tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RUINED CONFLICT - A Voice For The Voiceless

RUINED CONFLICT

A Voice For The Voiceless

MusicCD
Electro RockFuture Pop

[76/100]   

Infacted Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ruined Conflict has often been accused of being a copy of VNV Nation. With this release the band counters that criticism. The songs are a combination of synth sounds and heavy-sounding rhythm guitars.

The opener is Me and the Devil Blues, a slow and well-constructed song with a guest vocal by Shamoozey, that immediately puts us in the atmosphere of the album. The title song A Voice For The Voiceless is one of the stronger songs: beautiful synth sounds in good balance with the heavy sounding guitar riffs.

The themes and the lyrics are rather clichés: revolutions and the quest for peace, but quite often it sounds preachy. Rememberance on the other hand, has relevant lyrics. The dark feel suits the lyrics and the music. The lyrics of Awaken are not credible and that is unfortunate because it weighs on the track. Thumb War is EBM. The song thrives in the absence of guitars. The count down in the chorus makes the track quite catchy and danceable.

Leaving out the lyrics, Ruined Conflict puts a step forward ion this fourth release and shakes off the label VNV Nation clone. On this album, the band reinvents itself. Lovers of future pop (provided you appreciate an occasional heavy sounding guitar) and electro rock will definitely love it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ruined Conflict werd nogal eens verweten een doorslagje van VNV Nation te zijn. Met deze release probeert de band dat verwijt te counteren. Op dit album combineren de groepsledenen synthsounds met heavy klinkende ritmegitaren.

De opener heet Me and the Devil Blues, een trage en goed opgebouwde song met een vocale gastbijdrage van Shamoozey die je meteen in de sfeer van het album brengt. De titelsong A Voice For The Voiceless is één van de sterkere songs: mooie synthsounds die in een goede balans zijn met de zwaar klinkende gitaarriffs.

De thema’s en de teksten zijn eerder clichés: revoluties en vrede nastreven, maar het komt soms over als hol gepreek. Op Rememberance zijn de lyrics wel geslaagd en relevant. De donkere feel gaat mooi samen met de lyrics en de muziek. Maar in Awaken komt de tekst echt niet geloofwaardig over en dat is jammer omdat het op die manier wat weegt op de track. Thumb War is EBM. De track gedijt goed zonder de aanwezigheid van gitaren. Het aftelrijmpje in het refrein maakt de track best catchy en dansbaar.

Als we de teksten even buiten beschouwing laten, kunnen we stellen dat Ruined Conflict op zijn vierde release een stap vooruit heeft gezet en het etiket VNV Nation-kloon heeft afgeworpen. Op dit album vind de band zichzelf weer uit. Liefhebbers van futurepop (op voorwaarde dat je een heavy klinkende gitaar af en toe weet te waarderen) en elektrorock komen met dit album zeker aan hun trekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate