tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

ROB VAN EYCK

The Afterman

MovieCult movies
CultSexploitation

[55/100]   

Zeno Pictures
28/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Can someone tell me what’s going on with these film critics? I mean, saying that Erik Van Looy who paved all ways for the contemporary Flemish cinema is really too much to take. Have these gentleman never heard the name from Rob Van Eyck: the rebel from Zichem? I guess not and if they do, they’re probably too narrow minded to give him any credits. Nah good, this director always has been excluded from the hall of fame that is created by film critics. Not that he cares. He can claim that he was the first film maker who was able to sell a Belgian movie to more than 30 countries. In Japan alone, there was a pressing from 600.000 videotapes from this cult gem.

You don’t need to order a ticket to go the country of the rising sun as the Belgian company Zeno Pictures has released this cult classic. You don’t understand one word of Flemish, you say? No problem either as there isn’t one world of dialogue included in here.

The story is set somewhere in this world (probably his hometown) after the atom bomb has fallen. A disturbed mature guy (Jacques Verbiest) has lived isolated in a bunker. After having sex with hisdead mother in the morgue (according to Van Eyck, this is a reference to Oedipus) he enters the wide world and meets a very pretty lady (Franka Ravet) who is tortured and violated by her boss as a slave. The two run away together.

It’s funny, but nothing happens in this movie, apart from some torture and of course lots of seks. And yet, how limited the story line is, you can say that Van Eyck created a real cult classic that can be compared to Mad Max (but without an annoying Mel Gibson and definitely more X-rated scenes!).

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


NL

Wat is er toch aan de hand met die filmjournalisten? Ik bedoel, beweren dat Erik Van Looy het pad heeft geëffend voor andere Vlaamse cinema? Hebben deze heren nog nooit gehoord van Rob Van Eyck: de rebel uit Zichem? Nu goed, waarschijnlijk hebben ze dat niet en als ze de naam kennen dan vertikken ze het gewoon om er iets over neer te pennen. Rob Van Eyck is immers nooit een graag geziene gast geweest binnenin de filmkritiek. Zelf mag hij er in ieder geval trots op zijn dat in tijden dat Vlaamse regisseurs zich alleen maar om Stijn Streuvels bekommerden, hij de eerste was die een Belgische film in Cannes aan meer dan 30 landen konden verkopen. In Japan alleen werden er 600.000 videotapes van deze cultklassieker gemaakt.

Je moet echter geen ticket naar het land van de rijzende zon bestellen om de klassieker in huis te halen, want hij is tevens te vinden op het Belgische Zeno Pictures op dvd. Het verhaal speelt zich af ergens op de wereld (wellicht een veld in Scherpenheuvel) nadat de atoombom is gevallen. Een gestoorde volwassen kerel (Jacques Verbiest) leefde jarenlang afgezonderd in een bunker. Na eerst seks te hebben gehad met zijn overleden moeder in het lijkenhuisje (volgens van Eyck een verwijzing naar Oedipus) betreedt de eenzaat de wijde wereld. Hij ontmoet gauw een zeer mooi meisje (Franka Ravet) die als slavin door een bruut wordt verkracht en vernederd. De twee vluchten samen weg.

Eigenlijk gebeurt er niets in deze film, behalve een heleboel neukpartijen. En toch is Van Eyck erin geslaagd om een geslaagde apocalyptische film neer te zetten. De film bevat geen dialogen, het enige wat je hoort is een bizarre (maar geslaagde) soundtrack die wellicht op een speelgoedsynthesizer is gecomponeerd. Cult van de bovenste plank! 

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)