tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes

ROB REINER

And So it Goes

Movie
Comedy

[40/100]   

E1
12/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In a galaxy (probably too far away) Rob Reiner created delicious Hollywood pics such as A Few Good Men, This Is Spinal Tap, Stand By Me, and the romcom-classic par excellence: When Harry Met Sally. These days Reiner is of lesser importance. One of his last films was The Bucket List, starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, who decided to party one last time before going six feet under. His newest offering And So It Goes is a simular film, only without jokes and far too many mellow scenes.

Little Oren (Michael Douglas) is a typical whiner, who is annoyed by everything that surrounds him. Before he dies, he wants to sell his spacious villa for a huge price. Nobody knows why, because he hasn’t seen his drug-addicted son since years. His neighbour Leah (Diane Keaton), who always looks to be on the bright side of life, is another annoyance. He doesn’t understand why this woman is always cheerful and neither why she spends her old days in a café singing dreadful lounge songs (mind you, we don’t understand it either!). Of course, Reiner doesn’t want to leave the viewer with any wry feeling. Out of the blue the ten-year old Sarah (Sterling Jerins) appears, who happens to be the granddaughter Oren never was aware of. His son is forced to go in jail for a few months and he asks his dad to be the babysitter. The grumpy old man isn’t quite keen on doing that, and turns the job over to his neighbour Leah. And yes, you don’t have to be a clairvoyant to guess that Oren’s heart will melt and that he will end up in Leah’s arms.

Reiner did everything to break the heart of the viewer. The result is of course that anyone who has an aversion for this type of movies will hate them more after seeing this one! Fortunately, the performances of both Michael Douglas and Diane Keaton (who will probably still look sexy when she is 90!) are OK, which makes And So It Goes easier to digest. Just don’t ask us why Reiner himself always wants to star in his own movies. This time you can witness the former star of All In The Family with a ridiculous toupee.

And So It Goes is now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2015


NL

In een lang verleden was Rob Reiner de maker van heerlijke Hollywoodprenten zoals A Few Good Men, This Is Spinal Tap, Stand By Me of When Harry Met Sally, maar tegenwoordig komt deze regisseur nauwelijks nog aan de dak. Een van zijn laatste films was The Bucket List, waarin Jack Nicholson en Morgan Freeman nog eens de bloemetjes mochten buiten zetten alvorens de pijp aan Maarten te geven, en ook And So It Goes is zo’n film geworden. Jammer genoeg zonder veel grappen, wel massa’s meligheid.

Oren Little (Michael Douglas) is een typische zeurpiet. Hij ergert zich aan alles in zijn omgeving. Het enige wat hij nog wil doen alvorens in zijn graf te stappen, is erin slagen om zijn riante villa tegen een gigantische prijs te verkopen. Niemand weet waarom hij het doet, want zijn aan drugs verslaafde zoon heeft hij al in jaren niet gezien. Ook met zijn altijd goedgemutste buurvrouw Leah (Diane Keaton) loopt het voor geen meter. Hij begrijpt maar niet waarom deze vrouw steeds vrolijk rondhuppelt, en nog minder snapt hij waarom ze haar oude dag in een café slijt om daar loungenummers te vertolken (troost je, wij begrijpen dat ook niet!). Natuurlijk kan je de kijker niet met een wrang gevoel achterlaten en na een half uurtje bejaardenruzie verschijnt plotseling uit het niets de tienjarige Sarah (Sterling Jerins). Zonder het te weten is Oren opa. Zijn zoon moet een paar maanden brommen en dus wordt aan opalief gevraagd of hij als babysitter wil fungeren. De makelaar ziet maar weinig soelaas in deze opdracht en zadelt Leah met het kind op. En tja, je moet geen helderziende zijn om te kunnen gissen dat Orens hart zal smelten en dat hij op het einde van de film in de armen van zijn buurvrouw ligt.

Reiner heeft werkelijk alles uit de kast gehaald om oude vrouwen- en (wellicht ook) mannenharten te doen smelten. Het gevolg is wel dat als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort films, de haat na anderhalf uur alleen maar groter wordt. Gelukkig zijn er wel degelijke vertolkingen van zowel Michael Douglas als Diane Keaton (die er wellicht nog op haar negentigste sexy zal uitzien), waardoor And So It Goes nog enigszins te verteren is. Wel moet je ons niet vragen waarom Reiner het nodig acht om zelf altijd een rol in zijn films te spelen, deze keer zie je de gewezen ster uit All In The Family zelfs met een lachwekkend toupetje. Voorbestemd om te eindigen als namiddagfilm op Vitaya, maar niet in je filmcollectie.

And So It Goes is nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd en Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2015


12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis