tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

22/07/2018 : SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS - Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS

Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

MusicVinyl / Digital
MinimalSynth WaveSynthpop

[87/100]   

Avant! Records
22/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Sultry Spain, land of sun and siesta, brings us coolness through very cold chilly synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is the new project of two key figures from the synth-wave / industrial scene of Barcelona. Andrea P. Latorre and Sergi Algiz, founders of the label Cønjuntø Vacíø and also active in the post-punk band Wind Atlas, are walking more pop-oriented roads with SDH. Synthpop / -wave songs suffused with a touch of EBM and techno. The feat of arms Semiotics Department of Heteronyms comes in a limited edition of 250 jet black vinyls, so hurry!

The duo may call itself synthpop-like with this project but the chill still has a frosty edge to give. With The Scent, for example, the temperature drops to freezing point at high speed. Blessed dark minimal / synthwave with great vocals from Andrea. Musically supported by synths that have survived for 40 years and from their depths, the still conjure up an analog blanket of sound. In She Uncovers Before Me, a music lover with a broader taste discerns a hint of Dolores O'Riordan in the vocal lines. A quietly striding piece of great music.

I wanted to say something, but what... Tell Them... yes, precisely: a great, more up-tempo song that reveals a hint of EBM. Cut from the same cloth is: I Mean - which also houses some techno elements. So blissfully danceable without being flat, quite the contrary.

Synthwave of the highest level with Guilty And Gifted and with What Did I Come For? A creature of flesh and blood would forget the cemetery if you were sucked into the songs of this 8-track debut album.

This initial release is hopefully the first of many. FYI: a maximum of 249 are still available because I bought the first one.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


NL

Het broeierige Spanje, land van de zon en de siësta, brengt ons verkoeling met heel koude kille synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is het nieuwe project van twee sleutelfiguren uit de synth-wave / industrial scene van Barcelona: Andrea P. Latorre en Sergi Algiz. Deze oprichters van het label Cønjuntø Vacíø, ook actief in de postpunkband Wind Atlas, bewandelen meer poppy wegen met SDH. Synthpop/-wave songs overgoten met een vleugje EBM en techno. Hun wapenfeit Semiotics Department of Heteronyms komt in een beperkte oplage van 250 gitzwarte vinyltjes, so hurry!

Al noemt het duo zich met dit project eerder synthpop-achtig, de kilte blijft er een ijzig randje aan geven. Met The Scent bijvoorbeeld daalt de temperatuur in ijltempo naar het vriespunt. Zalige donkere minimal/synthwave met geweldige vocalen van Andrea. Muzikaal geruggesteund door synths die al 40 jaar overleven en uit het diepste van hun ik nog een analoog klanktapijt ten tonele toveren. In She Uncovers Before Me ontwaart een muziekliefhebber met bredere smaak een vleugje Dolores O’Riordan in de zanglijnen. Een rustig schrijdend stukje geweldige muziek.

Ik wou iets zeggen, maar wat... Tell Them… Ja, juist: een geweldige meer uptempo song die een zweem van EBM heeft. Van hetzelfde laken een broek in I Mean dat ook wat techno-elementen herbergt. Zo zalig dansbaar zonder plat te worden, wel integendeel.

Synthwave van de bovenste plank op hoog niveau met Guilty And Gifted, en met Where Did I Come For. Een wezen van vlees en bloed zou het begot vergeten als je meegezogen wordt in de songs van deze 8 nummers tellende debuutplaat.

Deze eersteling is hopelijk de eerste van vele. FYU: er zijn er nog 249 verkrijgbaar, want ik heb de eerste gekocht.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


 

Next reviews
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever