tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / download review

22/07/2018 : SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS - Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS

Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

MusicVinyl / Download
MinimalSynth WaveSynthpop

[87/100]   

Avant! Records
22/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Sultry Spain, land of sun and siesta, brings us coolness through very cold chilly synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is the new project of two key figures from the synth-wave / industrial scene of Barcelona. Andrea P. Latorre and Sergi Algiz, founders of the label Cønjuntø Vacíø and also active in the post-punk band Wind Atlas, are walking more pop-oriented roads with SDH. Synthpop / -wave songs suffused with a touch of EBM and techno. The feat of arms Semiotics Department of Heteronyms comes in a limited edition of 250 jet black vinyls, so hurry!

The duo may call itself synthpop-like with this project but the chill still has a frosty edge to give. With The Scent, for example, the temperature drops to freezing point at high speed. Blessed dark minimal / synthwave with great vocals from Andrea. Musically supported by synths that have survived for 40 years and from their depths, the still conjure up an analog blanket of sound. In She Uncovers Before Me, a music lover with a broader taste discerns a hint of Dolores O'Riordan in the vocal lines. A quietly striding piece of great music.

I wanted to say something, but what... Tell Them... yes, precisely: a great, more up-tempo song that reveals a hint of EBM. Cut from the same cloth is: I Mean - which also houses some techno elements. So blissfully danceable without being flat, quite the contrary.

Synthwave of the highest level with Guilty And Gifted and with What Did I Come For? A creature of flesh and blood would forget the cemetery if you were sucked into the songs of this 8-track debut album.

This initial release is hopefully the first of many. FYI: a maximum of 249 are still available because I bought the first one.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


NL

Het broeierige Spanje, land van de zon en de siësta, brengt ons verkoeling met heel koude kille synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is het nieuwe project van twee sleutelfiguren uit de synth-wave / industrial scene van Barcelona: Andrea P. Latorre en Sergi Algiz. Deze oprichters van het label Cønjuntø Vacíø, ook actief in de postpunkband Wind Atlas, bewandelen meer poppy wegen met SDH. Synthpop/-wave songs overgoten met een vleugje EBM en techno. Hun wapenfeit Semiotics Department of Heteronyms komt in een beperkte oplage van 250 gitzwarte vinyltjes, so hurry!

Al noemt het duo zich met dit project eerder synthpop-achtig, de kilte blijft er een ijzig randje aan geven. Met The Scent bijvoorbeeld daalt de temperatuur in ijltempo naar het vriespunt. Zalige donkere minimal/synthwave met geweldige vocalen van Andrea. Muzikaal geruggesteund door synths die al 40 jaar overleven en uit het diepste van hun ik nog een analoog klanktapijt ten tonele toveren. In She Uncovers Before Me ontwaart een muziekliefhebber met bredere smaak een vleugje Dolores O’Riordan in de zanglijnen. Een rustig schrijdend stukje geweldige muziek.

Ik wou iets zeggen, maar wat... Tell Them… Ja, juist: een geweldige meer uptempo song die een zweem van EBM heeft. Van hetzelfde laken een broek in I Mean dat ook wat techno-elementen herbergt. Zo zalig dansbaar zonder plat te worden, wel integendeel.

Synthwave van de bovenste plank op hoog niveau met Guilty And Gifted, en met Where Did I Come For. Een wezen van vlees en bloed zou het begot vergeten als je meegezogen wordt in de songs van deze 8 nummers tellende debuutplaat.

Deze eersteling is hopelijk de eerste van vele. FYU: er zijn er nog 249 verkrijgbaar, want ik heb de eerste gekocht.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


 

Next reviews
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi