tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

ROB VAN EYCK

The Afterman

MovieCult movies
CultSexploitation

[55/100]   

Zeno Pictures
28/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Can someone tell me what’s going on with these film critics? I mean, saying that Erik Van Looy who paved all ways for the contemporary Flemish cinema is really too much to take. Have these gentleman never heard the name from Rob Van Eyck: the rebel from Zichem? I guess not and if they do, they’re probably too narrow minded to give him any credits. Nah good, this director always has been excluded from the hall of fame that is created by film critics. Not that he cares. He can claim that he was the first film maker who was able to sell a Belgian movie to more than 30 countries. In Japan alone, there was a pressing from 600.000 videotapes from this cult gem.

You don’t need to order a ticket to go the country of the rising sun as the Belgian company Zeno Pictures has released this cult classic. You don’t understand one word of Flemish, you say? No problem either as there isn’t one world of dialogue included in here.

The story is set somewhere in this world (probably his hometown) after the atom bomb has fallen. A disturbed mature guy (Jacques Verbiest) has lived isolated in a bunker. After having sex with hisdead mother in the morgue (according to Van Eyck, this is a reference to Oedipus) he enters the wide world and meets a very pretty lady (Franka Ravet) who is tortured and violated by her boss as a slave. The two run away together.

It’s funny, but nothing happens in this movie, apart from some torture and of course lots of seks. And yet, how limited the story line is, you can say that Van Eyck created a real cult classic that can be compared to Mad Max (but without an annoying Mel Gibson and definitely more X-rated scenes!).

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


NL

Wat is er toch aan de hand met die filmjournalisten? Ik bedoel, beweren dat Erik Van Looy het pad heeft geëffend voor andere Vlaamse cinema? Hebben deze heren nog nooit gehoord van Rob Van Eyck: de rebel uit Zichem? Nu goed, waarschijnlijk hebben ze dat niet en als ze de naam kennen dan vertikken ze het gewoon om er iets over neer te pennen. Rob Van Eyck is immers nooit een graag geziene gast geweest binnenin de filmkritiek. Zelf mag hij er in ieder geval trots op zijn dat in tijden dat Vlaamse regisseurs zich alleen maar om Stijn Streuvels bekommerden, hij de eerste was die een Belgische film in Cannes aan meer dan 30 landen konden verkopen. In Japan alleen werden er 600.000 videotapes van deze cultklassieker gemaakt.

Je moet echter geen ticket naar het land van de rijzende zon bestellen om de klassieker in huis te halen, want hij is tevens te vinden op het Belgische Zeno Pictures op dvd. Het verhaal speelt zich af ergens op de wereld (wellicht een veld in Scherpenheuvel) nadat de atoombom is gevallen. Een gestoorde volwassen kerel (Jacques Verbiest) leefde jarenlang afgezonderd in een bunker. Na eerst seks te hebben gehad met zijn overleden moeder in het lijkenhuisje (volgens van Eyck een verwijzing naar Oedipus) betreedt de eenzaat de wijde wereld. Hij ontmoet gauw een zeer mooi meisje (Franka Ravet) die als slavin door een bruut wordt verkracht en vernederd. De twee vluchten samen weg.

Eigenlijk gebeurt er niets in deze film, behalve een heleboel neukpartijen. En toch is Van Eyck erin geslaagd om een geslaagde apocalyptische film neer te zetten. De film bevat geen dialogen, het enige wat je hoort is een bizarre (maar geslaagde) soundtrack die wellicht op een speelgoedsynthesizer is gecomponeerd. Cult van de bovenste plank! 

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)