tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/10/2013 : SCARLET SOHO - Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

SCARLET SOHO

Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

MusicCD
Dark PopElectro PopFuture PopFuturepopMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[90/100]   

A Different Drum
26/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'Analogue Dialogue (Kill the Beat)' is from the start a great song, popping up, jumping up and down and getting a very positive vibe. I sense the same vibe as when I listen to Surgyn and maybe they have to do something together? A while ago I would have to called the genre for this one Euro pop, but as for today I'm not sure if it fit's. It's for sure very poppy and danceable. There is for sure some retro sound in it (even a slight case of Giorgio Moroder).

'Modern Radio' is a typical 80's song, very low profile synths and drums and even the voice's sound as (Spandau Ballet) if it were still the 80's. Its o so electro/poppy. It's a great dance floor hit for me! Already after 2 songs I demand a real cd from this band on my desk, but that won’t happen, grrr.

'Programmed to Perfection' gets a bit more of guitars, but still floats in an 80's dream sound and sounds great.

'Is growing up the best thing we can do' is for sure a nice title and a great track. Love the lyrics and love the beats. I sense some Gary Numan influence in it, mixed with The Human League. Very poppy and perfectly fitting for the dance floor!

'Speak your mind' shines as star, sounds very happy and with a nice retro vibe. Start spinning and dancing! Love the well worked out sound and the energy!

'We must destroy' gets more guitars and somehow a sound that recalls Gang of Four (a great band). Loove it!

'This Nausea' is a bit strange for a song, as title. It gets the same treatment as the previous song, it's just more into pop and fun! Love the chorus and the mix of all the voices. Synths and drums are great! So strange to hear the title been screaming out as if it was the best thing that can happen to you.

'Disconnected' sounds as great as the previous one and here I don't feel bad about the title, same about 'Satellites'.

'Fibre Optic' gets more into the Gang of Four sound, is a bit slower and is for me something really different from the other songs. Maybe the guitar sound makes me jump to this conclusion (this one is more into The Mission too).

'No reception' has a nice computer voice in the first seconds and jumps into some electro versus heavy metal guitars. The voice sounds more into harsh, here some aggressivity gets the upper hand.

'No Encore' has a nice bass player and sounds very different from the other songs (more guitar minded and gets a higher drive). Love the song & it's great to hear something different from the rest. Still the Gang of Four sound can be a nice influence.

'Pedal to the metal' (Kosheen remix) is from the start very weird. Never guessed I would review a Kosheen remix. The sound is warmer and more worked out than all the rest, but with the title you expect something else but an electro poppy song. The Human league must have been a big influence? Still, it's a great remix and totally not expected on this one! I hope a lot of radio stations play this one and maybe a lot of DJ's too?

What you need' (Psyche remix) gets a nice piano intro and turns into a warm 80's and poppy melody. Love the voice on this one, almost sounds like Mesh or Depeche Mode! I think this remix will get a lot of likes and I hope a lot of people will buy it as I love it too. It also has a nice human touch, a very sensitive one, and melancholic! I feel even some J-M Jarre influence, lolz. After a while I trapped my self whilst singing along, is that bad, doctor? No, it's just a jewel of a song and very catchy!

'Lights out London (live at Montreux '07) takes you on stage. It's a well driven beat song, up-tempo. The voice is still great. I sense some S.P.O.C.K. fever in it. So, if you are still not sure about this band, I hope that this one live song will get you and haunt you.

I honestly didn't know this band and now I want a physical cd from these guys, doesn't that say enough about my appreciation for this band? Welldone folks!

'Hit The Floor - Favorites and Rarities' CD available to pre-order

Scarlet Soho (shop) (£15.99 in UK and Europe - includes 16 page visual history, not inc P+P)

A Different Drum (shop) ($14 in US and $17 overseas - includes shipping)

More info:

official Scarlet Soho website and Scarlet Soho facebook page

Click here for the interview

Facebook Event:

31.01.2015 Scarlet Soho + Depeche Mode Party @ Kavka - Antwerp - B

Tickets & info:
www.bodybeats.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/10/2013


 

Next reviews
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within
UMBER • Sunshine Young
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
FEDERICO FELLINI • 8 1/2
HYDRUS • Nodes
FICTION FACTORY • Throw the warped wheel out
ARIEL VROMEN • The Iceman
ELEMENTS • Elements
GODFATHERS, THE • Jukebox Fury

 

Other reviews from SCARLET SOHO
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
SCARLET SOHO • Two Steps From Heartache EP

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer