tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/07/2011 : ROSA†CRVX - Support: Keltia | Mons, On Air Studios | 08/07/2011

ROSA†CRVX

Support: Keltia

Mons, On Air Studios

08/07/2011

Concert
12/07/2011, Didier BECU

Yesterday was a bit of a medieval fest as The Dark Cat invited Rosa Crux to Mons, but first we would greet some new Belgian talent called Keltia.

Keltia from Liège describe their music as the soundtrack from a movie that doesn't exist, and if it did then it would be from some other world.

A description that’s been used before but a very fine excuse to give us some blooming medieval treats.

From opening song 'Presage' we saw that this band, who base most of their songs on fairy tales past, had a wide range of instrumentation like violin, didgeridoo and something that looked like an ancient organ.

And the most powerful instrument of all, the voice of her majesty Keltia herself, which reminded me a bit of the godlike voice of a woman by the name of Alison Shaw.

Keltia are a young band and in a way you can see that, but they hide this insecurity with the talent to believe in themselves.

They might indeed living in their own world but as long as they can breed songs like 'Dark Fire', I guess one will want to take them away from there.

If Keltia can be described as drifting away on medieval clouds, then it’s something totally different for Rosa Crux. As their fantasy world balances amongst immortal beauty and a perverse curiosity towards violence and pain.

Created in 1984 (incredible!?) in Rouen and famous for singing in Latin, Rosa Crux are a multimedia-spectacle for both the ears and eyes.

Rosa Crux was formed around Olivier Tarabo, a mastermind who made them more than just a band. Not only because of their choreographic art and their visuals but also because of the instruments.

Besides being a band who does everything live on stage, they also use old drums that are operated by punch cards and there's more.

Sometimes described as dark ritual, Rosa Crux suck you into their own world that is primarily ruled by Olivier's impressive voice.

Of course there’s also the video art, be it pictures from the Parisian catacombs or videos in which evil creatures are mistreating some poor beings where torture becomes an art form.

Through all this, spectacular things that include waving flags in the crowd, you might even forget the music. Though this spectacle is not made to hide musical ignorance.

Rosa Crux’s music gets a grips on you from the very first second to the last. An impressive Tarabo, a genius guitar sound, female backing singers that seems to come straight out of hell and even a carillon is on stage.

Despite some technical problems that disgraced this beautiful gig for a short while, there’s nothing bad to say about it.

Just as always the gig was closed with the “Danse de Terre” in where two living sculptures sat in a sandbox and in a flurry of lunacy buried themselves in a cloud of dust while the stunning music didn't stop for a second.

An impressive gig from a band which understood that an audience wants more than just four blokes on a stage. Sometimes music has to go straight through your brain, and Rosa Crux did.

Didier BECU
12/07/2011


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights