tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROBBING MILLIONS - Robbing Millions

ROBBING MILLIONS

Robbing Millions

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A debut does everything, it's the moment a band stands or falls, and in the case of the Brussels band Robbing Millions it is definitely the latter. People who are around in the Belgian underground might already see this psychedelic band or heard the EP’s Ages and Sun and Lonely Carnivore. With the first record, however, the band wanted to reach the highest goals. As psychedelic indie pop is doing well these days, it seemed like a good idea to work with producer Nicolas Vernhes who previously was involved with Animal Collective, Deerhunter and Dirty Projectors.

If you’re talking about psychedelic pop these days, you can’t avoid the name Tame Impala. Songs like 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most comes close to the sound of these popular Australians, although Robbing Millions are no copycats who are jumping on this hit train.

The first album by Robbing Millions sounds extremely varied, even be a tad experimental at times (Tupperware or Inspector) and you’ll notice in those songs that frontman Lucien Fraipont is a well trained jazz musician. Sometimes it's bombastic as in the addictive opener WIAGW on which the loud guitars are doing afterhours.

Robbing Millions makes indie pop, but with a very own sound. We are willing to bet a lot of money that this band will make it.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een debuut doet alles, het is het moment waarmee je als band valt of staat en in het geval van de Brusselaars Robbing Millions is dat absoluut het laatste. Wie in de underground vertoeft heeft zeker deze psychedelische band al eens aan het werk gezien of hun ep’s Ages and Sun en Lonely Carnivore gehoord. Met deze eerste plaat wordt echter zeer hoog gemikt. Psychedelische indiepop doet het goed en dus bleek het een opportuun idee om met producer Nicolas Vernhes te werken die eerder al met Animal Collective, Deerhunter en Dirty Projectors werkte.

Wie het tegenwoordig over luchtige psychedelische pop heeft, kan dat niet zonder de naam Tame Impala in de mond te nemen. Songs zoals 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most leunt dan ook dicht aan bij het geluid van de populaire Australiërs, hoewel Robbing Millions geenszins copycats zijn die op deze hittrein springen.

De eerste van Robbing Millions klinkt uiterst gevarieerd, en het mag zelfs een tikkeltje experimenteel (Tupperware of Inspector) waardoor duidelijk aangetoond dat frontman Lucien Fraipont een getrainde jazzmuzikant is. Soms is het gewoon lekker bombastisch zoals de verslavende opener WIAGW waarop de luide gitaren overuren maken.

Robbing Millions maakt indiepop, maar met een flinke hoek af. Wij wedden er in ieder geval heel wat geld op dat deze Brusselaars het zeer ver zullen schoppen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)