tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/02/2016 : SCHONWALD, WINTER SEVERITY INDEX, STARCONTROL, PHANTOM LOVE, IL PULSIVO - Brussels, Botanique (06/02/2016)

SCHONWALD, WINTER SEVERITY INDEX, STARCONTROL, PHANTOM LOVE, IL PULSIVO

Brussels, Botanique (06/02/2016)

Concert
10/02/2016, Xavier KRUTH

EN

An exclusively Italian bill, that’s what Fantastique Night presented us on Saturday. Somewhat surprising, since they usually make a point of programming at least one Belgian band in each edition. Not so today, but we can’t blame them. This bill is indeed a top one and the exclusive Italian atmosphere - there seems to be no end to the current stream of outstanding groups from that country - only makes it more attractive.

Star Control is the only group with a male singer this evening. But the charming female bass player also takes some vocal duties, as does the equally charming guitarist. They play post-punk, but they surprise by starting with their slowest and most melancholic songs. Then, they slowly build up to the more up-tempo songs. They use all conventional tricks: a bass that produces deep sounds and then starts playing the highest notes melodically; a guitar that travels back and forth between hectic and melodic, and a singer who sings in a rigid, but passionate way and whose posture sometimes reminds us of the late Ian Curtis. The evening started well.

 Winter Severity Index is the band that we had been looking forward to. The two ladies - accompanied by a bassist – didn’t steal their name. From the first notes onwards the temperature drops significantly. Winter finally starts, but only in this room in the basement of the Brussels Botanique. The guitar sounds as icy hail against the walls, while the synths suggest a dense fog. The voice of Simona Ferrucci bites to the bone, and it is heavy to trudge through the high piled snow on the rhythm of the drum machine. Sounds miserable? Well, I have deeply enjoyed it and I'm sure the large audience did just the same.

 Schonwald does not really increase the temperature, but the music is compelling and catchy. The couple Luca and Alessandra - soon to be married - presents chilly, but poppy wave in which the icy voice of Alessandra and the effect-overloaded guitar of Luca are central. They already released three CDs, and with Between Parallel Lights, they were canonized in certain circles. It works live! The music alternates between melodic and monotonous. At times it sounds like melodic batcave, at others like dreamy shoegaze. More than once I thought of My Bloody Valentine. But the result is always great.

The official program may well be over, there's also an after-party. And exceptionally, another gig. Valentina Fanigliulo played on the stage of the Fantastique.Night a few years ago with her project Mushy. That must have been a memorable performance, as the echoes that I received encouraged me to buy her CD. I immediately regretted that I had missed the concert.

Besides, Valentina, who at the time played in Winter Severity Index, gave the organizers a demo of the group and consequently Winter Severity Index was invited for this edition. It seemed natural that Valentina would also play with her new project Phantom Love. Mushy plays melancholic wave with slowly passing soundscapes, accompanied by angelic laments. Phantom Love is more danceable without vocals. Valentina seems to be in ecstasy as she sends her rhythmic concoctions to the audience, which was hypnotized by her beautiful sounds.

This Italian theme night was a great success, even by Fantastique.Night standards. The next event is on April 16. This concert is the same as the edition that was cancelled in November due to the high threat of terrorism. On the program: Molly Nilsson, Mary Ocher and Rodolphe Coster. Order your tickets quickly if you want to be there, because it was almost sold out in December.

Xavier KRUTH
10/02/2016


NL

De Nederlandstalige versie vind je op Dark Entries.

Xavier KRUTH
10/02/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets