tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2015 : ROBERT FORSTER - Songs To Play

ROBERT FORSTER

Songs To Play

MusicCD
IndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Tapete Records
18/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Go Between founder Robert Forster's solo albums have always had a distance between each other, both in waiting times and execution. From 1990's brooding beautiful Danger in the Past up to the mid-'90s oft-forgotten Warm Nights, Forster was a regular fixture on listening posts in record stores, yet never far from another album with his beloved (and much missed) songwriting partner Grant McLennan. After his friend's passing in 2006, Forster's only headlining committal to any musical format was The Evangelist which featured a few joint compositions the equal of any Go Betweens album.

It's hard to draw a line under Brisbane's finest ever pop ensemble but Forster may have done just that with this superb first set for German indie Tapete who, it must be said, seem hellbent on rounding up the world's greatest songwriters. It's certainly been worth the wait.

Recorded at a simple acoustic studio in the foothills near his Brisbane home, Songs to Play is a melodic affair that is by turns simplistic without being one-dimensional, immersive without being self-indulgent and is an absolute pleasure to sit through. It rocks without resorting to rocking out - Let Me Imagine You is as gloriously expressive as it gets, while I'm So Happy For You bears all the arch observational hallmarks of classic Forster.

Love Is Where It Is starts a little like Spooky before shuffling sweetly into a bossa nova cum lounge piece while I Love Myself (And I Always Have) possesses an element of humour missing from so many singer-songwriter records these days. Props must go to the band of musicians assembled here but at Songs To Play's core is Forster's beating heart which, at this rate, shows little sign of missing a creative beat.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
18/09/2015


 

Next reviews
S4 • Cold Duck
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
JAMES MCBAIN • Nephilim/Raven (7inch)
DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD • Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015
SINEAD O'CONNOR • The Foggy Dew
ISBELLS • Billy
ROSE MCDOWALL • Cut With The Cake Knife
FICTION 8 • Dark Star Disarray
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)