tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

15/02/2014 : ROOIE WAAS - NU

ROOIE WAAS

NU

MusicVinyl
Avant-gardeElectro PopExperimentalMinimal

[80/100]   

Blowpipe Records
15/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

With screaming synths, thumping drums and nifty poetry Rooie Waas engaged themselves in surveying the boundaries between different genres of music and the limits of music itself.

So far the Facebook intro...

I'm since their start fans of Aroma di Amore and what these people do is somehow in the same line, anno 2014! The electronics are updated, the lyrics are crazy, just as the sound. This is modern minimal wave versus experimental hip hop and electronics. The tempo is a bit slow, but if you see the bigger deal about it... you are getting engaged into their nice pieces of art. I love the vocals; they are raw and whispering, but sound so true... Ok, they sing in their mother language but I think that their sound goes beyond the border of Belgium and the Netherlands...

Song like 'Nu is nu', 'Doe niet zo moeilijk!', 'Raar' (is a nice duet, love the sexy sound of it and the funky lyrics), 'Hoppa' (more tribal minded or should I say trip hop minded with nice electro and industrial influences?), 'Ja Nee' and 'Wat is dit nu weer?' (nice tribal sound)... will haunt my head, for sure!

It was fun listening to something else!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
15/02/2014


 

Next reviews
BRIAN C. WEED • Bloody Homecoming
JON COSTELLO • Autotron EP
TERRENCE MALICK • To the wonder
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wrapped By Bats
CONTRE JOUR • Abîme
XMH • In Your Face
TINTO BRASS • Cheeky
DON SIEGEL • The Killers
FAUNLET • Fauna of the heart, Flora from beyond
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)