tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SCATTER FACTORY - Scatter Factory

SCATTER FACTORY

Scatter Factory

MusicCD
AmbientElectronics

[73/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Will Foster’s biography, the man behind Scatter Factory, is quite impressive. In the 90s he was involved in Delicatessen (the indie band that released the highly underrated There's no Confusing Some People) and Loger (then a super band because it featured Danny Goffey of Supergrass). Afterwards, he was the keyboard player and guitarist of Heather Nova, The Fratelis and The Tears (the band of Brett Anderson). The latter is highly impressed with Will's solo work and recently described his music as beautiful stuff. Simple words, but when the frontman of Suede says something like that, it makes impact!

However, Scatter Factory has little to do with indie, more with ambient and experimental electronics. If you have to say something negative about this CD (with a cover that is designed by James Marsh, who previously did beautiful work for Talk Talk), then it must be the fact that it contains too many styles. Not homogeneous, although it depends on how you look at things. For some this will sound varied, others will say it is too varied. Fact is, that it is always quality music.

You hear field recordings (on Not There Yet And It's Getting Dark it seems like you hear someone walking with a panting dog), cosmic krautrock (the opener Catatonic Voyage), experimental neoclassical with influences of Harold Budd (Shattered), traditional ambient (Sheepish Hello) or just danceable electronic (the single Out the Blocks).

Beautiful? Do you really think we would disagree with Brett Anderson?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Will Foster, de man achter Scatter Factory, is op zijn minst imposant. In de jaren 90 was hij betrokken bij Delicatessen (de indieband die de zeer ondergewaardeerde There’s no Confusing Some People uitbracht) en Loger (toen nog een superband omdat Danny Goffey van Supergrass erbij was). Nadien was hij keyboardspeler en gitarist bij Heather Nova, The Fratelis en The Tears (de band met Brett Anderson). Die laatste is naar verluidt sterk onder de indruk van Wills solowerk en omschreef zijn muziek onlangs als beautiful stuff. Eenvoudige woorden, maar als de frontman van Suede zoiets zegt, heeft dat toch nog altijd impact!

Nochtans heeft Scatter Factory weinig met indie te maken, eerder met ambient en experimentele elektronica. Als er iets negatiefs te zeggen valt over deze cd (met een hoes die is ontwerpen door James Marsh, die eerder mooi werk voor Talk Talk leverde), dan is het gewoon dat hij net iets te veel stijlen heeft. Niet echt een homogeen werk dus, hoewel het afhangt van hoe je de dingen bekijkt. Voor de ene zal dit gevarieerd klinken, voor de andere dan weer te gevarieerd. Feit is wel dat het steeds om kwalitatieve muziek gaat.

Je hoort field recordings (in Not There Yet And It’s Getting Dark lijkt het wel alsof je iemand hoort die met een hijgende hond wandelt), kosmische krautrock (opener Catatonic Voyage), experimentele neoklassiek met invloeden van Harold Budd (Shattered), traditionele ambient (Sheepish Hello) of gewoon wat dansbare elektronische klanken (de single Out The Blocks).

Mooi? Denk je echt dat we Brett Anderson zouden tegenspreken?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
GUNG HO • Out of The West
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell