tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/08/2015 : SEALINGS - I'm A Bastard

SEALINGS

I'm A Bastard

MusicCD
Indie

[65/100]   

Faux Discx
30/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Floorgazing sonic powerhouses Sealings hail from Brighton yet sound like they've lived in an urban jungle terrorised by axe-wielding psychos. Their merciless debut I'm a Bastard sounds like Cocteau Twins tuning up with Hookworms with Red Lorry Yellow Lorry and Killing Joke providing industrial drums and narcotics. Needless to say, it's a glorious aural mess that defies definition and demands your utmost attention, if you stay the distance.

From the chilling funereal tin-box scattergun drumbeats on the single My Boyfriend's Dead to the warped cacophony of the title-track, Sealings pull no punches despite not employing real drums (well, not in the traditional sense), opting instead for militaristic relentless programmed sequences that don't so much tickle your earbuds as brutalise them with the treble turned up. The beginning of Malloy might frighten the neighbours with its blizzard of MBV-style feedback that sounds something like a jet-engine while Transient Curse is by turns beautiful, melancholic, hollow, vivid and all too brief.

For me the triumph on here is the maelstrom of the charmingly-entitled Psychic Gobshite, where Jesus and Mary Chain drums meet distorted echoed vocals in a blistering wall of sound. It seems a shame that most of the lyrics are inaudible but it's the energy and commitment you have to admire across this whole album. Dark forces are at work here - why else would this young trio make such a glorious racket?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
30/08/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design