tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing

ROB REINER

The Sure Thing

MovieCult movies
Comedy

[76/100]   

Studio Canal
01/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Recently the prestigious BFI asked a very interesting question on their Facebook: name your fave teen comedy from the 80’s. It was kind of obvious that names like The Breakfast Club or Risky Business were the big winners, but there was reason enough to reflash our memory and think about some forgotten gems. The Sure Thing from 1985 is such a brilliant example. Today you can’t find the film in shops, even if it’s very easy to grab him secoondhand on the British Amazon. Yes, we do write British as in the Benelux this title was even never released!

Strange as after all, the director is Rob Reiner who made some real winners such as the fake rockdocumentary This Is Spinal Tap or the King-adaption Misery. The cast was great though, even back then almost no one knew who the young John Cusack was. They haven’t heard from Tim Robbins either who plays here a hilarious supporting role! 

As it happens so many times in teen comedies the subject is the unreachable dream woman. This time it’s a blonde nympho (Nicolette Sheridan and indeed the sure thing!) who lives far away in sunny California. The best friend from Walter Gibson (John Cusack) has managed a date for him, but he is forced to move to the other side of America. Such women are worth every try and so Walter hijacks to California. On his trip he is forced to join his classmate Alison Bradbury (Daphne Zuniga whom you might know from One Three Hill). Alison can’t stand Walter’s childish behavior, but you can guess three (or no, two!) times what happens in the end!

No, you can’t say it’s all that original, but believe us: you’ll watch this 80’s movie without stopping as it’s an addictive ride! And don’t forget the gorgeous popsoundtrack that comes with this roadmovie in John Hughes-style! (Re)discover!

Didier BECU
01/08/2014


NL

Onlangs werd op het Facebookforum van de invloedrijke BFI de vraag gesteld welke film de eer krijgt om als beste tienerkomedie van de 80’s te worden bestempeld. Vanzelfsprekend scoorden titels als The Breakfast Club of Risky Business hoog. En toch zijn er talrijke andere films uit dit genre die even goed zijn (of misschien zelfs beter), maar die om de een of andere reden toch in de vergeethoek zijn beland.


The Sure Thing uit 1985 is daar een prachtvoorbeeld van. Het is zelfs zo erg gesteld dat de film momenteel niet meer in de handel is te vinden, ook al tref je hem gemakkelijk tweedehands aan bij bijv. het Britse Amazon. We schrijven doelbewust Brits, want in de Benelux is de film zelfs nooit verschenen!


Vreemd want de regisseur van dienst was nochtans niet de eerste de beste: nl. Rob Reiner die o.a. de neprockdocumentaire This Is Spinal Tap of de King-verfilming Misery op zijn actief heeft staan. En ook de cast was niet mis, ofschoon in die tijd niemand had gehoord van John Cusack. En ook niet van Tim Robbins die hier in een hilarische bijrol is te zien.


Zoals het zo vaak gaat in tienerkomedies is een onbereikbare vrouw wederom het onderwerp. De blonde stoot van dienst (Nicolette Sheridan en dus the sure thing!) woont in het verre Californië. De beste vriend van Walter Gibson (John Cusack) heeft er voor gezorgd dat hij een date met het wulpse vrouwtje kan krijgen en dus moet hij naar de andere kant van Amerika trekken. Dat doet hij al liftend. Per toeval zit hij in de wagen met zijn klasgenote Alison Bradbury (Daphne Zuniga die je misschien wel kent uit One Three Hill). De twee zijn elkaars tegenpolen, maar je mag tweemaal raden wat er gaat gebeuren!


Neen, origineel is het allemaal niet, maar het is wel zo’n 80’s film die je met plezier in één ruk uitkijkt. De schitterende popsoundtrack krijg je er gratis bij deze roadmovie à la John Hughes bovenop! (Her)ontdekken!

Didier BECU
01/08/2014


01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing 01/08/2014 : ROB REINER - The Sure Thing

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song