tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/07/2011 : ROSA†CRVX - Support: Keltia | Mons, On Air Studios | 08/07/2011

ROSA†CRVX

Support: Keltia

Mons, On Air Studios

08/07/2011

Concert
12/07/2011, Didier BECU

Yesterday was a bit of a medieval fest as The Dark Cat invited Rosa Crux to Mons, but first we would greet some new Belgian talent called Keltia.

Keltia from Liège describe their music as the soundtrack from a movie that doesn't exist, and if it did then it would be from some other world.

A description that’s been used before but a very fine excuse to give us some blooming medieval treats.

From opening song 'Presage' we saw that this band, who base most of their songs on fairy tales past, had a wide range of instrumentation like violin, didgeridoo and something that looked like an ancient organ.

And the most powerful instrument of all, the voice of her majesty Keltia herself, which reminded me a bit of the godlike voice of a woman by the name of Alison Shaw.

Keltia are a young band and in a way you can see that, but they hide this insecurity with the talent to believe in themselves.

They might indeed living in their own world but as long as they can breed songs like 'Dark Fire', I guess one will want to take them away from there.

If Keltia can be described as drifting away on medieval clouds, then it’s something totally different for Rosa Crux. As their fantasy world balances amongst immortal beauty and a perverse curiosity towards violence and pain.

Created in 1984 (incredible!?) in Rouen and famous for singing in Latin, Rosa Crux are a multimedia-spectacle for both the ears and eyes.

Rosa Crux was formed around Olivier Tarabo, a mastermind who made them more than just a band. Not only because of their choreographic art and their visuals but also because of the instruments.

Besides being a band who does everything live on stage, they also use old drums that are operated by punch cards and there's more.

Sometimes described as dark ritual, Rosa Crux suck you into their own world that is primarily ruled by Olivier's impressive voice.

Of course there’s also the video art, be it pictures from the Parisian catacombs or videos in which evil creatures are mistreating some poor beings where torture becomes an art form.

Through all this, spectacular things that include waving flags in the crowd, you might even forget the music. Though this spectacle is not made to hide musical ignorance.

Rosa Crux’s music gets a grips on you from the very first second to the last. An impressive Tarabo, a genius guitar sound, female backing singers that seems to come straight out of hell and even a carillon is on stage.

Despite some technical problems that disgraced this beautiful gig for a short while, there’s nothing bad to say about it.

Just as always the gig was closed with the “Danse de Terre” in where two living sculptures sat in a sandbox and in a flurry of lunacy buried themselves in a cloud of dust while the stunning music didn't stop for a second.

An impressive gig from a band which understood that an audience wants more than just four blokes on a stage. Sometimes music has to go straight through your brain, and Rosa Crux did.

Didier BECU
12/07/2011


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real