tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground

SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR)

The Frozen Ground

Movie


[63/100]   

A-Film
22/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

We’re actually surprised that we're writing this down, but Nicolas Cage finally made a decent movie. And that feels good, especially after having seen pure trash like Tresspass, Drive Angry or that horrible Ghost Rider-sequel, as all by all Cage is one of our fave actors….at least that is if you offer him a good role. Not that The Frozen Ground has become a masterpiece (it’s certainly not), but at least the movie could hold our attention during two hours and that’s a rare thing regarding recent Cage-movies, not?

The Frozen Ground is the debut from director Scott Walker who portrays the portrait of serial killer Robert Hansen. Sadly enough this story is based on real facts as this psycho killed seventeen people in the Anchorage-area. This role is brilliantly performed by John Cusack. It seems like since The Paperboy that he swopped his image from nice American boy to the ultimate baddie.

The movie starts at the moment young hooker Cindy Paulson (Vanessa Hudgens) has escaped from her killer. The poor girl has been chained for a whole week. According to her attacker she’s lucky as before her, seven other women were killed. The police has no clue where to search, let alone finding any evidence to catch the man, but inspector Jack Halcombe (Nicolas Cage) thinks that he found the answer to that.

In a way you can say The Frozen Ground is like The Silence Of The Lambs little brother. That’s surely not the merit from Walker as he surely hasn’t the skills from Jonathan Demme, but simply because Cusack is playing the role of the sadistic murder in an excellent way. He stutters, he lacks any self-confidence, he’s even the perfect family man, but as soon as he has a victim in his hands, he turns out to be a brutal monster. Cage just plays on automatic pilot, but at least he’s not working on our nerves. Vanessa Hudgens who we already saw in the excellent Spring Breakers is more than just a perfect Barbie doll, she really can act. It’s a pity this movie misses some thrills, but that’s just because Walker was so dumb to reveal some vital plots in the beginning of the story. But because of Cusack’s performance alone, The Frozen Ground is a tip and a movie you won't forget the next day. And admit it, how long has it been since we could write something like that about Nicolas Cage?

The Frozen Ground is out on both DVD and Blu-ray. In the Benelux the film is released by A-Film.

 

 

Didier BECU
22/12/2013


NL

Het klinkt bijna ongelooflijk dat we dit neerpennen, maar Nicolas Cage is er eindelijk nog eens in geslaagd om een behoorlijke film af te leveren. En na miskleunen als Tresspass, Drive Angry of de afgrijselijke sequel van Ghost Rider doet dat deugd, want Cage blijft toch een man die kan acteren (ten minste als men hem de juiste rollen geeft). Niet dat The Frozen Ground nu meteen een meesterwerk is, wel op zijn minst een thriller die je twee uur lang op het puntje van je stoel vastnagelt.

The Frozen Ground is het debuut van Scott Walker over seriemoordenaar Robert Hansen. Jammer genoeg is het een film die op waargebeurde feiten gebaseerd, want deze gestoorde gek vermoordde zeventien mensen in de buurt van Anchorage. Een rol die op briljante wijze wordt vertolkt door John Cusack. Vroeger was deze American nice boy de ideale acteur voor één of andere romantische komedie (ook al vergeten we nooit High Fidelity), maar sinds The Paperboy hebben filmmakers ontdekt dat hij ook over een ideale boeventronie beschikt. De film vangt aan wanneer het jonge hoertje Cindy Paulson (Vanessa Hudgens) weet te ontsnappen uit de handen van een krankzinnige psychopaat. Het arme wicht was een hele week vastgeketend en moest de grootste vernederingen ondergaan. Haar belager vertelt haar op laconieke wijze dat al zeven andere meisjes een gelijkaardige marteling hebben ondergaan. De politie tast in het duister, maar inspecteur Jack Halcombe (Nicolas Cage) denkt dat hij een manier heeft gevonden om de seriemoordenaar bij de lurven te pakken.

Mits wat goede wil kun je The Frozen Ground het kleine broertje van The Silence Of The Lambs noemen. Niet dat Walker de evenknie van Jonathan Demme is (integendeel!), wel omdat Cusack op huiveringwekkende wijze het portret van de gestoorde Hansen neerzet. Hij stottert, heeft geen spatje zelfvertrouwen, is zelfs een ideale huisvader, maar als er een slachtoffer in zijn handen terecht komt dan wordt hij een sadistische beul zonder genade. Cage speelt op automatische piloot, maar werkt voor één keer niet op de zenuwen. Vanessa Hudgens die we eerder al zagen schitteren in Harmony Korines excellente Spring Breakers is meer dan zo maar een mooi snoetje, want het meisje kan wel degelijk acteren. De film is jammer genoeg nooit echt spannend, omdat Walker zo dom is om alles in de eerste tien minuten te verklappen, maar door Cusacks vertolking is The Frozen Ground wel een misdaadprent die je de volgende dag niet vergeet. En tja, het is echt wel lang geleden dat we zoiets nog van een Cage-prent hebben kunnen zeggen, niet?

The Frozen Ground is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray. In de Benelux is de film uitgebracht door A-Film.

 

Didier BECU
22/12/2013


22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground 22/12/2013 : SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) - The Frozen Ground

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers