tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : SALES/SINKANE - Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy

SALES/SINKANE

Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy

Concert
27/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

What could be better for a music fanatic than discovering a band in a tiny venue where only a handful of people showed up? In retrospect, it is of course a bit snobby that when the group breaks through you can say that you were there, but that is also part of the magic. The Belgian Democrazy offers this formula in the form of The Big Next: this Sunday two bands were on stage: Sales from Florida and Sinkane, the band of the Sudanese musician Ahmed Gallab for whom the press no longer can find new superlatives.

The first band that was thrown to the lions was the American duo Sales. And it must be said, in a noisy venue like De Charlatan, where people tend to take more care about the beer instead of the artist on stage, this is anything but an easy thing. Nevertheless, it was perhaps difficult for Lauren Morgan and Jordan Shih to let the public come closer, but you could clearly see on the faces that they enjoyed the fragile lo-fi indie duo. Between the songs Lauren told all kinds of jokes and she looked very relaxed, nevertheless their music broke hearts. Of course, the highlight was Chinese New Year, a song that has been viewed countless times on YouTube. The comparison with Beach House is indeed justified, and it wouldn’t surprise us if we would finf Lauren and Jordan in larger venues soon.

Sales and Sinkane are touring together for a while, but Ahmed Gallab is one of the most brilliant artists of the moment. Before he founded Sikane, the Sudanese artist worked with David Byrne, Damon Albarn and Money Mark of The Beastie Boys.

Ahmed is a perfectionist and that shows on stage, the cheerful guy is so focused on his music, that sometimes he seems a tad arrogant, which is not the case. This musical centipede can’t be put in a category, so you can link each song (even each moment) with a different style. Ska, dubreggae, soul, dance, post-punk, prog rock, electronica... it's all in Sikane, and often in one song.

The (loud) performance caused a whirlwind in the venue, as every spectator realized that he was watching a very great artist. Make sure you’ll be there next time!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


NL

Wat is er mooier voor een muziekliefhebber dan een band te ontdekken in een zaal waar amper een handjevol mensen staat? Achteraf is het natuurlijk een beetje snobistisch om als de groep doorbreekt te kunnen pochen dat jij er wel bij was, maar dat is nu ook eenmaal de magie ervan. Democrazy biedt al jaren deze formule in de vorm van The Big Next aan en deze zondag stonden twee bands op het podium: Sales uit Florida en Sinkane, de groep van de Sudanese Ahmed Gallab, waarvoor de pers ondertussen geen superlatieven meer kan vinden.

De eerste band die voor de leeuwen werd geworpen was het Amerikaanse duo Sales. En het moet worden gezegd, in een lawaaierige Charlatan, waar de mensen zich meestal meer om het bier bekommeren dan om de artiest op het podium, is dat een allesbehalve gemakkelijke zaak. Het lukte Lauren Morgan en Jordan Shih wel niet onmiddellijk om het publiek dichter naar zich toe te trekken, wel kon je duidelijk aan de gezichten zien dat men oor had naar de fragiele lo-fi indie van dit duo. Tussen de nummertjes vertelde Lauren allerlei grapjes en zag ze er zeer ontspannen uit, desalniettemin brak de luisterpop van Sales harten. Het hoogtepunt was natuurlijk Chinese New Year, een nummer dat al ontelbare keren op YouTube is bekeken en waardoor Sales één van de groepen is waarover het meest is verschenen op de muziekblogs. De vergelijking met Beach House houdt wel degelijk steek, en tja, het zou ons niet verwonderen mocht je weldra Lauren en Jordan in grotere zalen aantreffen.

Sales en Sinkane toeren al een tijdje samen, maar Ahmed Gallab één van de geniaalste artiesten van dit moment is. Deze Soedanese artiest is ook niet zo maar de eerste de beste, alvorens hij Sikane oprichtte werkte hij eerder met David Byrne, Damon Albarn en Money Mark van The Beastie Boys.

Ahmed is een perfectionist en dat merk je op het podium, de goedlachse kerel is zo geconcentreerd op zijn muziek dat hij soms een tikkeltje arrogant lijkt, wat niet zo is. Deze muzikale duizendpoot laat zich ook niet zo maar in een hokje duwen, waardoor je op elk nummer (zelfs op elk moment) een andere stijl kan plakken. Ska, dubreggae, soul, dance, post-punk, progrock, electronica…het zit allemaal in Sikane, en zelfs vaak in één nummer.

Het (luide) optreden zorgde dan ook voor een wervelwind in de Gentse zaal, want iedere toeschouwer besefte dat hij naar een zeer groot artiest keek. Zorg dat je er de volgende keer bij bent!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten