tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SEED FROM THE GEISHA - Point Nemo

SEED FROM THE GEISHA

Point Nemo

MusicCD
Alternative RockProg Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Seed From The Geisha is a French alternative/progressive rock band with influences from bands like Oceansize, Thrice or Foo Fighters.

With Point Nemo, the band recorded its second album. Again it is a solid and well produced record. The songs sound more like alternative rock. Ascetic would fit on a compilation of Studio Brussel. Cast The Anchor has an instrumental piece with a lot of strings in the middle. 47 and Point Nemo are more like Oceansize and similar bands. Point Nemo is the point in the ocean which is the farthest away from land. The instrumental intro of the album is named after the coordinates of this point, being 48 ° 52 '36 "S, 123 ° 23' 36" W.

Eight songs which are almost perfect, and two acoustic bonus versions of Cast The Anchor and 47, the latter actually sounds better than the album track because the melody is better.

You probably read it between the lines: a strong album, but I miss that little extra to speak of a remarkable album. For the rest this is very professional and alternative rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Seed From The Geisha oftewel SFTG is een Franse alternative/progrockband met invloeden van bands zoals Oceansize, Thrice of Foo Fighters.

Met Point Nemo is het gezelschap aan zijn tweede langspeler toe. Op Point Nemo is opnieuw een degelijk en goed geproducet album. De songs klinken eerder als alternatieve rock. Ascetic is bijvoorbeeld een song die niet zou misstaan op een compilatie van Studio Brussel tussenFoo Fighters en Nickelback. Cast The Anchor bloeit open door middel van een instrumentaal middenstukje met veel strijkers. 47 en Point Nemo liggen dan eerder in het verlengde van Oceansize en gelijksoortige bands. Point Nemo staat voor het punt in de oceaan dat het verst verwijderd is van land. De instrumentale intro van het album is genoemd naar de coördinaten van dit punt zijnde 48° 52′ 36″ S, 123° 23′ 36″ W.

Acht nummers waarop zo goed als niets aan te merken is en twee akoestische bonusversies van Cast The Anchor en 47, waarvan die laatste eigenlijk beter klinkt dan de albumtrack: gelaagder en alsof hij meer zuurstof krijgt. De melodieën komen beter uit.

Je leest het waarschijnlijk al een beetje tussen de lijnen: een zeer degelijk album waarvan ik dat tikkeltje meer mis om van een opvallend album te kunnen spreken. De zanglijnen blijven niet echt hangen, waardoor de tracks wat moeite hebben om zich te onderscheiden en in het geheugen te blijven hangen. Voor de rest heel vakkundige alternatieve rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)