last films was The Bucket List, starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, who decided to party one last time before going six feet under. His newest offering And So It Goes is a simular film, only without jokes and far too many mellow scenes.

Little Oren (Michael Douglas) is a typical whiner, who is annoyed by everything that surrounds him. Before he dies, he wants to sell his spacious villa for a huge price. Nobody knows why, because he hasn’t seen his drug-addicted son since years. His neighbour Leah (Diane Keaton), who always looks to be on the bright side of life, is another annoyance. He doesn’t understand why this woman is always cheerful and neither why she spends her old days in a café singing dreadful lounge songs (mind you, we don’t understand it either!). Of course, Reiner doesn’t want to leave the viewer with any wry feeling. Out of the blue the ten-year old Sarah (Sterling Jerins) appears, who happens to be the granddaughter Oren never was aware of. His son is forced to go in jail for a few months and he asks his dad to be the babysitter. The grumpy old man isn’t quite keen on doing that, and turns the job over to his neighbour Leah. And yes, you don’t have to be a clairvoyant to guess that Oren’s heart will melt and that he will end up in Leah’s arms.

Reiner did everything to break the heart of the viewer. The result is of course that anyone who has an aversion for this type of movies will hate them more after seeing this one! Fortunately, the performances of both Michael Douglas and Diane Keaton (who will probably still look sexy when she is 90!) are OK, which makes And So It Goes easier to digest. Just don’t ask us why Reiner himself always wants to star in his own movies. This time you can witness the former star of All In The Family with a ridiculous toupee.

And So It Goes is now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2015


NL

In een lang verleden was Rob Reiner de maker van heerlijke Hollywoodprenten zoals A Few Good Men, This Is Spinal Tap, Stand By Me of When Harry Met Sally, maar tegenwoordig komt deze regisseur nauwelijks nog aan de dak. Een van zijn laatste films was The Bucket List, waarin Jack Nicholson en Morgan Freeman nog eens de bloemetjes mochten buiten zetten alvorens de pijp aan Maarten te geven, en ook And So It Goes is zo’n film geworden. Jammer genoeg zonder veel grappen, wel massa’s meligheid.

Oren Little (Michael Douglas) is een typische zeurpiet. Hij ergert zich aan alles in zijn omgeving. Het enige wat hij nog wil doen alvorens in zijn graf te stappen, is erin slagen om zijn riante villa tegen een gigantische prijs te verkopen. Niemand weet waarom hij het doet, want zijn aan drugs verslaafde zoon heeft hij al in jaren niet gezien. Ook met zijn altijd goedgemutste buurvrouw Leah (Diane Keaton) loopt het voor geen meter. Hij begrijpt maar niet waarom deze vrouw steeds vrolijk rondhuppelt, en nog minder snapt hij waarom ze haar oude dag in een café slijt om daar loungenummers te vertolken (troost je, wij begrijpen dat ook niet!). Natuurlijk kan je de kijker niet met een wrang gevoel achterlaten en na een half uurtje bejaardenruzie verschijnt plotseling uit het niets de tienjarige Sarah (Sterling Jerins). Zonder het te weten is Oren opa. Zijn zoon moet een paar maanden brommen en dus wordt aan opalief gevraagd of hij als babysitter wil fungeren. De makelaar ziet maar weinig soelaas in deze opdracht en zadelt Leah met het kind op. En tja, je moet geen helderziende zijn om te kunnen gissen dat Orens hart zal smelten en dat hij op het einde van de film in de armen van zijn buurvrouw ligt.

Reiner heeft werkelijk alles uit de kast gehaald om oude vrouwen- en (wellicht ook) mannenharten te doen smelten. Het gevolg is wel dat als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort films, de haat na anderhalf uur alleen maar groter wordt. Gelukkig zijn er wel degelijke vertolkingen van zowel Michael Douglas als Diane Keaton (die er wellicht nog op haar negentigste sexy zal uitzien), waardoor And So It Goes nog enigszins te verteren is. Wel moet je ons niet vragen waarom Reiner het nodig acht om zelf altijd een rol in zijn films te spelen, deze keer zie je de gewezen ster uit All In The Family zelfs met een lachwekkend toupetje. Voorbestemd om te eindigen als namiddagfilm op Vitaya, maar niet in je filmcollectie.

And So It Goes is nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd en Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2015


12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16