tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/08/2011 : SATAN IS MY BROTHER - A Forest Dark

SATAN IS MY BROTHER

A Forest Dark

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzKrautrockSoundtrackUnclassifiable

[82/100]   

Boring Machines
11/08/2011, Didier BECU

When a band decides to name themselves Satan Is My Brother, you might think that you're dealing with some teeny-bopper metal band but in this case it's different.
This quintet from Milan are making cinematographic jazz music or something similar. In 2007 they released, also on Boring Machines, their debut which was a soundtrack for a self-made movie, shot on a night trip on the motorways of their hometown.
Their newest album was initially a soundtrack for the silent movie "Inferno" and the result is an epic cd that features eight tracks with a length of 36 minutes.
It might be a short one but if someone ever told you that quickies are the best then they're right with Satan Is My Brother.
What you get here is an instrumental piece that balances between the dark mysterious feel of a David Lynch movie and the genius behind the instrumental Eno songs that were featured on the "Heroes" album by Bowie.
Sometimes jazzy, sometimes noisy, sometimes Krautrock-ish but above all a CD that blows you away.
One of the best things we reviewed this month on our pages.

Didier BECU
11/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LIBIDO FORMANDI • Insignificancy Rising
LARRNAKH • Like the silken shrouds of loneliness
DISTORTED MEMORY • Swallowing The Sun
ZYNIC • Fire Walk With Me
MXRCXL • Dump
DAZKARIEH • Ruido Do Silencio
KIRIA • Radio
23 TRUBLION 23 • Chants et danses au temps de Graffen Walder
FOSDYK WELL • Slumber and Stark Lots
BETTINA KOESTER • Queen Of Noise

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire