tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française

SAUL DIBB

Suite Française

Movie
DramaWar Movie

[75/100]   
22/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

There is a quite interesting discussion going on on the pages of the Belgian film magazine Vertigo. Since ages Flanders is dreaming of a Flemish movie star in Hollywood, and now that they finally have one, it seems like they want to hang him. A bad review of a foreign paper alarms the tabloids that put it on their front pages. I never said, and probably never will, that Matthias Schoenaerts is an excellent actor (even Bullhead is a bit overrated), but he is the sole Belgian who can say that he is a movie star in America. That alone deserves respect, and if you don’t, then you’re simply not a movie lover.

You can say a lot about his choice in genres. Because of his impressive body he’s not immediately someone you would cast for a costume drama, but it seems like this genre is his favourite at the moment. But then again, where were all those fans when he starred in the excellent gangster thriller Blood Ties?

His next movie is Suite Française by Saul Dibb. Maybe not immediately a name that will blow you away, but he is the one who asked Keira Knightley to star in The Duchess. Dibb chooses for his newest project the (unfinished) novel by Irène Némirovsky who died in Auschwitz. The manuscript was found years later by her daughter, and it was only recently published as a book. The novel deals about the dark side of French citizens who collaboratied with the enemy during World War II. The drama takes places in the small town of Bussy, some miles away from Paris. In 1941 the French government declared that it would no longer resist the German army. Soon tanks arrived in Bussy and the inhabitantsvwere forced to give shelter to the German soldiers in their home. Madame Angellier (Kristin Scott Thomas) isvalso forced to give one of her rooms to a German officer. She doesn’t grant Luitenant Bruno von Falk (Matthias Schoenaerts) a glance because he is the enemy, and she hasn’t forgotten that her own son is imprisoned in a German work camp. Her daughter-in-law Lucile (Michelle Williams) however, falls for the charms of the officer.

Suite Française is not a masterpiece, but an excellent war movie (albeit a very romantic one) like they don’t make them anymore these days. It may sound a bit to weird to hear the French speak perfect English, while the Germans use all opportunities to shout a “jawohl”, but that’s the only minor point. The cast is as good as perfect. Kristin Scott Thomas is indeed the woman you need when you’re looking for an old bitch, Williams is touching and Schoenaerts has the ideal face to perform a ruthless Nazi. Suite Française is a tip.

Didier BECU
22/04/2015


NL

Op de pagina’s van het Vlaamse filmmagazine Vertigo woedt er een interessante discussie. Sinds mensenheugenis droomt Vlaanderen luidop van een filmster waarmee Hollywood rekening houdt. En jawel, nu we er eentje hebben kiezen diezelfde Vlamingen ervoor om hun held op het schavot te brengen. Een slechte buitenlandse recensie wordt meteen voorpaginanieuws. Ik heb niet (en zal dat wellicht nooit doen) beweerd dat Matthias Schoenaerts een briljant acteur is (zelfs Rundskop is over het paard getild), maar hij is wel de enige die van zichzelf kan zeggen dat hij een buitenlandse ster is. Dat alleen al verdient respect, en als je dat niet hebt, dan ben je het zelfs niet waard om jezelf een filmfan te wanen.

Over zijn keuzes kun je het een en ander zeggen. Door zijn imposante lijf is hij misschien minder geschikt voor kostuumdrama’s en dat lijkt nou net het genre te zijn dat hij heeft uitgepikt om de wereld te tonen dat er ook in Antwerpen kan worden geacteerd. Maar goed, waar waren al die Schoenaerts-fans toen de meesterlijke gangsterfilm Blood Ties uitkwam?

Nu is er Suite Française van Saul Dibb. Dat is niet zo maar de eerste de beste, want hij was degene die Keira Knightley deed schitteren in The Duchess. Voor zijn nieuwste productie koos Dibb voor het (onafgewerkte) gelijknamige boek van Irène Némirovsky die in Auschwitz overleed. Het manuscript werd jaren later door haar dochter ontdekt en is als boek pas onlangs uitgebracht. Suite Française vertelt de minder fraaie kantjes van Fransen die meeheulden met de vijand. Het drama vindt plaats in Bussy, een dorpje niet ver van Parijs. De Franse regering deelt in 1941 mee dat ze niet langer de vijand bevecht en gewillig haar lot ondergaat. Weldra arriveren de eerste tanks in Bussy en worden de dorpelingen verplicht om Duitse soldaten een plaats in hun huis te bieden. Ook huisjesmelker Madame Angellier (Kristin Scott Thomas) ontsnapt niet aan deze regeling en wordt gedwongen om een kamer af te staan aan luitenant Bruno von Falk (Matthias Schoenaerts), Het ijskonijn gunt hem geen blik. Voor haar blijft hij de onverbiddelijke vijand en ze is niet vergeten dat haar bloedeigen zoon Gaston in een Duits werkkamp zit. Haar schoondochter Lucile (Michelle Williams) valt wel voor de charmes van de mof.

Suite Française is wel geen meesterwerk, toch is het een briljante oorlogsfilm (weliswaar met een zeer romantisch kantje) zoals ze tegenwoordig te weinig worden gemaakt. Het is misschien wel vreemd om Franse dorpelingen feilloos Engels te horen praten, terwijl de nazi’s geregeld “jawohl” mogen uitroepen, maar dat is het enige minpuntje. De cast is bijna briljant. Kristin Scott Thomas mag nog maar eens tonen dat ze de hardste tante uit het huidig filmwereldje is, Williams is ontroerend en Schoenaerts heeft het ideale tronie om een nazi te spelen. Ook al zal niet iedereen het kunnen (durven) appreciëren: Suite Française is een aanrader.

Didier BECU
22/04/2015


22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française 22/04/2015 : SAUL DIBB - Suite Française

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation