tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter

RON KRAUSS

Gimme Shelter

Movie
Coming Of Age

[63/100]   

SONY SPHE
21/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This time we’re not talking about the legendary rock documentary about The Rolling Stones, but the touching drama by Ron Krauss. A movie that has been neglected over here and now gets a second change on DVD.

Gimme Shelter is the portrait of pregnant teen Agnes "Apple" Bailey (Vanessa Hudgens) who was an unwanted child herself. From the day she was born, Apple was dropped from one foster family to the other. She can’t find shelter (hence the tile!) by her schizophrenic mother (Rosario Dawson) who only cares about her own drugs. For her father (Brendan Fraser) who is now a successful businessman things don’t work either as he doesn’t like to be reminded of his dark past. No one wants Apple, and that counts for her baby too as everyone advises her to abort the child. The teen mother refuses and in the end she arrives in a shelter house, a place where everything seem to work this time.

The subject of course is a mellow matter, but the current American situation isn’t, as poverty is still part of this unfaithful world. Director Krauss tries to touch our emotions, but it never gets annoying. That is without any doubt due to the excellent performance by Vanessa Hudgens. Since her remarkable role in Spring Breakers from new film wonder Harmony Korine we all know that the former Disney-star said farewell to her High School Musical-days. For once Brendan Fraser is not the irritating twat he usually is, while Rosario Dawson once again proves that she’s one of the most underrated actresses ever.

So yes, you better give Gimme Shelter a chance. The movie is now out on DVD on Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
21/08/2014


NL

We hebben het deze keer niet over de legendarische rockdocumentaire over The Rolling Stones, wel het aangrijpende drama van Ron Krauss dat in Europa over het hoofd werd gezien en nu op de dvd-markt een tweede kans krijgt.

Gimme Shelter schetst het relaas van de zwangere tienermoeder Agnes "Apple" Bailey (Vanessa Hudgens) die zelf een ongelukje was. Het meisje werd van kindsbeen af van het ene naar het andere pleeggezin gedropt. Bij haar schizofrene moeder (Rosario Dawson) kan zij niet terecht, want die bekommert zich meer om haar drugs. Bij haar vader (Brendan Fraser) lukt het al evenmin, deze geslaagde zakenman wordt namelijk liever niet aan zijn duister verleden herinnert. Niemand wil Apple, en dat geldt ook voor haar kindje. Iedereen raadt haar een abortus aan, maar dat wil de tienermoeder niet. Uiteindelijk komt ze in een opvangcentrum terecht waar het wel blijkt te lukken.

Het onderwerp blijft natuurlijk verschrikkelijk melig, ook al is de schrijnende sociale situatie in Amerika dat niet. Regisseur Krauss beroept zich wel regelmatig op de gevoelens van de kijker, maar het wordt nooit storend en dat is vooral de verdienste van Vanessa Hudgens die hier een ijzersterke rol neerzet. Sinds haar opmerkelijke rol in Spring Breakers van wonderkind Harmony Korine weet iedereen dat het gewezen Disney-sterretje de dagen van High School Musical al lang achter zich heeft gelaten. Brendan Fraser is voor één keer niet de irriterende kwal die hij meestal is, terwijl Rosario Dawson nog maar eens bewijst dat ze één van ’s werelds meest onderschatte actrices is.

Dus jawel, geef Gimme Shelter misschien toch maar eens een kans. Nu uit op Sony SPHE op dvd.

Didier BECU
21/08/2014


21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter 21/08/2014 : RON KRAUSS - Gimme Shelter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper