tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing

ROB REINER

The Sure Thing

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[76/100]   

Studio Canal
01/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Recently the prestigious BFI asked a very interesting question on their Facebook: name your fave teen comedy from the 80’s. It was kind of obvious that names like The Breakfast Club or Risky Business were the big winners, but there was reason enough to reflash our memory and think about some forgotten gems. The Sure Thing from 1985 is such a brilliant example. Today you can’t find the film in shops, even if it’s very easy to grab him secoondhand on the British Amazon. Yes, we do write British as in the Benelux this title was even never released!

Strange as after all, the director is Rob Reiner who made some real winners such as the fake rockdocumentary This Is Spinal Tap or the King-adaption Misery. The cast was great though, even back then almost no one knew who the young John Cusack was. They haven’t heard from Tim Robbins either who plays here a hilarious supporting role! 

As it happens so many times in teen comedies the subject is the unreachable dream woman. This time it’s a blonde nympho (Nicolette Sheridan and indeed the sure thing!) who lives far away in sunny California. The best friend from Walter Gibson (John Cusack) has managed a date for him, but he is forced to move to the other side of America. Such women are worth every try and so Walter hijacks to California. On his trip he is forced to join his classmate Alison Bradbury (Daphne Zuniga whom you might know from One Three Hill). Alison can’t stand Walter’s childish behavior, but you can guess three (or no, two!) times what happens in the end!

No, you can’t say it’s all that original, but believe us: you’ll watch this 80’s movie without stopping as it’s an addictive ride! And don’t forget the gorgeous popsoundtrack that comes with this roadmovie in John Hughes-style! (Re)discover!

Didier BECU
01/08/2014


NL

Onlangs werd op het Facebookforum van de invloedrijke BFI de vraag gesteld welke film de eer krijgt om als beste tienerkomedie van de 80’s te worden bestempeld. Vanzelfsprekend scoorden titels als The Breakfast Club of Risky Business hoog. En toch zijn er talrijke andere films uit dit genre die even goed zijn (of misschien zelfs beter), maar die om de een of andere reden toch in de vergeethoek zijn beland.


The Sure Thing uit 1985 is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van. Het is zelfs zo erg gesteld dat de film momenteel niet meer in de handel is te vinden, ook al tref je hem gemakkelijk tweedehands aan bij bijv. het Britse Amazon. We schrijven doelbewust Brits, want in de Benelux is de film zelfs nooit verschenen!


Vreemd want de regisseur van dienst was nochtans niet de eerste de beste: nl. Rob Reiner die o.a. de neprockdocumentaire This Is Spinal Tap of de King-verfilming Misery op zijn actief heeft staan. En ook de cast was niet mis, ofschoon in die tijd niemand had gehoord van John Cusack. En ook niet van Tim Robbins die hier in een hilarische bijrol is te zien.


Zoals het zo vaak gaat in tienerkomedies is een onbereikbare vrouw wederom het onderwerp. De blonde stoot van dienst (Nicolette Sheridan en dus the sure thing!) woont in het verre Californië. De beste vriend van Walter Gibson (John Cusack) heeft er voor gezorgd dat hij een date met het wulpse vrouwtje kan krijgen en dus moet hij naar de andere kant van Amerika trekken. Dat doet hij al liftend. Per toeval zit hij in de wagen met zijn klasgenote Alison Bradbury (Daphne Zuniga die je misschien wel kent uit One Three Hill). De twee zijn elkaars tegenpolen, maar je mag tweemaal raden wat er gaat gebeuren!


Neen, origineel is het allemaal niet, maar het is wel zo’n 80’s film die je met plezier in één ruk uitkijkt. De schitterende popsoundtrack krijg je er gratis bij deze roadmovie à la John Hughes bovenop! (Her)ontdekken!

Didier BECU
01/08/2014


01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi