tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed

SAM MILLER

No Good Deed

Movie
DramaThriller

[58/100]   

SONY SPHE
17/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the same title, we are not talking about the Bob Rafelson film starring Samuel L. Jackson and Milla Jovovich, but the one of Sam Mille,r that in most countries was released straight on DVD. It was the second time that Miller was able to work with actor Idris Elba, who you may know of The Wire, as he already made the acclaimed BBC series Luther with him. And yes, Idris Elba is indeed the guy who perhaps might be the first black James Bond, because his name is still circulating and the rumour has not been denied by him yet. It may be that one day 007 will laugh with No Good Deed. Or who knows, the picture will just be rediscovered, because even though you find nothing new in this movie, it is a thriller like they only made them in 80’s: predictable and with a plot that can only be manufactured in Hollywood.

No Good Deed is a violent thriller. Elba plays the role of jailbird Colin Evans, who hopes to be released from prison after five years. He has followed all sorts of programs that should make him a better person. He is not an aggressor, but from the moment that the prosecutor refuses his request, he shows his true face. Evans manages to escape from the prison van and he finds his way to freedom in a quite violent way. At the end of his escape ride, he knocks at Terri’s door (Taraji P. Henson), who coincidentally (well...) is a former public prosecutor, who was specialised in procedures of female victims of male violence.

If you feel the need to slash this movie down (there is worse, believe us!), then you can indeed say that Miller has used just about every cliché in the thriller genre. So, not only is the story quite predictable, there are also lots of elements that you saw in 80’s popular thrillers (just think of The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather). If you do not mind that (and we do not!), then No Good Deed is an entertaining thriller with decent acting (take a look at Leslie Bibb, the ravishing blonde of Iron Man).

No Good Deed is now out on DVD and Blu-ray by Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


NL

Ondanks dezelfde titel, hebben we het niet over de film van Bob Rafelson met Samuel L. Jackson en Milla Jovovich, wel om een film van Sam Miller die bij ons (en ook in bijna alle andere landen) regelrecht op dvd verscheen. Het was de tweede keer dat Miller mocht samenwerken met acteur Idris Elba, die je wellicht uit The Wire kent, de vorige keer was dat in de bejubelde BBC-serie Luther. En jawel, Idris Elba is inderdaad de kerel die we binnenkort misschien wel als de eerste zwarte James Bond zullen meemaken, want het is zijn naam die nog steeds in de geruchtenmolen circuleert en hij heeft het nog niet ontkend. Het zou best kunnen dat indien hij ooit als 007 de wereld zou veroveren, hij No Good Deed weglacht. Of wie weet wordt de prent gewoon herontdekt, want ook al vind je hier niets nieuws, is dit toch een spannende thriller zoals men die in de jaren 80 maakte, weliswaar voorspelbaar en met een plot die men alleen maar in Hollywood kan bedenken.

No Good Deed is een vrij gewelddadige thriller. Elba speelt de rol van bajesklant Colin Evans, die na vijf jaar brommen in Knoxville hoopt te worden vrijgelaten. In de gevangenis heeft hij allerlei programma’s gevolgd die van hem een beter mens moeten maken zodat hij kan aantonen dat het gevecht waarvoor hij werd veroordeeld niet strookt met zijn persoonlijkheid. Evans is geen agressieveling, maar vanaf het moment dat de openbare aanklager zijn verzoek tot vrijlating weigert, gaan de poppen opnieuw aan het dansen. Evans slaagt erin om uit de gevangeniswagen te ontsnappen en alles wat volgt zijn allesbehalve daden van een vredelievende man. Hij belt uiteindelijk aan bij Terri (Taraji P. Henson). Het toeval (nou ja) wil dat deze moeder van twee kinderen een gewezen openbare aanklaagster is, die zich destijds vooral bezighield met vrouwen die het slachtoffer zijn van mannelijk geweld.

Als je iets slechts over de film moet vertellen, dan is het natuurlijk het feit dat Miller zowat elke cliché uit het thrillergenre heeft gebruikt. Daardoor wordt het verhaal niet alleen wat te voorspelbaar, maar heb je het ook al talrijke keren gezien in thrillers die vooral in de jaren 80 populair waren (denk maar aan The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather). Als je dat niet erg vindt (en eigenlijk vinden we dat ook niet!), dan is No Good Deed een onderhoudende nagelbijter met degelijke vertolkingen (let vooral op Leslie Bibb, de verrukkelijke blondine uit Iron Man).

No Good Deed is vanaf nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis