tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life!

RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX)

Ten albums that changed my life!

Article
30/06/2015, Didier BECU

Peek-A-Boo wants to know which records influenced our heroes. This time Ronny Moorings, the brainchild of Clan Of Xymox is on our couch revealing us his favorite ten records of all time.

1 Jimi Hendrix -Electric Ladyland 1968
I got blown away by his album Electric Ladyland and just loved what he did with his guitar. The use of distortion was something totally new in those days. He was a pioneer. He inspired me to learn how to play guitar.

2.Shocking Blue- Greatest Hits 1973
The very first Dutch band which impressed me with their songs when I was a kid. I wanted to play guitar in a band and my sister wanted to be the singer like Mariska Verus

3. Pink Floyd- The Dark Side Of The Moon 1973
The soundscapes created with synthesizers and sound collages impressed me so much that I wanted to have and play a synthesizer as well. It took me years to get my first one though as they were very expensive back in the days.

4. Led Zeppelin- Houses Of The Holy 1973
I liked the acoustic songs and direction they took. With No Quarter as my absolute favorite. Keyboards and guitars in perfect harmony.

5. David Bowie & Brian Eno - Low 1977
Brian Eno's use of synthesizers and the dark mood he created with it impressed me totally. The B side of Low is the best example and one of the best works of Eno is Warzawa.

6. Joy Division- Closer 1980
The most gloomy record I ever encountered in those days. Simply a masterpiece. Sadly Ian Curtis took his own life 2 months before its release. This fact had even more impact on the listener.

7. U2-Boy 1980
The sound of this album was to me so refreshing. The use of the Edge's guitar delay was unheard then. At the time not too many people had heard of this band and I actually saw them live in Arnhem playing for roughly 400 people. The blew me away!


8. The Sisters Of Mercy- First Last and Always 1985
The Sisters of Mercy at its finest. Wayne Hussey uses a strong sense of melody through the album that contrasts beautifully with the drum machine used. On top of it lies the deep voice of Andrew Eldritch.

9. The Cure-Disintegration 1989
I was already a Cure fan for a long time but I think this album is their absolute peak. From the beginning to the end a masterpiece. Unfortunately never surpassed by them.

10. Depeche Mode - Violator 1990
To me the best album they made. Really refreshing for the early 90's. At that time a lot of bands were searching for a new sound and I think they hit the nail on the head with their sixth album.
.
I could continue for a while with releases which made an impact on me. Most likely it would be a top 100 up to the here and now. I have put the albums above in a timeline instead by favorite placing.
There is so much good music around that it is always difficult to make a choice. The above bands I know influenced me and my musical taste. This process will never stop as long as you listen to music.

Didier BECU
30/06/2015


30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life! 30/06/2015 : RONNY MOORINGS (CLAN OF XYMOX) - Ten albums that changed my life!

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold