tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/08/2011 : SATAN IS MY BROTHER - A Forest Dark

SATAN IS MY BROTHER

A Forest Dark

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzKrautrockSoundtrackUnclassifiable

[82/100]   

Boring Machines
11/08/2011, Didier BECU

When a band decides to name themselves Satan Is My Brother, you might think that you're dealing with some teeny-bopper metal band but in this case it's different.
This quintet from Milan are making cinematographic jazz music or something similar. In 2007 they released, also on Boring Machines, their debut which was a soundtrack for a self-made movie, shot on a night trip on the motorways of their hometown.
Their newest album was initially a soundtrack for the silent movie "Inferno" and the result is an epic cd that features eight tracks with a length of 36 minutes.
It might be a short one but if someone ever told you that quickies are the best then they're right with Satan Is My Brother.
What you get here is an instrumental piece that balances between the dark mysterious feel of a David Lynch movie and the genius behind the instrumental Eno songs that were featured on the "Heroes" album by Bowie.
Sometimes jazzy, sometimes noisy, sometimes Krautrock-ish but above all a CD that blows you away.
One of the best things we reviewed this month on our pages.

Didier BECU
11/08/2011


 

Next reviews
LIBIDO FORMANDI • Insignificancy Rising
LARRNAKH • Like the silken shrouds of loneliness
DISTORTED MEMORY • Swallowing The Sun
ZYNIC • Fire Walk With Me
MXRCXL • Dump
DAZKARIEH • Ruido Do Silencio
KIRIA • Radio
23 TRUBLION 23 • Chants et danses au temps de Graffen Walder
FOSDYK WELL • Slumber and Stark Lots
BETTINA KOESTER • Queen Of Noise

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis