tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/01/2013 : ROSA†CRVX - Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013

ROSA†CRVX

Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013

Concert
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMartialMedieval

[90/100]   
23/01/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Created in the 80s by Olivier Tarabo and Claude Fenny in Rouen, ROSA†CRVX has become a cult band. Its music is unique, a cross-over of medieval and tribal sounds, combined with mysterious and hermetic lyrics. On January 19th, the band gave a concert at the Methuselah's Ball in the 'Theâtre des Deux Gares' in Brussels.

Having already seen ROSA†CRVX several times, including a memorable concert in the Eglise Sainte Croix des Pelletiers in Rouen, we were eager to see the band playing in a more intimate setting. Despite the relative smallness of the stage, all the equipment was there, including the carillon of eight bells, the organ and the automated drums (BAM). Better still: we found elements of the decor of the crypt where the band organizes its parties in Rouen.

From the first notes of "Vielles", the instrumental that opened the concert, a unique atmosphere, as only ROSA†CRVX can create, moved into the theater. The drums echoed the incisive guitar chords, which sounded like a bagpipe. We felt as if immersed in a dark ceremony, illuminated by dozens of candles. With "Invocation", the voices, Claude Fenny's organ and Antoine Boyer's 5 string electric bass entered the dance, while Vincent Kreyder supported the BAM rhythm with powerful percussion. As usual during this song, two of the three choir singers, Marianne Lachaux and Juliette Bates (the third being Caroline Delavault), came to the forefront to draw arabesques with their large flags, forcing the audience to back up a bit.

The intensity remained during "Adorasti", a composition which particularly highlights the exceptional voice of Olivier Tarabo. Always powerful on the verge of tearing, it evokes Gavin Friday (Virgin Prunes), but with a more devilish tone. At times, it sounds like incantations done by American Indians. Then it's "In Tenebris" with its beautiful piano riff and "Terribilis", which resonates to the beautiful sound of chime bells. Note that the band itself that melted the bells and built the carillon, a sign of craftmanship and authenticity.

The show is completed with very 'dark' videos of catacombs, crosses, demons or skulls. Like a Grand Inquisitor, Olivier Tarabo carefully cares for all the details of the show, coming and going between the microphone and the installation at the rear of the stage. After the threatening song "Hel-Hel", ROSA†CRVX played three new songs, "Tonitrvi", "Venite" and "Ante-A", which sounded impressive! The old songs "Aglon", "Moritvri" and "Svrsvm Corda" benefit from the band's coninuous efforts to improve the sound of their instruments and the production in general.

After "Miséricorde, "Noctes Insomnes" and "Proficere", came the long awaited moment: La Danse de la Terre (Earth Song,) the band's most impressive performance. Accompanied by the heavy rhythms and tribal sounds of "Eli-Elo", the two dancers, Marianne Lachaux and Juliette Bates, naked and covered with mud, began their mysterious choreography. Kneeling on a small podium in the middle of the audience, they took the dust in a tray in front of them and threw it at themselves with coordinated and repetitive movements. The clay and the dust were spinning around and spreading like an opaque cloud. This sacrificial ritual shows the suffering of the human body, fighting in vain against dust and ashes, to which it will sooner or later return. The performance is of a rare intensity, and leaves the audience petrified and in awe. Look at this unique moment in the video here:

After experiencing such a climax, we looked, fascinated, at the last part of the concert, which included the majestic "Omnes Qvi Descendvnt" and the mysterious "Vil". During the encore, ROSA†CRVX played "Ab Irato", "Incendere" and a fourth new title: "Nescit Nox".

It's clear: a ROSA†CRVX concert is a unique experience. The evocative power of the music and of the performances is such that the audience is mesmerized by the mystical depth of the concert. It's like a black mass in the dark days of the Middle Ages. A mystical ritual devoted to our human condition.

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

After the concert, Olivier Tarabo gave us an interview. Read and listen to it here.

Congratulations to Alter Onyros (http://www.alteronyros.eu) for the organization!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
23/01/2013


 

Next reviews
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals
COMBAT VOICE • Chaotic Universe
7JK • Anthems Flesh
JONTEKNIK • Giants Under The Microscope
TRAKKTOR • Halo Of Lies

 

Other reviews from ROSA†CRVX
ROSA†CRVX • Live in Thoix (Dark Ritual Night IV) & Lisse (Castlefest)
ROSA†CRVX • Support: Keltia | Mons, On Air Studios | 08/07/2011

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper