tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/10/2013 : SCARLET SOHO - Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

SCARLET SOHO

Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopFuture PopFuturepopMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[90/100]   

A Different Drum
26/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'Analogue Dialogue (Kill the Beat)' is from the start a great song, popping up, jumping up and down and getting a very positive vibe. I sense the same vibe as when I listen to Surgyn and maybe they have to do something together? A while ago I would have to called the genre for this one Euro pop, but as for today I'm not sure if it fit's. It's for sure very poppy and danceable. There is for sure some retro sound in it (even a slight case of Giorgio Moroder).

'Modern Radio' is a typical 80's song, very low profile synths and drums and even the voice's sound as (Spandau Ballet) if it were still the 80's. Its o so electro/poppy. It's a great dance floor hit for me! Already after 2 songs I demand a real cd from this band on my desk, but that won’t happen, grrr.

'Programmed to Perfection' gets a bit more of guitars, but still floats in an 80's dream sound and sounds great.

'Is growing up the best thing we can do' is for sure a nice title and a great track. Love the lyrics and love the beats. I sense some Gary Numan influence in it, mixed with The Human League. Very poppy and perfectly fitting for the dance floor!

'Speak your mind' shines as star, sounds very happy and with a nice retro vibe. Start spinning and dancing! Love the well worked out sound and the energy!

'We must destroy' gets more guitars and somehow a sound that recalls Gang of Four (a great band). Loove it!

'This Nausea' is a bit strange for a song, as title. It gets the same treatment as the previous song, it's just more into pop and fun! Love the chorus and the mix of all the voices. Synths and drums are great! So strange to hear the title been screaming out as if it was the best thing that can happen to you.

'Disconnected' sounds as great as the previous one and here I don't feel bad about the title, same about 'Satellites'.

'Fibre Optic' gets more into the Gang of Four sound, is a bit slower and is for me something really different from the other songs. Maybe the guitar sound makes me jump to this conclusion (this one is more into The Mission too).

'No reception' has a nice computer voice in the first seconds and jumps into some electro versus heavy metal guitars. The voice sounds more into harsh, here some aggressivity gets the upper hand.

'No Encore' has a nice bass player and sounds very different from the other songs (more guitar minded and gets a higher drive). Love the song & it's great to hear something different from the rest. Still the Gang of Four sound can be a nice influence.

'Pedal to the metal' (Kosheen remix) is from the start very weird. Never guessed I would review a Kosheen remix. The sound is warmer and more worked out than all the rest, but with the title you expect something else but an electro poppy song. The Human league must have been a big influence? Still, it's a great remix and totally not expected on this one! I hope a lot of radio stations play this one and maybe a lot of DJ's too?

What you need' (Psyche remix) gets a nice piano intro and turns into a warm 80's and poppy melody. Love the voice on this one, almost sounds like Mesh or Depeche Mode! I think this remix will get a lot of likes and I hope a lot of people will buy it as I love it too. It also has a nice human touch, a very sensitive one, and melancholic! I feel even some J-M Jarre influence, lolz. After a while I trapped my self whilst singing along, is that bad, doctor? No, it's just a jewel of a song and very catchy!

'Lights out London (live at Montreux '07) takes you on stage. It's a well driven beat song, up-tempo. The voice is still great. I sense some S.P.O.C.K. fever in it. So, if you are still not sure about this band, I hope that this one live song will get you and haunt you.

I honestly didn't know this band and now I want a physical cd from these guys, doesn't that say enough about my appreciation for this band? Welldone folks!

'Hit The Floor - Favorites and Rarities' CD available to pre-order

Scarlet Soho (shop) (£15.99 in UK and Europe - includes 16 page visual history, not inc P+P)

A Different Drum (shop) ($14 in US and $17 overseas - includes shipping)

More info:

official Scarlet Soho website and Scarlet Soho facebook page

Click here for the interview

Facebook Event:

31.01.2015 Scarlet Soho + Depeche Mode Party @ Kavka - Antwerp - B

Tickets & info:
www.bodybeats.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/10/2013


 

Next reviews
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within
UMBER • Sunshine Young
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
FEDERICO FELLINI • 8 1/2
HYDRUS • Nodes
FICTION FACTORY • Throw the warped wheel out
ARIEL VROMEN • The Iceman
ELEMENTS • Elements
GODFATHERS, THE • Jukebox Fury

 

Other reviews from SCARLET SOHO
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
SCARLET SOHO • Two Steps From Heartache EP

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion