tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RUINED CONFLICT - A Voice For The Voiceless

RUINED CONFLICT

A Voice For The Voiceless

MusicCD
Electro RockFuture Pop

[76/100]   

Infacted Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Ruined Conflict has often been accused of being a copy of VNV Nation. With this release the band counters that criticism. The songs are a combination of synth sounds and heavy-sounding rhythm guitars.

The opener is Me and the Devil Blues, a slow and well-constructed song with a guest vocal by Shamoozey, that immediately puts us in the atmosphere of the album. The title song A Voice For The Voiceless is one of the stronger songs: beautiful synth sounds in good balance with the heavy sounding guitar riffs.

The themes and the lyrics are rather clichés: revolutions and the quest for peace, but quite often it sounds preachy. Rememberance on the other hand, has relevant lyrics. The dark feel suits the lyrics and the music. The lyrics of Awaken are not credible and that is unfortunate because it weighs on the track. Thumb War is EBM. The song thrives in the absence of guitars. The count down in the chorus makes the track quite catchy and danceable.

Leaving out the lyrics, Ruined Conflict puts a step forward ion this fourth release and shakes off the label VNV Nation clone. On this album, the band reinvents itself. Lovers of future pop (provided you appreciate an occasional heavy sounding guitar) and electro rock will definitely love it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Ruined Conflict werd nogal eens verweten een doorslagje van VNV Nation te zijn. Met deze release probeert de band dat verwijt te counteren. Op dit album combineren de groepsledenen synthsounds met heavy klinkende ritmegitaren.

De opener heet Me and the Devil Blues, een trage en goed opgebouwde song met een vocale gastbijdrage van Shamoozey die je meteen in de sfeer van het album brengt. De titelsong A Voice For The Voiceless is één van de sterkere songs: mooie synthsounds die in een goede balans zijn met de zwaar klinkende gitaarriffs.

De thema’s en de teksten zijn eerder clichés: revoluties en vrede nastreven, maar het komt soms over als hol gepreek. Op Rememberance zijn de lyrics wel geslaagd en relevant. De donkere feel gaat mooi samen met de lyrics en de muziek. Maar in Awaken komt de tekst echt niet geloofwaardig over en dat is jammer omdat het op die manier wat weegt op de track. Thumb War is EBM. De track gedijt goed zonder de aanwezigheid van gitaren. Het aftelrijmpje in het refrein maakt de track best catchy en dansbaar.

Als we de teksten even buiten beschouwing laten, kunnen we stellen dat Ruined Conflict op zijn vierde release een stap vooruit heeft gezet en het etiket VNV Nation-kloon heeft afgeworpen. Op dit album vind de band zichzelf weer uit. Liefhebbers van futurepop (op voorwaarde dat je een heavy klinkende gitaar af en toe weet te waarderen) en elektrorock komen met dit album zeker aan hun trekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion