tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RUINED CONFLICT - A Voice For The Voiceless

RUINED CONFLICT

A Voice For The Voiceless

MusicCD
Electro RockFuture Pop

[76/100]   

Infacted Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ruined Conflict has often been accused of being a copy of VNV Nation. With this release the band counters that criticism. The songs are a combination of synth sounds and heavy-sounding rhythm guitars.

The opener is Me and the Devil Blues, a slow and well-constructed song with a guest vocal by Shamoozey, that immediately puts us in the atmosphere of the album. The title song A Voice For The Voiceless is one of the stronger songs: beautiful synth sounds in good balance with the heavy sounding guitar riffs.

The themes and the lyrics are rather clichés: revolutions and the quest for peace, but quite often it sounds preachy. Rememberance on the other hand, has relevant lyrics. The dark feel suits the lyrics and the music. The lyrics of Awaken are not credible and that is unfortunate because it weighs on the track. Thumb War is EBM. The song thrives in the absence of guitars. The count down in the chorus makes the track quite catchy and danceable.

Leaving out the lyrics, Ruined Conflict puts a step forward ion this fourth release and shakes off the label VNV Nation clone. On this album, the band reinvents itself. Lovers of future pop (provided you appreciate an occasional heavy sounding guitar) and electro rock will definitely love it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ruined Conflict werd nogal eens verweten een doorslagje van VNV Nation te zijn. Met deze release probeert de band dat verwijt te counteren. Op dit album combineren de groepsledenen synthsounds met heavy klinkende ritmegitaren.

De opener heet Me and the Devil Blues, een trage en goed opgebouwde song met een vocale gastbijdrage van Shamoozey die je meteen in de sfeer van het album brengt. De titelsong A Voice For The Voiceless is één van de sterkere songs: mooie synthsounds die in een goede balans zijn met de zwaar klinkende gitaarriffs.

De thema’s en de teksten zijn eerder clichés: revoluties en vrede nastreven, maar het komt soms over als hol gepreek. Op Rememberance zijn de lyrics wel geslaagd en relevant. De donkere feel gaat mooi samen met de lyrics en de muziek. Maar in Awaken komt de tekst echt niet geloofwaardig over en dat is jammer omdat het op die manier wat weegt op de track. Thumb War is EBM. De track gedijt goed zonder de aanwezigheid van gitaren. Het aftelrijmpje in het refrein maakt de track best catchy en dansbaar.

Als we de teksten even buiten beschouwing laten, kunnen we stellen dat Ruined Conflict op zijn vierde release een stap vooruit heeft gezet en het etiket VNV Nation-kloon heeft afgeworpen. Op dit album vind de band zichzelf weer uit. Liefhebbers van futurepop (op voorwaarde dat je een heavy klinkende gitaar af en toe weet te waarderen) en elektrorock komen met dit album zeker aan hun trekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus