tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/09/2013 : ROT ON THE MARCH - Era of the Penultimate Steps

ROT ON THE MARCH

Era of the Penultimate Steps

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[60/100]   

afmusic
30/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Listening to this one after Aeon Sable puts things into the right place. The Music is in between Fields of The Nephilim & The Cure (retro sound). Rot on the March has good musicians, but no singer. Song after song his voice irritates me. It's the voice of one who tries in vain to get the good vibe. Only when others back up the vocals get lifted up. To be honest I heard this same thing with Belgium demo band Erato, after their singer left the band and got replaced. Sadly enough for a lot of non-signed bands this one got signed by Afmusic. One good advice for the people behind this band: look after another singer or ask Victoria Shikova to take the lead (or Julia Morti). It's not my usual thing, but sometimes a reviewer needs to set out his perks and set out his personal opinion.

On a positive note: 'In Between Days' must be the first highlight of the album (although it has nothing to do with The Cure). The music is here at its best & the voice is bearable. The last one is 'To Joyful & Mad' where Victoria Shikova sings too (and that's the only reason for liking it): she really has a lovely voice (a bit like Julia Beyer).

So folks, it's up to you, but I wouldn't buy this album.

Hear if you want to check:

http://rotonthemarch.bandcamp.com/album/era-of-the-penultimate-steps?from=embed

Filip VAN MUYLEM
30/09/2013


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu