tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RUINED CONFLICT - A Voice For The Voiceless

RUINED CONFLICT

A Voice For The Voiceless

MusicCD
Electro RockFuture Pop

[76/100]   

Infacted Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ruined Conflict has often been accused of being a copy of VNV Nation. With this release the band counters that criticism. The songs are a combination of synth sounds and heavy-sounding rhythm guitars.

The opener is Me and the Devil Blues, a slow and well-constructed song with a guest vocal by Shamoozey, that immediately puts us in the atmosphere of the album. The title song A Voice For The Voiceless is one of the stronger songs: beautiful synth sounds in good balance with the heavy sounding guitar riffs.

The themes and the lyrics are rather clichés: revolutions and the quest for peace, but quite often it sounds preachy. Rememberance on the other hand, has relevant lyrics. The dark feel suits the lyrics and the music. The lyrics of Awaken are not credible and that is unfortunate because it weighs on the track. Thumb War is EBM. The song thrives in the absence of guitars. The count down in the chorus makes the track quite catchy and danceable.

Leaving out the lyrics, Ruined Conflict puts a step forward ion this fourth release and shakes off the label VNV Nation clone. On this album, the band reinvents itself. Lovers of future pop (provided you appreciate an occasional heavy sounding guitar) and electro rock will definitely love it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ruined Conflict werd nogal eens verweten een doorslagje van VNV Nation te zijn. Met deze release probeert de band dat verwijt te counteren. Op dit album combineren de groepsledenen synthsounds met heavy klinkende ritmegitaren.

De opener heet Me and the Devil Blues, een trage en goed opgebouwde song met een vocale gastbijdrage van Shamoozey die je meteen in de sfeer van het album brengt. De titelsong A Voice For The Voiceless is één van de sterkere songs: mooie synthsounds die in een goede balans zijn met de zwaar klinkende gitaarriffs.

De thema’s en de teksten zijn eerder clichés: revoluties en vrede nastreven, maar het komt soms over als hol gepreek. Op Rememberance zijn de lyrics wel geslaagd en relevant. De donkere feel gaat mooi samen met de lyrics en de muziek. Maar in Awaken komt de tekst echt niet geloofwaardig over en dat is jammer omdat het op die manier wat weegt op de track. Thumb War is EBM. De track gedijt goed zonder de aanwezigheid van gitaren. Het aftelrijmpje in het refrein maakt de track best catchy en dansbaar.

Als we de teksten even buiten beschouwing laten, kunnen we stellen dat Ruined Conflict op zijn vierde release een stap vooruit heeft gezet en het etiket VNV Nation-kloon heeft afgeworpen. Op dit album vind de band zichzelf weer uit. Liefhebbers van futurepop (op voorwaarde dat je een heavy klinkende gitaar af en toe weet te waarderen) en elektrorock komen met dit album zeker aan hun trekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis