tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes

ROB REINER

And So it Goes

Movie
Comedy

[40/100]   

E1
12/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In a galaxy (probably too far away) Rob Reiner created delicious Hollywood pics such as A Few Good Men, This Is Spinal Tap, Stand By Me, and the romcom-classic par excellence: When Harry Met Sally. These days Reiner is of lesser importance. One of his last films was The Bucket List, starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, who decided to party one last time before going six feet under. His newest offering And So It Goes is a simular film, only without jokes and far too many mellow scenes.

Little Oren (Michael Douglas) is a typical whiner, who is annoyed by everything that surrounds him. Before he dies, he wants to sell his spacious villa for a huge price. Nobody knows why, because he hasn’t seen his drug-addicted son since years. His neighbour Leah (Diane Keaton), who always looks to be on the bright side of life, is another annoyance. He doesn’t understand why this woman is always cheerful and neither why she spends her old days in a café singing dreadful lounge songs (mind you, we don’t understand it either!). Of course, Reiner doesn’t want to leave the viewer with any wry feeling. Out of the blue the ten-year old Sarah (Sterling Jerins) appears, who happens to be the granddaughter Oren never was aware of. His son is forced to go in jail for a few months and he asks his dad to be the babysitter. The grumpy old man isn’t quite keen on doing that, and turns the job over to his neighbour Leah. And yes, you don’t have to be a clairvoyant to guess that Oren’s heart will melt and that he will end up in Leah’s arms.

Reiner did everything to break the heart of the viewer. The result is of course that anyone who has an aversion for this type of movies will hate them more after seeing this one! Fortunately, the performances of both Michael Douglas and Diane Keaton (who will probably still look sexy when she is 90!) are OK, which makes And So It Goes easier to digest. Just don’t ask us why Reiner himself always wants to star in his own movies. This time you can witness the former star of All In The Family with a ridiculous toupee.

And So It Goes is now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2015


NL

In een lang verleden was Rob Reiner de maker van heerlijke Hollywoodprenten zoals A Few Good Men, This Is Spinal Tap, Stand By Me of When Harry Met Sally, maar tegenwoordig komt deze regisseur nauwelijks nog aan de dak. Een van zijn laatste films was The Bucket List, waarin Jack Nicholson en Morgan Freeman nog eens de bloemetjes mochten buiten zetten alvorens de pijp aan Maarten te geven, en ook And So It Goes is zo’n film geworden. Jammer genoeg zonder veel grappen, wel massa’s meligheid.

Oren Little (Michael Douglas) is een typische zeurpiet. Hij ergert zich aan alles in zijn omgeving. Het enige wat hij nog wil doen alvorens in zijn graf te stappen, is erin slagen om zijn riante villa tegen een gigantische prijs te verkopen. Niemand weet waarom hij het doet, want zijn aan drugs verslaafde zoon heeft hij al in jaren niet gezien. Ook met zijn altijd goedgemutste buurvrouw Leah (Diane Keaton) loopt het voor geen meter. Hij begrijpt maar niet waarom deze vrouw steeds vrolijk rondhuppelt, en nog minder snapt hij waarom ze haar oude dag in een café slijt om daar loungenummers te vertolken (troost je, wij begrijpen dat ook niet!). Natuurlijk kan je de kijker niet met een wrang gevoel achterlaten en na een half uurtje bejaardenruzie verschijnt plotseling uit het niets de tienjarige Sarah (Sterling Jerins). Zonder het te weten is Oren opa. Zijn zoon moet een paar maanden brommen en dus wordt aan opalief gevraagd of hij als babysitter wil fungeren. De makelaar ziet maar weinig soelaas in deze opdracht en zadelt Leah met het kind op. En tja, je moet geen helderziende zijn om te kunnen gissen dat Orens hart zal smelten en dat hij op het einde van de film in de armen van zijn buurvrouw ligt.

Reiner heeft werkelijk alles uit de kast gehaald om oude vrouwen- en (wellicht ook) mannenharten te doen smelten. Het gevolg is wel dat als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort films, de haat na anderhalf uur alleen maar groter wordt. Gelukkig zijn er wel degelijke vertolkingen van zowel Michael Douglas als Diane Keaton (die er wellicht nog op haar negentigste sexy zal uitzien), waardoor And So It Goes nog enigszins te verteren is. Wel moet je ons niet vragen waarom Reiner het nodig acht om zelf altijd een rol in zijn films te spelen, deze keer zie je de gewezen ster uit All In The Family zelfs met een lachwekkend toupetje. Voorbestemd om te eindigen als namiddagfilm op Vitaya, maar niet in je filmcollectie.

And So It Goes is nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd en Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2015


12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes 12/03/2015 : ROB REINER - And So it Goes

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey