tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground

SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR)

The Frozen Ground

Movie


[63/100]   

A-Film
22/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

We’re actually surprised that we're writing this down, but Nicolas Cage finally made a decent movie. And that feels good, especially after having seen pure trash like Tresspass, Drive Angry or that horrible Ghost Rider-sequel, as all by all Cage is one of our fave actors….at least that is if you offer him a good role. Not that The Frozen Ground has become a masterpiece (it’s certainly not), but at least the movie could hold our attention during two hours and that’s a rare thing regarding recent Cage-movies, not?

The Frozen Ground is the debut from director Scott Walker who portrays the portrait of serial killer Robert Hansen. Sadly enough this story is based on real facts as this psycho killed seventeen people in the Anchorage-area. This role is brilliantly performed by John Cusack. It seems like since The Paperboy that he swopped his image from nice American boy to the ultimate baddie.

The movie starts at the moment young hooker Cindy Paulson (Vanessa Hudgens) has escaped from her killer. The poor girl has been chained for a whole week. According to her attacker she’s lucky as before her, seven other women were killed. The police has no clue where to search, let alone finding any evidence to catch the man, but inspector Jack Halcombe (Nicolas Cage) thinks that he found the answer to that.

In a way you can say The Frozen Ground is like The Silence Of The Lambs little brother. That’s surely not the merit from Walker as he surely hasn’t the skills from Jonathan Demme, but simply because Cusack is playing the role of the sadistic murder in an excellent way. He stutters, he lacks any self-confidence, he’s even the perfect family man, but as soon as he has a victim in his hands, he turns out to be a brutal monster. Cage just plays on automatic pilot, but at least he’s not working on our nerves. Vanessa Hudgens who we already saw in the excellent Spring Breakers is more than just a perfect Barbie doll, she really can act. It’s a pity this movie misses some thrills, but that’s just because Walker was so dumb to reveal some vital plots in the beginning of the story. But because of Cusack’s performance alone, The Frozen Ground is a tip and a movie you won't forget the next day. And admit it, how long has it been since we could write something like that about Nicolas Cage?

The Frozen Ground is out on both DVD and Blu-ray. In the Benelux the film is released by A-Film.

 

 

Didier BECU
22/12/2013


NL

Het klinkt bijna ongelooflijk dat we dit neerpennen, maar Nicolas Cage is er eindelijk nog eens in geslaagd om een behoorlijke film af te leveren. En na miskleunen als Tresspass, Drive Angry of de afgrijselijke sequel van Ghost Rider doet dat deugd, want Cage blijft toch een man die kan acteren (ten minste als men hem de juiste rollen geeft). Niet dat The Frozen Ground nu meteen een meesterwerk is, wel op zijn minst een thriller die je twee uur lang op het puntje van je stoel vastnagelt.

The Frozen Ground is het debuut van Scott Walker over seriemoordenaar Robert Hansen. Jammer genoeg is het een film die op waargebeurde feiten gebaseerd, want deze gestoorde gek vermoordde zeventien mensen in de buurt van Anchorage. Een rol die op briljante wijze wordt vertolkt door John Cusack. Vroeger was deze American nice boy de ideale acteur voor één of andere romantische komedie (ook al vergeten we nooit High Fidelity), maar sinds The Paperboy hebben filmmakers ontdekt dat hij ook over een ideale boeventronie beschikt. De film vangt aan wanneer het jonge hoertje Cindy Paulson (Vanessa Hudgens) weet te ontsnappen uit de handen van een krankzinnige psychopaat. Het arme wicht was een hele week vastgeketend en moest de grootste vernederingen ondergaan. Haar belager vertelt haar op laconieke wijze dat al zeven andere meisjes een gelijkaardige marteling hebben ondergaan. De politie tast in het duister, maar inspecteur Jack Halcombe (Nicolas Cage) denkt dat hij een manier heeft gevonden om de seriemoordenaar bij de lurven te pakken.

Mits wat goede wil kun je The Frozen Ground het kleine broertje van The Silence Of The Lambs noemen. Niet dat Walker de evenknie van Jonathan Demme is (integendeel!), wel omdat Cusack op huiveringwekkende wijze het portret van de gestoorde Hansen neerzet. Hij stottert, heeft geen spatje zelfvertrouwen, is zelfs een ideale huisvader, maar als er een slachtoffer in zijn handen terecht komt dan wordt hij een sadistische beul zonder genade. Cage speelt op automatische piloot, maar werkt voor één keer niet op de zenuwen. Vanessa Hudgens die we eerder al zagen schitteren in Harmony Korines excellente Spring Breakers is meer dan zo maar een mooi snoetje, want het meisje kan wel degelijk acteren. De film is jammer genoeg nooit echt spannend, omdat Walker zo dom is om alles in de eerste tien minuten te verklappen, maar door Cusacks vertolking is The Frozen Ground wel een misdaadprent die je de volgende dag niet vergeet. En tja, het is echt wel lang geleden dat we zoiets nog van een Cage-prent hebben kunnen zeggen, niet?

The Frozen Ground is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray. In de Benelux is de film uitgebracht door A-Film.

 

Didier BECU
22/12/2013


22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat