tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SEED FROM THE GEISHA - Point Nemo

SEED FROM THE GEISHA

Point Nemo

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Seed From The Geisha is a French alternative/progressive rock band with influences from bands like Oceansize, Thrice or Foo Fighters.

With Point Nemo, the band recorded its second album. Again it is a solid and well produced record. The songs sound more like alternative rock. Ascetic would fit on a compilation of Studio Brussel. Cast The Anchor has an instrumental piece with a lot of strings in the middle. 47 and Point Nemo are more like Oceansize and similar bands. Point Nemo is the point in the ocean which is the farthest away from land. The instrumental intro of the album is named after the coordinates of this point, being 48 ° 52 '36 "S, 123 ° 23' 36" W.

Eight songs which are almost perfect, and two acoustic bonus versions of Cast The Anchor and 47, the latter actually sounds better than the album track because the melody is better.

You probably read it between the lines: a strong album, but I miss that little extra to speak of a remarkable album. For the rest this is very professional and alternative rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Seed From The Geisha oftewel SFTG is een Franse alternative/progrockband met invloeden van bands zoals Oceansize, Thrice of Foo Fighters.

Met Point Nemo is het gezelschap aan zijn tweede langspeler toe. Op Point Nemo is opnieuw een degelijk en goed geproducet album. De songs klinken eerder als alternatieve rock. Ascetic is bijvoorbeeld een song die niet zou misstaan op een compilatie van Studio Brussel tussenFoo Fighters en Nickelback. Cast The Anchor bloeit open door middel van een instrumentaal middenstukje met veel strijkers. 47 en Point Nemo liggen dan eerder in het verlengde van Oceansize en gelijksoortige bands. Point Nemo staat voor het punt in de oceaan dat het verst verwijderd is van land. De instrumentale intro van het album is genoemd naar de coördinaten van dit punt zijnde 48° 52′ 36″ S, 123° 23′ 36″ W.

Acht nummers waarop zo goed als niets aan te merken is en twee akoestische bonusversies van Cast The Anchor en 47, waarvan die laatste eigenlijk beter klinkt dan de albumtrack: gelaagder en alsof hij meer zuurstof krijgt. De melodieën komen beter uit.

Je leest het waarschijnlijk al een beetje tussen de lijnen: een zeer degelijk album waarvan ik dat tikkeltje meer mis om van een opvallend album te kunnen spreken. De zanglijnen blijven niet echt hangen, waardoor de tracks wat moeite hebben om zich te onderscheiden en in het geheugen te blijven hangen. Voor de rest heel vakkundige alternatieve rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life