tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

ROB VAN EYCK

The Afterman

MovieCult movies
CultSexploitation

[55/100]   

Zeno Pictures
28/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Can someone tell me what’s going on with these film critics? I mean, saying that Erik Van Looy who paved all ways for the contemporary Flemish cinema is really too much to take. Have these gentleman never heard the name from Rob Van Eyck: the rebel from Zichem? I guess not and if they do, they’re probably too narrow minded to give him any credits. Nah good, this director always has been excluded from the hall of fame that is created by film critics. Not that he cares. He can claim that he was the first film maker who was able to sell a Belgian movie to more than 30 countries. In Japan alone, there was a pressing from 600.000 videotapes from this cult gem.

You don’t need to order a ticket to go the country of the rising sun as the Belgian company Zeno Pictures has released this cult classic. You don’t understand one word of Flemish, you say? No problem either as there isn’t one world of dialogue included in here.

The story is set somewhere in this world (probably his hometown) after the atom bomb has fallen. A disturbed mature guy (Jacques Verbiest) has lived isolated in a bunker. After having sex with hisdead mother in the morgue (according to Van Eyck, this is a reference to Oedipus) he enters the wide world and meets a very pretty lady (Franka Ravet) who is tortured and violated by her boss as a slave. The two run away together.

It’s funny, but nothing happens in this movie, apart from some torture and of course lots of seks. And yet, how limited the story line is, you can say that Van Eyck created a real cult classic that can be compared to Mad Max (but without an annoying Mel Gibson and definitely more X-rated scenes!).

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


NL

Wat is er toch aan de hand met die filmjournalisten? Ik bedoel, beweren dat Erik Van Looy het pad heeft geëffend voor andere Vlaamse cinema? Hebben deze heren nog nooit gehoord van Rob Van Eyck: de rebel uit Zichem? Nu goed, waarschijnlijk hebben ze dat niet en als ze de naam kennen dan vertikken ze het gewoon om er iets over neer te pennen. Rob Van Eyck is immers nooit een graag geziene gast geweest binnenin de filmkritiek. Zelf mag hij er in ieder geval trots op zijn dat in tijden dat Vlaamse regisseurs zich alleen maar om Stijn Streuvels bekommerden, hij de eerste was die een Belgische film in Cannes aan meer dan 30 landen konden verkopen. In Japan alleen werden er 600.000 videotapes van deze cultklassieker gemaakt.

Je moet echter geen ticket naar het land van de rijzende zon bestellen om de klassieker in huis te halen, want hij is tevens te vinden op het Belgische Zeno Pictures op dvd. Het verhaal speelt zich af ergens op de wereld (wellicht een veld in Scherpenheuvel) nadat de atoombom is gevallen. Een gestoorde volwassen kerel (Jacques Verbiest) leefde jarenlang afgezonderd in een bunker. Na eerst seks te hebben gehad met zijn overleden moeder in het lijkenhuisje (volgens van Eyck een verwijzing naar Oedipus) betreedt de eenzaat de wijde wereld. Hij ontmoet gauw een zeer mooi meisje (Franka Ravet) die als slavin door een bruut wordt verkracht en vernederd. De twee vluchten samen weg.

Eigenlijk gebeurt er niets in deze film, behalve een heleboel neukpartijen. En toch is Van Eyck erin geslaagd om een geslaagde apocalyptische film neer te zetten. De film bevat geen dialogen, het enige wat je hoort is een bizarre (maar geslaagde) soundtrack die wellicht op een speelgoedsynthesizer is gecomponeerd. Cult van de bovenste plank! 

Didier BECU
28/10/2014


28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman 28/10/2014 : ROB VAN EYCK - The Afterman

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi