tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROBBING MILLIONS - Robbing Millions

ROBBING MILLIONS

Robbing Millions

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A debut does everything, it's the moment a band stands or falls, and in the case of the Brussels band Robbing Millions it is definitely the latter. People who are around in the Belgian underground might already see this psychedelic band or heard the EP’s Ages and Sun and Lonely Carnivore. With the first record, however, the band wanted to reach the highest goals. As psychedelic indie pop is doing well these days, it seemed like a good idea to work with producer Nicolas Vernhes who previously was involved with Animal Collective, Deerhunter and Dirty Projectors.

If you’re talking about psychedelic pop these days, you can’t avoid the name Tame Impala. Songs like 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most comes close to the sound of these popular Australians, although Robbing Millions are no copycats who are jumping on this hit train.

The first album by Robbing Millions sounds extremely varied, even be a tad experimental at times (Tupperware or Inspector) and you’ll notice in those songs that frontman Lucien Fraipont is a well trained jazz musician. Sometimes it's bombastic as in the addictive opener WIAGW on which the loud guitars are doing afterhours.

Robbing Millions makes indie pop, but with a very own sound. We are willing to bet a lot of money that this band will make it.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een debuut doet alles, het is het moment waarmee je als band valt of staat en in het geval van de Brusselaars Robbing Millions is dat absoluut het laatste. Wie in de underground vertoeft heeft zeker deze psychedelische band al eens aan het werk gezien of hun ep’s Ages and Sun en Lonely Carnivore gehoord. Met deze eerste plaat wordt echter zeer hoog gemikt. Psychedelische indiepop doet het goed en dus bleek het een opportuun idee om met producer Nicolas Vernhes te werken die eerder al met Animal Collective, Deerhunter en Dirty Projectors werkte.

Wie het tegenwoordig over luchtige psychedelische pop heeft, kan dat niet zonder de naam Tame Impala in de mond te nemen. Songs zoals 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most leunt dan ook dicht aan bij het geluid van de populaire Australiërs, hoewel Robbing Millions geenszins copycats zijn die op deze hittrein springen.

De eerste van Robbing Millions klinkt uiterst gevarieerd, en het mag zelfs een tikkeltje experimenteel (Tupperware of Inspector) waardoor duidelijk aangetoond dat frontman Lucien Fraipont een getrainde jazzmuzikant is. Soms is het gewoon lekker bombastisch zoals de verslavende opener WIAGW waarop de luide gitaren overuren maken.

Robbing Millions maakt indiepop, maar met een flinke hoek af. Wij wedden er in ieder geval heel wat geld op dat deze Brusselaars het zeer ver zullen schoppen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO