tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SEED FROM THE GEISHA - Point Nemo

SEED FROM THE GEISHA

Point Nemo

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Seed From The Geisha is a French alternative/progressive rock band with influences from bands like Oceansize, Thrice or Foo Fighters.

With Point Nemo, the band recorded its second album. Again it is a solid and well produced record. The songs sound more like alternative rock. Ascetic would fit on a compilation of Studio Brussel. Cast The Anchor has an instrumental piece with a lot of strings in the middle. 47 and Point Nemo are more like Oceansize and similar bands. Point Nemo is the point in the ocean which is the farthest away from land. The instrumental intro of the album is named after the coordinates of this point, being 48 ° 52 '36 "S, 123 ° 23' 36" W.

Eight songs which are almost perfect, and two acoustic bonus versions of Cast The Anchor and 47, the latter actually sounds better than the album track because the melody is better.

You probably read it between the lines: a strong album, but I miss that little extra to speak of a remarkable album. For the rest this is very professional and alternative rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Seed From The Geisha oftewel SFTG is een Franse alternative/progrockband met invloeden van bands zoals Oceansize, Thrice of Foo Fighters.

Met Point Nemo is het gezelschap aan zijn tweede langspeler toe. Op Point Nemo is opnieuw een degelijk en goed geproducet album. De songs klinken eerder als alternatieve rock. Ascetic is bijvoorbeeld een song die niet zou misstaan op een compilatie van Studio Brussel tussenFoo Fighters en Nickelback. Cast The Anchor bloeit open door middel van een instrumentaal middenstukje met veel strijkers. 47 en Point Nemo liggen dan eerder in het verlengde van Oceansize en gelijksoortige bands. Point Nemo staat voor het punt in de oceaan dat het verst verwijderd is van land. De instrumentale intro van het album is genoemd naar de coördinaten van dit punt zijnde 48° 52′ 36″ S, 123° 23′ 36″ W.

Acht nummers waarop zo goed als niets aan te merken is en twee akoestische bonusversies van Cast The Anchor en 47, waarvan die laatste eigenlijk beter klinkt dan de albumtrack: gelaagder en alsof hij meer zuurstof krijgt. De melodieën komen beter uit.

Je leest het waarschijnlijk al een beetje tussen de lijnen: een zeer degelijk album waarvan ik dat tikkeltje meer mis om van een opvallend album te kunnen spreken. De zanglijnen blijven niet echt hangen, waardoor de tracks wat moeite hebben om zich te onderscheiden en in het geheugen te blijven hangen. Voor de rest heel vakkundige alternatieve rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WAVE-GOTIK-TREFFEN 2016 • Leipzig (Germany)
INTENT:OUTTAKE • Neustart
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

 

Same combination of genres: ALTERNATIVE ROCK + PROG ROCK
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
SLEEPING PULSE • Under The Same Sky
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Tallest Peak
A MOUTH FULL OF MATCHES • Smoke SIgnals EP

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem