tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROBBING MILLIONS - Robbing Millions

ROBBING MILLIONS

Robbing Millions

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A debut does everything, it's the moment a band stands or falls, and in the case of the Brussels band Robbing Millions it is definitely the latter. People who are around in the Belgian underground might already see this psychedelic band or heard the EP’s Ages and Sun and Lonely Carnivore. With the first record, however, the band wanted to reach the highest goals. As psychedelic indie pop is doing well these days, it seemed like a good idea to work with producer Nicolas Vernhes who previously was involved with Animal Collective, Deerhunter and Dirty Projectors.

If you’re talking about psychedelic pop these days, you can’t avoid the name Tame Impala. Songs like 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most comes close to the sound of these popular Australians, although Robbing Millions are no copycats who are jumping on this hit train.

The first album by Robbing Millions sounds extremely varied, even be a tad experimental at times (Tupperware or Inspector) and you’ll notice in those songs that frontman Lucien Fraipont is a well trained jazz musician. Sometimes it's bombastic as in the addictive opener WIAGW on which the loud guitars are doing afterhours.

Robbing Millions makes indie pop, but with a very own sound. We are willing to bet a lot of money that this band will make it.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een debuut doet alles, het is het moment waarmee je als band valt of staat en in het geval van de Brusselaars Robbing Millions is dat absoluut het laatste. Wie in de underground vertoeft heeft zeker deze psychedelische band al eens aan het werk gezien of hun ep’s Ages and Sun en Lonely Carnivore gehoord. Met deze eerste plaat wordt echter zeer hoog gemikt. Psychedelische indiepop doet het goed en dus bleek het een opportuun idee om met producer Nicolas Vernhes te werken die eerder al met Animal Collective, Deerhunter en Dirty Projectors werkte.

Wie het tegenwoordig over luchtige psychedelische pop heeft, kan dat niet zonder de naam Tame Impala in de mond te nemen. Songs zoals 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most leunt dan ook dicht aan bij het geluid van de populaire Australiërs, hoewel Robbing Millions geenszins copycats zijn die op deze hittrein springen.

De eerste van Robbing Millions klinkt uiterst gevarieerd, en het mag zelfs een tikkeltje experimenteel (Tupperware of Inspector) waardoor duidelijk aangetoond dat frontman Lucien Fraipont een getrainde jazzmuzikant is. Soms is het gewoon lekker bombastisch zoals de verslavende opener WIAGW waarop de luide gitaren overuren maken.

Robbing Millions maakt indiepop, maar met een flinke hoek af. Wij wedden er in ieder geval heel wat geld op dat deze Brusselaars het zeer ver zullen schoppen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith