tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SCATTER FACTORY - Scatter Factory

SCATTER FACTORY

Scatter Factory

MusicCD
AmbientElectronics

[73/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Will Foster’s biography, the man behind Scatter Factory, is quite impressive. In the 90s he was involved in Delicatessen (the indie band that released the highly underrated There's no Confusing Some People) and Loger (then a super band because it featured Danny Goffey of Supergrass). Afterwards, he was the keyboard player and guitarist of Heather Nova, The Fratelis and The Tears (the band of Brett Anderson). The latter is highly impressed with Will's solo work and recently described his music as beautiful stuff. Simple words, but when the frontman of Suede says something like that, it makes impact!

However, Scatter Factory has little to do with indie, more with ambient and experimental electronics. If you have to say something negative about this CD (with a cover that is designed by James Marsh, who previously did beautiful work for Talk Talk), then it must be the fact that it contains too many styles. Not homogeneous, although it depends on how you look at things. For some this will sound varied, others will say it is too varied. Fact is, that it is always quality music.

You hear field recordings (on Not There Yet And It's Getting Dark it seems like you hear someone walking with a panting dog), cosmic krautrock (the opener Catatonic Voyage), experimental neoclassical with influences of Harold Budd (Shattered), traditional ambient (Sheepish Hello) or just danceable electronic (the single Out the Blocks).

Beautiful? Do you really think we would disagree with Brett Anderson?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Will Foster, de man achter Scatter Factory, is op zijn minst imposant. In de jaren 90 was hij betrokken bij Delicatessen (de indieband die de zeer ondergewaardeerde There’s no Confusing Some People uitbracht) en Loger (toen nog een superband omdat Danny Goffey van Supergrass erbij was). Nadien was hij keyboardspeler en gitarist bij Heather Nova, The Fratelis en The Tears (de band met Brett Anderson). Die laatste is naar verluidt sterk onder de indruk van Wills solowerk en omschreef zijn muziek onlangs als beautiful stuff. Eenvoudige woorden, maar als de frontman van Suede zoiets zegt, heeft dat toch nog altijd impact!

Nochtans heeft Scatter Factory weinig met indie te maken, eerder met ambient en experimentele elektronica. Als er iets negatiefs te zeggen valt over deze cd (met een hoes die is ontwerpen door James Marsh, die eerder mooi werk voor Talk Talk leverde), dan is het gewoon dat hij net iets te veel stijlen heeft. Niet echt een homogeen werk dus, hoewel het afhangt van hoe je de dingen bekijkt. Voor de ene zal dit gevarieerd klinken, voor de andere dan weer te gevarieerd. Feit is wel dat het steeds om kwalitatieve muziek gaat.

Je hoort field recordings (in Not There Yet And It’s Getting Dark lijkt het wel alsof je iemand hoort die met een hijgende hond wandelt), kosmische krautrock (opener Catatonic Voyage), experimentele neoklassiek met invloeden van Harold Budd (Shattered), traditionele ambient (Sheepish Hello) of gewoon wat dansbare elektronische klanken (de single Out The Blocks).

Mooi? Denk je echt dat we Brett Anderson zouden tegenspreken?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
GUNG HO • Out of The West
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots