tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed

SAM MILLER

No Good Deed

Movie
DramaThriller

[58/100]   

SONY SPHE
17/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the same title, we are not talking about the Bob Rafelson film starring Samuel L. Jackson and Milla Jovovich, but the one of Sam Mille,r that in most countries was released straight on DVD. It was the second time that Miller was able to work with actor Idris Elba, who you may know of The Wire, as he already made the acclaimed BBC series Luther with him. And yes, Idris Elba is indeed the guy who perhaps might be the first black James Bond, because his name is still circulating and the rumour has not been denied by him yet. It may be that one day 007 will laugh with No Good Deed. Or who knows, the picture will just be rediscovered, because even though you find nothing new in this movie, it is a thriller like they only made them in 80’s: predictable and with a plot that can only be manufactured in Hollywood.

No Good Deed is a violent thriller. Elba plays the role of jailbird Colin Evans, who hopes to be released from prison after five years. He has followed all sorts of programs that should make him a better person. He is not an aggressor, but from the moment that the prosecutor refuses his request, he shows his true face. Evans manages to escape from the prison van and he finds his way to freedom in a quite violent way. At the end of his escape ride, he knocks at Terri’s door (Taraji P. Henson), who coincidentally (well...) is a former public prosecutor, who was specialised in procedures of female victims of male violence.

If you feel the need to slash this movie down (there is worse, believe us!), then you can indeed say that Miller has used just about every cliché in the thriller genre. So, not only is the story quite predictable, there are also lots of elements that you saw in 80’s popular thrillers (just think of The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather). If you do not mind that (and we do not!), then No Good Deed is an entertaining thriller with decent acting (take a look at Leslie Bibb, the ravishing blonde of Iron Man).

No Good Deed is now out on DVD and Blu-ray by Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


NL

Ondanks dezelfde titel, hebben we het niet over de film van Bob Rafelson met Samuel L. Jackson en Milla Jovovich, wel om een film van Sam Miller die bij ons (en ook in bijna alle andere landen) regelrecht op dvd verscheen. Het was de tweede keer dat Miller mocht samenwerken met acteur Idris Elba, die je wellicht uit The Wire kent, de vorige keer was dat in de bejubelde BBC-serie Luther. En jawel, Idris Elba is inderdaad de kerel die we binnenkort misschien wel als de eerste zwarte James Bond zullen meemaken, want het is zijn naam die nog steeds in de geruchtenmolen circuleert en hij heeft het nog niet ontkend. Het zou best kunnen dat indien hij ooit als 007 de wereld zou veroveren, hij No Good Deed weglacht. Of wie weet wordt de prent gewoon herontdekt, want ook al vind je hier niets nieuws, is dit toch een spannende thriller zoals men die in de jaren 80 maakte, weliswaar voorspelbaar en met een plot die men alleen maar in Hollywood kan bedenken.

No Good Deed is een vrij gewelddadige thriller. Elba speelt de rol van bajesklant Colin Evans, die na vijf jaar brommen in Knoxville hoopt te worden vrijgelaten. In de gevangenis heeft hij allerlei programma’s gevolgd die van hem een beter mens moeten maken zodat hij kan aantonen dat het gevecht waarvoor hij werd veroordeeld niet strookt met zijn persoonlijkheid. Evans is geen agressieveling, maar vanaf het moment dat de openbare aanklager zijn verzoek tot vrijlating weigert, gaan de poppen opnieuw aan het dansen. Evans slaagt erin om uit de gevangeniswagen te ontsnappen en alles wat volgt zijn allesbehalve daden van een vredelievende man. Hij belt uiteindelijk aan bij Terri (Taraji P. Henson). Het toeval (nou ja) wil dat deze moeder van twee kinderen een gewezen openbare aanklaagster is, die zich destijds vooral bezighield met vrouwen die het slachtoffer zijn van mannelijk geweld.

Als je iets slechts over de film moet vertellen, dan is het natuurlijk het feit dat Miller zowat elke cliché uit het thrillergenre heeft gebruikt. Daardoor wordt het verhaal niet alleen wat te voorspelbaar, maar heb je het ook al talrijke keren gezien in thrillers die vooral in de jaren 80 populair waren (denk maar aan The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather). Als je dat niet erg vindt (en eigenlijk vinden we dat ook niet!), dan is No Good Deed een onderhoudende nagelbijter met degelijke vertolkingen (let vooral op Leslie Bibb, de verrukkelijke blondine uit Iron Man).

No Good Deed is vanaf nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline