tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/01/2013 : (((S))) - The moon is my sun

(((S)))

The moon is my sun

MusicCD
Synth Wave

[68/100]   

afmusic
07/01/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Well, as a starter 'Alive/Die' reminds me a bit too much about Giorgio Moroder 'Chase' (but then speeded up), mixed with some Human League and Blur.

The other songs are like Blur reworking some 80's music. The second one 'Ballet of the wolves' sounds like the uptempo version of 'Girls and boys' from Blur with the voice of Damon Albarn and some women but with different lyrics.

'Shadowboxing' sounds very retro with a very upfronted synth sound. The voices are a bit like a fight between Damon Albarn and some female (distorted) voice. 'Truthdrug' has a simple beat and sounds very retro and indeed: a bit like played on drugs. The synths plays a very positive role, just as the electric drums.

The minimal wave sound on 'Lovething' is for sure a highlight on this cd. 'TheMeTheYou' has a nice bass and a very poppy sound with a synth that reminds me of the sound I recall coming from Suicide Commando's 'Necrophilia'.

Somehow I have mixed emotions about this cd. I like retro, but just making uptempo versions from other songs adding a few new things and hoping for the best, is that a good thing?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/01/2013


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela