tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROBBING MILLIONS - Robbing Millions

ROBBING MILLIONS

Robbing Millions

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A debut does everything, it's the moment a band stands or falls, and in the case of the Brussels band Robbing Millions it is definitely the latter. People who are around in the Belgian underground might already see this psychedelic band or heard the EP’s Ages and Sun and Lonely Carnivore. With the first record, however, the band wanted to reach the highest goals. As psychedelic indie pop is doing well these days, it seemed like a good idea to work with producer Nicolas Vernhes who previously was involved with Animal Collective, Deerhunter and Dirty Projectors.

If you’re talking about psychedelic pop these days, you can’t avoid the name Tame Impala. Songs like 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most comes close to the sound of these popular Australians, although Robbing Millions are no copycats who are jumping on this hit train.

The first album by Robbing Millions sounds extremely varied, even be a tad experimental at times (Tupperware or Inspector) and you’ll notice in those songs that frontman Lucien Fraipont is a well trained jazz musician. Sometimes it's bombastic as in the addictive opener WIAGW on which the loud guitars are doing afterhours.

Robbing Millions makes indie pop, but with a very own sound. We are willing to bet a lot of money that this band will make it.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een debuut doet alles, het is het moment waarmee je als band valt of staat en in het geval van de Brusselaars Robbing Millions is dat absoluut het laatste. Wie in de underground vertoeft heeft zeker deze psychedelische band al eens aan het werk gezien of hun ep’s Ages and Sun en Lonely Carnivore gehoord. Met deze eerste plaat wordt echter zeer hoog gemikt. Psychedelische indiepop doet het goed en dus bleek het een opportuun idee om met producer Nicolas Vernhes te werken die eerder al met Animal Collective, Deerhunter en Dirty Projectors werkte.

Wie het tegenwoordig over luchtige psychedelische pop heeft, kan dat niet zonder de naam Tame Impala in de mond te nemen. Songs zoals 8 Is The Figure That I Like Most leunt dan ook dicht aan bij het geluid van de populaire Australiërs, hoewel Robbing Millions geenszins copycats zijn die op deze hittrein springen.

De eerste van Robbing Millions klinkt uiterst gevarieerd, en het mag zelfs een tikkeltje experimenteel (Tupperware of Inspector) waardoor duidelijk aangetoond dat frontman Lucien Fraipont een getrainde jazzmuzikant is. Soms is het gewoon lekker bombastisch zoals de verslavende opener WIAGW waarop de luide gitaren overuren maken.

Robbing Millions maakt indiepop, maar met een flinke hoek af. Wij wedden er in ieder geval heel wat geld op dat deze Brusselaars het zeer ver zullen schoppen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis