tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : S/HE - Who Do You Love

S/HE

Who Do You Love

MusicCD
Electro WaveElectronics

[78/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Dirk Ivens has no lack of inspiration. It is hard to keep track on the number of projects in which the Flemish electro pioneer is involved, and now S/HE is born. It is still unclear whether the cooperation between Nora Below and Dirk Ivens will be limited for this EP only. Anyway, the two musicians complement each other.

Dirk needs no introduction, perhaps Nora Below is less well known, an artist who released material on the Berlin based label Bpitch Control and who is also known for her artistic work.

Nora does the vocals and programming while Dirk is involved in taking care of the minimal electro sounds and backing vocals. Seven songs are on this EP, including the cover Who Do You Love, which earlier appeared on the compilation Deep. Sometimes it’s poppy (You Came Out Of Nowhere), sometimes a tad aggressive (Cracker which tends to Atari Teenage Riot) and in Golden Track Hollow we discover some melancholy in the electronic sounds. Yes, Dirk does it again...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Geen gebrek aan inspiratie voor Dirk Ivens. Het aantal projecten waarbij de Vlaamse elektropionier is betrokken valt nauwelijks bij te houden, en daar hoort vanaf nu ook S/HE bij. Het is nog eventjes afwachten of de samenwerking tussen Nora Below en Dirk Ivens alleen maar tot deze ene ep beperkt zal blijven, in ieder geval vullen de twee muzikanten elkaar goed aan.

Dirk voorstellen hoeft niet meer, Nora Below is misschien iets minder bekend. Deze artieste bracht solowerk uit op het Berlijnse label Bpitch Control en is ook bekend voor haar ander artistiek werk.

Nora neemt de zang voor haar rekening, terwijl Dirk voor de minimimal elektronische klanken zorgt. Zeven songs vind je op deze ep met daarop de cover Who Do You Love die eerder op de verzamelaar Deep verscheen. Soms is het poppy (You Came Out Of Nowhere), soms wat agressief (Cracker neigt wat naar Atari Teenage Riot) en in Golden Track Hollow horen we zelfs wat weemoed in de elektronische klanken. Ja hoor, Dirk doet het weer…

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline