tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/07/2011 : ROSA†CRVX - Support: Keltia | Mons, On Air Studios | 08/07/2011

ROSA†CRVX

Support: Keltia

Mons, On Air Studios

08/07/2011

Concert
12/07/2011, Didier BECU

Yesterday was a bit of a medieval fest as The Dark Cat invited Rosa Crux to Mons, but first we would greet some new Belgian talent called Keltia.

Keltia from Liège describe their music as the soundtrack from a movie that doesn't exist, and if it did then it would be from some other world.

A description that’s been used before but a very fine excuse to give us some blooming medieval treats.

From opening song 'Presage' we saw that this band, who base most of their songs on fairy tales past, had a wide range of instrumentation like violin, didgeridoo and something that looked like an ancient organ.

And the most powerful instrument of all, the voice of her majesty Keltia herself, which reminded me a bit of the godlike voice of a woman by the name of Alison Shaw.

Keltia are a young band and in a way you can see that, but they hide this insecurity with the talent to believe in themselves.

They might indeed living in their own world but as long as they can breed songs like 'Dark Fire', I guess one will want to take them away from there.

If Keltia can be described as drifting away on medieval clouds, then it’s something totally different for Rosa Crux. As their fantasy world balances amongst immortal beauty and a perverse curiosity towards violence and pain.

Created in 1984 (incredible!?) in Rouen and famous for singing in Latin, Rosa Crux are a multimedia-spectacle for both the ears and eyes.

Rosa Crux was formed around Olivier Tarabo, a mastermind who made them more than just a band. Not only because of their choreographic art and their visuals but also because of the instruments.

Besides being a band who does everything live on stage, they also use old drums that are operated by punch cards and there's more.

Sometimes described as dark ritual, Rosa Crux suck you into their own world that is primarily ruled by Olivier's impressive voice.

Of course there’s also the video art, be it pictures from the Parisian catacombs or videos in which evil creatures are mistreating some poor beings where torture becomes an art form.

Through all this, spectacular things that include waving flags in the crowd, you might even forget the music. Though this spectacle is not made to hide musical ignorance.

Rosa Crux’s music gets a grips on you from the very first second to the last. An impressive Tarabo, a genius guitar sound, female backing singers that seems to come straight out of hell and even a carillon is on stage.

Despite some technical problems that disgraced this beautiful gig for a short while, there’s nothing bad to say about it.

Just as always the gig was closed with the “Danse de Terre” in where two living sculptures sat in a sandbox and in a flurry of lunacy buried themselves in a cloud of dust while the stunning music didn't stop for a second.

An impressive gig from a band which understood that an audience wants more than just four blokes on a stage. Sometimes music has to go straight through your brain, and Rosa Crux did.

Didier BECU
12/07/2011


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap