tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SCATTER FACTORY - Scatter Factory

SCATTER FACTORY

Scatter Factory

MusicCD
AmbientElectronics

[73/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Will Foster’s biography, the man behind Scatter Factory, is quite impressive. In the 90s he was involved in Delicatessen (the indie band that released the highly underrated There's no Confusing Some People) and Loger (then a super band because it featured Danny Goffey of Supergrass). Afterwards, he was the keyboard player and guitarist of Heather Nova, The Fratelis and The Tears (the band of Brett Anderson). The latter is highly impressed with Will's solo work and recently described his music as beautiful stuff. Simple words, but when the frontman of Suede says something like that, it makes impact!

However, Scatter Factory has little to do with indie, more with ambient and experimental electronics. If you have to say something negative about this CD (with a cover that is designed by James Marsh, who previously did beautiful work for Talk Talk), then it must be the fact that it contains too many styles. Not homogeneous, although it depends on how you look at things. For some this will sound varied, others will say it is too varied. Fact is, that it is always quality music.

You hear field recordings (on Not There Yet And It's Getting Dark it seems like you hear someone walking with a panting dog), cosmic krautrock (the opener Catatonic Voyage), experimental neoclassical with influences of Harold Budd (Shattered), traditional ambient (Sheepish Hello) or just danceable electronic (the single Out the Blocks).

Beautiful? Do you really think we would disagree with Brett Anderson?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Will Foster, de man achter Scatter Factory, is op zijn minst imposant. In de jaren 90 was hij betrokken bij Delicatessen (de indieband die de zeer ondergewaardeerde There’s no Confusing Some People uitbracht) en Loger (toen nog een superband omdat Danny Goffey van Supergrass erbij was). Nadien was hij keyboardspeler en gitarist bij Heather Nova, The Fratelis en The Tears (de band met Brett Anderson). Die laatste is naar verluidt sterk onder de indruk van Wills solowerk en omschreef zijn muziek onlangs als beautiful stuff. Eenvoudige woorden, maar als de frontman van Suede zoiets zegt, heeft dat toch nog altijd impact!

Nochtans heeft Scatter Factory weinig met indie te maken, eerder met ambient en experimentele elektronica. Als er iets negatiefs te zeggen valt over deze cd (met een hoes die is ontwerpen door James Marsh, die eerder mooi werk voor Talk Talk leverde), dan is het gewoon dat hij net iets te veel stijlen heeft. Niet echt een homogeen werk dus, hoewel het afhangt van hoe je de dingen bekijkt. Voor de ene zal dit gevarieerd klinken, voor de andere dan weer te gevarieerd. Feit is wel dat het steeds om kwalitatieve muziek gaat.

Je hoort field recordings (in Not There Yet And It’s Getting Dark lijkt het wel alsof je iemand hoort die met een hijgende hond wandelt), kosmische krautrock (opener Catatonic Voyage), experimentele neoklassiek met invloeden van Harold Budd (Shattered), traditionele ambient (Sheepish Hello) of gewoon wat dansbare elektronische klanken (de single Out The Blocks).

Mooi? Denk je echt dat we Brett Anderson zouden tegenspreken?

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
GUNG HO • Out of The West
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017