tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RUINED CONFLICT - A Voice For The Voiceless

RUINED CONFLICT

A Voice For The Voiceless

MusicCD
Electro RockFuture Pop

[76/100]   

Infacted Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ruined Conflict has often been accused of being a copy of VNV Nation. With this release the band counters that criticism. The songs are a combination of synth sounds and heavy-sounding rhythm guitars.

The opener is Me and the Devil Blues, a slow and well-constructed song with a guest vocal by Shamoozey, that immediately puts us in the atmosphere of the album. The title song A Voice For The Voiceless is one of the stronger songs: beautiful synth sounds in good balance with the heavy sounding guitar riffs.

The themes and the lyrics are rather clichés: revolutions and the quest for peace, but quite often it sounds preachy. Rememberance on the other hand, has relevant lyrics. The dark feel suits the lyrics and the music. The lyrics of Awaken are not credible and that is unfortunate because it weighs on the track. Thumb War is EBM. The song thrives in the absence of guitars. The count down in the chorus makes the track quite catchy and danceable.

Leaving out the lyrics, Ruined Conflict puts a step forward ion this fourth release and shakes off the label VNV Nation clone. On this album, the band reinvents itself. Lovers of future pop (provided you appreciate an occasional heavy sounding guitar) and electro rock will definitely love it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ruined Conflict werd nogal eens verweten een doorslagje van VNV Nation te zijn. Met deze release probeert de band dat verwijt te counteren. Op dit album combineren de groepsledenen synthsounds met heavy klinkende ritmegitaren.

De opener heet Me and the Devil Blues, een trage en goed opgebouwde song met een vocale gastbijdrage van Shamoozey die je meteen in de sfeer van het album brengt. De titelsong A Voice For The Voiceless is één van de sterkere songs: mooie synthsounds die in een goede balans zijn met de zwaar klinkende gitaarriffs.

De thema’s en de teksten zijn eerder clichés: revoluties en vrede nastreven, maar het komt soms over als hol gepreek. Op Rememberance zijn de lyrics wel geslaagd en relevant. De donkere feel gaat mooi samen met de lyrics en de muziek. Maar in Awaken komt de tekst echt niet geloofwaardig over en dat is jammer omdat het op die manier wat weegt op de track. Thumb War is EBM. De track gedijt goed zonder de aanwezigheid van gitaren. Het aftelrijmpje in het refrein maakt de track best catchy en dansbaar.

Als we de teksten even buiten beschouwing laten, kunnen we stellen dat Ruined Conflict op zijn vierde release een stap vooruit heeft gezet en het etiket VNV Nation-kloon heeft afgeworpen. Op dit album vind de band zichzelf weer uit. Liefhebbers van futurepop (op voorwaarde dat je een heavy klinkende gitaar af en toe weet te waarderen) en elektrorock komen met dit album zeker aan hun trekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me