tempobet yeni adresi

23/01/2013 : ROSA†CRVX - Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013

ROSA†CRVX

Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013

Concert
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMartialMedieval

[90/100]   
23/01/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Created in the 80s by Olivier Tarabo and Claude Fenny in Rouen, ROSA†CRVX has become a cult band. Its music is unique, a cross-over of medieval and tribal sounds, combined with mysterious and hermetic lyrics. On January 19th, the band gave a concert at the Methuselah's Ball in the 'Theâtre des Deux Gares' in Brussels.

Having already seen ROSA†CRVX several times, including a memorable concert in the Eglise Sainte Croix des Pelletiers in Rouen, we were eager to see the band playing in a more intimate setting. Despite the relative smallness of the stage, all the equipment was there, including the carillon of eight bells, the organ and the automated drums (BAM). Better still: we found elements of the decor of the crypt where the band organizes its parties in Rouen.

From the first notes of "Vielles", the instrumental that opened the concert, a unique atmosphere, as only ROSA†CRVX can create, moved into the theater. The drums echoed the incisive guitar chords, which sounded like a bagpipe. We felt as if immersed in a dark ceremony, illuminated by dozens of candles. With "Invocation", the voices, Claude Fenny's organ and Antoine Boyer's 5 string electric bass entered the dance, while Vincent Kreyder supported the BAM rhythm with powerful percussion. As usual during this song, two of the three choir singers, Marianne Lachaux and Juliette Bates (the third being Caroline Delavault), came to the forefront to draw arabesques with their large flags, forcing the audience to back up a bit.

The intensity remained during "Adorasti", a composition which particularly highlights the exceptional voice of Olivier Tarabo. Always powerful on the verge of tearing, it evokes Gavin Friday (Virgin Prunes), but with a more devilish tone. At times, it sounds like incantations done by American Indians. Then it's "In Tenebris" with its beautiful piano riff and "Terribilis", which resonates to the beautiful sound of chime bells. Note that the band itself that melted the bells and built the carillon, a sign of craftmanship and authenticity.

The show is completed with very 'dark' videos of catacombs, crosses, demons or skulls. Like a Grand Inquisitor, Olivier Tarabo carefully cares for all the details of the show, coming and going between the microphone and the installation at the rear of the stage. After the threatening song "Hel-Hel", ROSA†CRVX played three new songs, "Tonitrvi", "Venite" and "Ante-A", which sounded impressive! The old songs "Aglon", "Moritvri" and "Svrsvm Corda" benefit from the band's coninuous efforts to improve the sound of their instruments and the production in general.

After "Miséricorde, "Noctes Insomnes" and "Proficere", came the long awaited moment: La Danse de la Terre (Earth Song,) the band's most impressive performance. Accompanied by the heavy rhythms and tribal sounds of "Eli-Elo", the two dancers, Marianne Lachaux and Juliette Bates, naked and covered with mud, began their mysterious choreography. Kneeling on a small podium in the middle of the audience, they took the dust in a tray in front of them and threw it at themselves with coordinated and repetitive movements. The clay and the dust were spinning around and spreading like an opaque cloud. This sacrificial ritual shows the suffering of the human body, fighting in vain against dust and ashes, to which it will sooner or later return. The performance is of a rare intensity, and leaves the audience petrified and in awe. Look at this unique moment in the video here:

After experiencing such a climax, we looked, fascinated, at the last part of the concert, which included the majestic "Omnes Qvi Descendvnt" and the mysterious "Vil". During the encore, ROSA†CRVX played "Ab Irato", "Incendere" and a fourth new title: "Nescit Nox".

It's clear: a ROSA†CRVX concert is a unique experience. The evocative power of the music and of the performances is such that the audience is mesmerized by the mystical depth of the concert. It's like a black mass in the dark days of the Middle Ages. A mystical ritual devoted to our human condition.

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

After the concert, Olivier Tarabo gave us an interview. Read and listen to it here.

Congratulations to Alter Onyros (http://www.alteronyros.eu) for the organization!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
23/01/2013


 

Next reviews
CLOCKWORK ORCHESTRA • Friends without names
EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ • El Gringo
BETRAYAL AT BESPIN • Rains
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
JOACHIM LAFOSSE • A Peirdre La Raison
SOFT METALS • Soft Metals
COMBAT VOICE • Chaotic Universe
7JK • Anthems Flesh
JONTEKNIK • Giants Under The Microscope
TRAKKTOR • Halo Of Lies

 

Other reviews from ROSA†CRVX
ROSA†CRVX • Live in Thoix (Dark Ritual Night IV) & Lisse (Castlefest)
ROSA†CRVX • Support: Keltia | Mons, On Air Studios | 08/07/2011

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'
19
07
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA / SPECTRA*PARIS)
I can in total freedom listen to Joy Division, SPK, Muse and Britney Spears...

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted
11
08
INORI
we pray all nukes will eternally disappear from the world.
10
08
GARBAGE
No Horses
09
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed