tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life!

RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX)

Ten albums that changed my life!

Article
30/06/2015, Didier BECU

Peek-A-Boo wants to know which records influenced our heroes. This time Ronny Moorings, the brainchild of Clan Of Xymox is on our couch revealing us his favorite ten records of all time.

1 Jimi Hendrix -Electric Ladyland 1968
I got blown away by his album Electric Ladyland and just loved what he did with his guitar. The use of distortion was something totally new in those days. He was a pioneer. He inspired me to learn how to play guitar.

2.Shocking Blue- Greatest Hits 1973
The very first Dutch band which impressed me with their songs when I was a kid. I wanted to play guitar in a band and my sister wanted to be the singer like Mariska Verus

3. Pink Floyd- The Dark Side Of The Moon 1973
The soundscapes created with synthesizers and sound collages impressed me so much that I wanted to have and play a synthesizer as well. It took me years to get my first one though as they were very expensive back in the days.

4. Led Zeppelin- Houses Of The Holy 1973
I liked the acoustic songs and direction they took. With No Quarter as my absolute favorite. Keyboards and guitars in perfect harmony.

5. David Bowie & Brian Eno - Low 1977
Brian Eno's use of synthesizers and the dark mood he created with it impressed me totally. The B side of Low is the best example and one of the best works of Eno is Warzawa.

6. Joy Division- Closer 1980
The most gloomy record I ever encountered in those days. Simply a masterpiece. Sadly Ian Curtis took his own life 2 months before its release. This fact had even more impact on the listener.

7. U2-Boy 1980
The sound of this album was to me so refreshing. The use of the Edge's guitar delay was unheard then. At the time not too many people had heard of this band and I actually saw them live in Arnhem playing for roughly 400 people. The blew me away!


8. The Sisters Of Mercy- First Last and Always 1985
The Sisters of Mercy at its finest. Wayne Hussey uses a strong sense of melody through the album that contrasts beautifully with the drum machine used. On top of it lies the deep voice of Andrew Eldritch.

9. The Cure-Disintegration 1989
I was already a Cure fan for a long time but I think this album is their absolute peak. From the beginning to the end a masterpiece. Unfortunately never surpassed by them.

10. Depeche Mode - Violator 1990
To me the best album they made. Really refreshing for the early 90's. At that time a lot of bands were searching for a new sound and I think they hit the nail on the head with their sixth album.
.
I could continue for a while with releases which made an impact on me. Most likely it would be a top 100 up to the here and now. I have put the albums above in a timeline instead by favorite placing.
There is so much good music around that it is always difficult to make a choice. The above bands I know influenced me and my musical taste. This process will never stop as long as you listen to music.

Didier BECU
30/06/2015


30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life!

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
07
1 year Rüdiger Frank of Printed At Bismarck's Death and The Tors Of Dartmoor passed away...
11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
07
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
12
07
LAURIE ANDERSON
O Superman
11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life