tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROBBING MILLIONS - Robbing Millions

ROBBING MILLIONS

Robbing Millions

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A debut does everything, it's the moment a band stands or falls, and in the case of the Brussels band Robbing Millions it is definitely the latter. People who are around in the Belgian underground might already see this psychedelic band or heard the EP’s Ages and Sun and Lonely Carnivore. With the first record, however, the band wanted to reach the highest goals. As psychedelic indie pop is doing well these days, it seemed like a good idea to work with producer Nicolas Vernhes who previously was involved with Animal Collective, Deerhunter and Dirty Projectors.

If you’re talking about psychedelic pop these days, you can’t avoid the name Tame Impala. Songs like 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most comes close to the sound of these popular Australians, although Robbing Millions are no copycats who are jumping on this hit train.

The first album by Robbing Millions sounds extremely varied, even be a tad experimental at times (Tupperware or Inspector) and you’ll notice in those songs that frontman Lucien Fraipont is a well trained jazz musician. Sometimes it's bombastic as in the addictive opener WIAGW on which the loud guitars are doing afterhours.

Robbing Millions makes indie pop, but with a very own sound. We are willing to bet a lot of money that this band will make it.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een debuut doet alles, het is het moment waarmee je als band valt of staat en in het geval van de Brusselaars Robbing Millions is dat absoluut het laatste. Wie in de underground vertoeft heeft zeker deze psychedelische band al eens aan het werk gezien of hun ep’s Ages and Sun en Lonely Carnivore gehoord. Met deze eerste plaat wordt echter zeer hoog gemikt. Psychedelische indiepop doet het goed en dus bleek het een opportuun idee om met producer Nicolas Vernhes te werken die eerder al met Animal Collective, Deerhunter en Dirty Projectors werkte.

Wie het tegenwoordig over luchtige psychedelische pop heeft, kan dat niet zonder de naam Tame Impala in de mond te nemen. Songs zoals 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most leunt dan ook dicht aan bij het geluid van de populaire Australiërs, hoewel Robbing Millions geenszins copycats zijn die op deze hittrein springen.

De eerste van Robbing Millions klinkt uiterst gevarieerd, en het mag zelfs een tikkeltje experimenteel (Tupperware of Inspector) waardoor duidelijk aangetoond dat frontman Lucien Fraipont een getrainde jazzmuzikant is. Soms is het gewoon lekker bombastisch zoals de verslavende opener WIAGW waarop de luide gitaren overuren maken.

Robbing Millions maakt indiepop, maar met een flinke hoek af. Wij wedden er in ieder geval heel wat geld op dat deze Brusselaars het zeer ver zullen schoppen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination