tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed

SCOTT WAUGH

Need For Speed

Movie
Action

[50/100]   

E1
26/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those who start to shiver when having a movie in your hands that’s been based upon a game? I must confess that you have to torture me to hear me mentioning one example that climbs above the average rating, and no: the boobs from Angelina Jolie don’t count!

Game fans are probably familiar with Need for Speed: a game that is already around for more than 20 years. The reason why now a film version has been made might have something to do with the fact that today there’s a market for race movies as such. So yes, this picture is about fast cars (only)! Some might say that you have Top Gear for stuff like that. But then again, everybody knows that the company who ordered this franchise (the game company Electronic Arts themselves) was just hoping for an own Fast & The Furious-goldmine.

The story deals about illegal street racing (yes, you heard that story before!). There’s even more, you really don’t have to read this review or watch the film to know what’s it all about: cars that speed and crash, added with a thin revenge story.

Tobey Marshall’s heart (Aaron Paul) beats for cars. He is a well-respected street racer who owns a garage. Tobey is in financial need to keep his company going. Dino Brewster (Dominic Cooper) convinces him to take part of a race in where the winner gets a lot of money. The race ends in a disaster with a deadly accident. Dino disappears, while Tobey ends up in jail. Once he’s free, he wants revenge and his way of doing that is taking part in another race: the De Leon that’s organised by Monarch (Michael Keaton).

Director Scott Waugh was in a former life a stuntman himself. That’s a bonus as he wanted to make everything as real as possible. You notice that and that is what makes this product better than most of his competitors. Car freaks surely will get wet pants when watching Need for Speed, while cinematographic fans only will shrug their shoulders. This is brainless entertainment, but made in a decent way. It’s weird to see that the leading role is performed by Aaron Paul who was one of the main stars in Breaking Bad that is for many the example from ultimate quality!

Who knows if Aaron Paul dreamt of being the next Paul Walker. Let’s hope that he can divide reality from fiction. And more, let’s hope the same for all those speed fans who surely will adore this. Don’t try this on the streets!

Need For Speed is out on DVD and Blu-ray (available in a combo-pack that features both the 2D- en 3D-version) at Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
26/08/2014


NL

Voel je het ook bibberen als je weet dat je een film in handen hebt die is gebaseerd op een game? Toegegeven, er zullen heel wat sessies op de pijnbank nodig zijn om mij te doen bekennen dat er één gameverfilming boven de middelmaat uitsteekt. En neen, de boezem van Angelina Jolie telt niet mee!

Gameliefhebbers zullen wellicht vertrouwd zijn met Need for Speed: een spel dat ondertussen al zo’n twintig jaar in de winkelrekken ligt. Wellicht heeft de filmversie zo lang op zitten wachten omdat er vandaag een markt voor raceverhalen bestaat, want jawel in deze franchise staan niet de mensen maar wel de supersnelle wagens centraal. Tegenstanders kunnen misschien wel opperen dat er zoiets als Top Gear bestaat, maar toch is het duidelijk dat de opdrachtgever (het gamebedrijf Electronic Arts dus!) hoopte dat ze hiermee een eigen Fast & The Furious-goudmijn hadden gevonden.

Het verhaal gaat over illegale straatraces (jawel!) en is dus van ondergeschikt belang. Meer zelfs, je moet noch de recensie lezen noch de film zien om te weten waarover dit handelt: auto’s die geregeld over de kop gaan, tegen een muur botsen toegevoegd met een flinterdun wraakverhaaltje.

Het hart van Tobey Marshall (Aaron Paul) klopt voor auto’s. Hij is een gevierde straatracer die een eigen garage bezit die in de financiële problemen zit. Tobey heeft geld nodig en laat zich door Dino Brewster (Dominic Cooper) overhalen om deel te nemen aan een race waar de winnaar een gigantisch bedrag kan winnen. De wedstrijd eindigt in mineur want één van de deelnemers sterft. Dino verdwijnt met de noorderzon, terwijl Tobey verantwoordelijk wordt geacht en een tijdje mag gaan brommen. Bij zijn vrijlating heeft Tobey maar één doel: wraak, en dat kan alleen maar door aan een andere illegale race deel te nemen nl. de De Leon die door de Monarch (Michael Keaton) wordt georganiseerd.

Regisseur Scott Waugh die in een vorig leven zelf stuntrijder was heeft van Need for Speed een wervelende genrefilm gemaakt waar autofreaks zonder twijfel een natte broek van zullen krijgen. De regisseur wilde alles zo veel mogelijk echt filmen waardoor deze racefilm meteen een extra dimensie krijgt die zijn concurrenten niet hebben. Cinematografisch bekeken is de film uiteraard een pak minder, want dit is en blijft hersenloos entertainment. Het blijft raar om te zien dat Aaron Paul zich liet ompraten voor deze rol, want het gaat al bij al toch om de acteur uit Breaking Bad en laat dat nu een toonbeeld van kwaliteitstelevisie zijn!

Nu goed, wie weet heeft Aaron Paul er altijd van gedroomd om de nieuwe Paul Walker te worden. Laat ons hopen dat hij de realiteit van de werkelijkheid kan onderscheiden, net zoals de vele fans die deze film zullen adoreren. Don’t try this on the streets!

Need For Speed is uit op dvd en Blu-ray (een combopack met de 2D- en 3D-versie) op Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
26/08/2014


26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed 26/08/2014 : SCOTT WAUGH - Need For Speed

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain