tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed

SAM MILLER

No Good Deed

Movie
DramaThriller

[58/100]   

SONY SPHE
17/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Despite the same title, we are not talking about the Bob Rafelson film starring Samuel L. Jackson and Milla Jovovich, but the one of Sam Mille,r that in most countries was released straight on DVD. It was the second time that Miller was able to work with actor Idris Elba, who you may know of The Wire, as he already made the acclaimed BBC series Luther with him. And yes, Idris Elba is indeed the guy who perhaps might be the first black James Bond, because his name is still circulating and the rumour has not been denied by him yet. It may be that one day 007 will laugh with No Good Deed. Or who knows, the picture will just be rediscovered, because even though you find nothing new in this movie, it is a thriller like they only made them in 80’s: predictable and with a plot that can only be manufactured in Hollywood.

No Good Deed is a violent thriller. Elba plays the role of jailbird Colin Evans, who hopes to be released from prison after five years. He has followed all sorts of programs that should make him a better person. He is not an aggressor, but from the moment that the prosecutor refuses his request, he shows his true face. Evans manages to escape from the prison van and he finds his way to freedom in a quite violent way. At the end of his escape ride, he knocks at Terri’s door (Taraji P. Henson), who coincidentally (well...) is a former public prosecutor, who was specialised in procedures of female victims of male violence.

If you feel the need to slash this movie down (there is worse, believe us!), then you can indeed say that Miller has used just about every cliché in the thriller genre. So, not only is the story quite predictable, there are also lots of elements that you saw in 80’s popular thrillers (just think of The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather). If you do not mind that (and we do not!), then No Good Deed is an entertaining thriller with decent acting (take a look at Leslie Bibb, the ravishing blonde of Iron Man).

No Good Deed is now out on DVD and Blu-ray by Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


NL

Ondanks dezelfde titel, hebben we het niet over de film van Bob Rafelson met Samuel L. Jackson en Milla Jovovich, wel om een film van Sam Miller die bij ons (en ook in bijna alle andere landen) regelrecht op dvd verscheen. Het was de tweede keer dat Miller mocht samenwerken met acteur Idris Elba, die je wellicht uit The Wire kent, de vorige keer was dat in de bejubelde BBC-serie Luther. En jawel, Idris Elba is inderdaad de kerel die we binnenkort misschien wel als de eerste zwarte James Bond zullen meemaken, want het is zijn naam die nog steeds in de geruchtenmolen circuleert en hij heeft het nog niet ontkend. Het zou best kunnen dat indien hij ooit als 007 de wereld zou veroveren, hij No Good Deed weglacht. Of wie weet wordt de prent gewoon herontdekt, want ook al vind je hier niets nieuws, is dit toch een spannende thriller zoals men die in de jaren 80 maakte, weliswaar voorspelbaar en met een plot die men alleen maar in Hollywood kan bedenken.

No Good Deed is een vrij gewelddadige thriller. Elba speelt de rol van bajesklant Colin Evans, die na vijf jaar brommen in Knoxville hoopt te worden vrijgelaten. In de gevangenis heeft hij allerlei programma’s gevolgd die van hem een beter mens moeten maken zodat hij kan aantonen dat het gevecht waarvoor hij werd veroordeeld niet strookt met zijn persoonlijkheid. Evans is geen agressieveling, maar vanaf het moment dat de openbare aanklager zijn verzoek tot vrijlating weigert, gaan de poppen opnieuw aan het dansen. Evans slaagt erin om uit de gevangeniswagen te ontsnappen en alles wat volgt zijn allesbehalve daden van een vredelievende man. Hij belt uiteindelijk aan bij Terri (Taraji P. Henson). Het toeval (nou ja) wil dat deze moeder van twee kinderen een gewezen openbare aanklaagster is, die zich destijds vooral bezighield met vrouwen die het slachtoffer zijn van mannelijk geweld.

Als je iets slechts over de film moet vertellen, dan is het natuurlijk het feit dat Miller zowat elke cliché uit het thrillergenre heeft gebruikt. Daardoor wordt het verhaal niet alleen wat te voorspelbaar, maar heb je het ook al talrijke keren gezien in thrillers die vooral in de jaren 80 populair waren (denk maar aan The Hand That Rocks The Cradle of The Stepfather). Als je dat niet erg vindt (en eigenlijk vinden we dat ook niet!), dan is No Good Deed een onderhoudende nagelbijter met degelijke vertolkingen (let vooral op Leslie Bibb, de verrukkelijke blondine uit Iron Man).

No Good Deed is vanaf nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
17/03/2015


17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed 17/03/2015 : SAM MILLER - No Good Deed

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete