tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2015 : ROBERT FORSTER - Songs To Play

ROBERT FORSTER

Songs To Play

MusicCD
IndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Tapete Records
18/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Go Between founder Robert Forster's solo albums have always had a distance between each other, both in waiting times and execution. From 1990's brooding beautiful Danger in the Past up to the mid-'90s oft-forgotten Warm Nights, Forster was a regular fixture on listening posts in record stores, yet never far from another album with his beloved (and much missed) songwriting partner Grant McLennan. After his friend's passing in 2006, Forster's only headlining committal to any musical format was The Evangelist which featured a few joint compositions the equal of any Go Betweens album.

It's hard to draw a line under Brisbane's finest ever pop ensemble but Forster may have done just that with this superb first set for German indie Tapete who, it must be said, seem hellbent on rounding up the world's greatest songwriters. It's certainly been worth the wait.

Recorded at a simple acoustic studio in the foothills near his Brisbane home, Songs to Play is a melodic affair that is by turns simplistic without being one-dimensional, immersive without being self-indulgent and is an absolute pleasure to sit through. It rocks without resorting to rocking out - Let Me Imagine You is as gloriously expressive as it gets, while I'm So Happy For You bears all the arch observational hallmarks of classic Forster.

Love Is Where It Is starts a little like Spooky before shuffling sweetly into a bossa nova cum lounge piece while I Love Myself (And I Always Have) possesses an element of humour missing from so many singer-songwriter records these days. Props must go to the band of musicians assembled here but at Songs To Play's core is Forster's beating heart which, at this rate, shows little sign of missing a creative beat.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
18/09/2015


 

Next reviews
S4 • Cold Duck
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
JAMES MCBAIN • Nephilim/Raven (7inch)
DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD • Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015
SINEAD O'CONNOR • The Foggy Dew
ISBELLS • Billy
ROSE MCDOWALL • Cut With The Cake Knife
FICTION 8 • Dark Star Disarray
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?