tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria

SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER

Victoria

MovieCinema
Crime

[91/100]   

September Films
09/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Was it the hot Sunday afternoon or has the movie fan simply lost his interest in groundbreaking cinema? Nobody knows the answer, but I'm sure of two things. I was all alone in the cinema hall and Victoria by Sebastian Schipper is one of the best (if not the best) films of 2015. The fourth film of this young German director is recorded in a very revolutionary way. When he was an actor, he played a few supporting roles in films by Tom Tywker (including Lola Rennt) and he was impressed by his directing. With Victoria Schipper wanted to ban all rules by filming 140 minutes in one take. The result is not only stunning in a cinematographic way , the story and everything else also cling to your soul.

We follow a night in the life of the young Spanish Victoria (Laia Costa) who lives in Berlin. She has to open the doors of the bio restaurant she works at, but she likes to go out after midnight. While going home one night, she meets Sonne (Frederick Lau), Boxer (Franz Rogowski) Blinker (Burak Yigit) and Fuss (Max Mauff) at the exit of the disco. The naive Victoria realizes that the young people are doing things that are anything but legal, but in some way she is attracted to them. Especially with Sonne, with whom she has nice conversations. She sees how the gang is trying to steal a car and how they nick a couple of bottles of beer in a night shop, but these pranks are for Victoria like a sensation that she has never experienced before. Everything changes when Boxer gets a phone call. He has to do a "little job". Fuss is so drunk, that the four guys are asking the help of Victoria. It’s the beginning of hell…

The camera of Sturla Brandth Grøvlen always follow the actors, so you get the feeling that the viewer experiences it all like Victoria. A crazy ride in a metropolis that looks beautiful and ugly, and were danger is waiting at every corner. You can ask yourself why the young woman is so obsessed by this dangerous gang, but that's not the essence of Victoria. This German production is the bastard child of Trainspotting and La Haine, or in other words: one of the best (no, THE best ) films of the year. Exciting from the first until the very last second.

Didier BECU
09/07/2015


NL

Lag het nu aan die zwoele zondagnamiddag of heeft de filmliefhebber gewoon geen zin meer in grensverleggende cinema? Niemand die het antwoord weet, maar van twee dingen ben ik zeker. Ik zat moederziel alleen in de filmtempel en Victoria van Sebastian Schipper is één van de beste (misschien de allerbeste) films van 2015. De vierde film van deze jonge Duitse regisseur is op een zeer revolutionaire manier opgenomen. Toen hij als acteur een paar bijrollen speelde in films van Tom Tywker (o.a. Lola Rennt), was hij onder de indruk van diens aparte regietechniek. Met Victoria wilde Schipper alle regieregels aan zijn laars lappen en besloot om een film van meer dan 140 minuten in één take op te nemen. Het resultaat is niet alleen cinematografisch verbluffend, ook het verhaal en alles wat met de film te maken heeft blijft aan je ziel kleven.

We volgen een nacht in het leven van de jonge Spaanse Victoria (Laia Costa) die in Berlijn woont. Ze wordt verondersteld om in de vroege ochtend de deuren van het biorestaurantte openen waar ze werkt, maar ze kan het niet laten om tot in de late uurtjes uit te gaan. Als Victoria besluit om naar huis te gaan, ontmoet zij bij de uitgang van de disco Sonne (Frederick Lau), Boxer (Franz Rogowski), Blinker (Burak Yigit) en Fuss (Max Mauff). De naïeve Victoria beseft wel dat de jongelui dingen uitspoken die allesbehalve toegelaten zijn, maar op een of andere manier voelt zij zich aangetrokken tot de vier. Vooral met Sonne lopen de conversaties lekker. Ze ziet wel hoe de bende een auto probeert te stelen of hoe ze in een nachtwinkel een paar flessen bier jatten, maar voor Victoria voelen deze kwajongensstreken eerder als een sensatie aan die ze nog nooit eerder heeft meegemaakt. De grappige, bijna speelse, sfeer verandert plotseling als Boxer een telefoontje krijgt. Hij hoort dat hij nog een “karweitje” moet opknappen. Fuss is ondertussen ladderzat, toch slagen de vier kerels erin om Victoria te overtuigen om mee te helpen aan de voor hun nog onbekende klus.

De camera van Sturla Brandth Grøvlen laat de hoofdrolspelers geen seconde los, waardoor je het gevoel krijgt dat de kijker het precies beleeft zoals Victoria. Een dolle rit in een metropool die er even mooi als lelijk uitziet, en met om iedere hoek een gevaar. Je kan je afvragen waarom de jonge vrouw zich zo laat meeslepen door deze gevaarlijke bende, maar dat is de essentie niet van Victoria. Deze Duitse productie is het gedroomde bastaardkind van Trainspotting en La Haine, of m.a.w. één van de beste (of neen allerbeste) films van het jaar. Spannend tot de allerlaatste seconde.

Didier BECU
09/07/2015


09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria 09/07/2015 : SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER - Victoria

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide