tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

22/07/2018 : SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS - Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS

Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

MusicVinyl / Digital
MinimalSynth WaveSynthpop

[87/100]   

Avant! Records
22/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Sultry Spain, land of sun and siesta, brings us coolness through very cold chilly synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is the new project of two key figures from the synth-wave / industrial scene of Barcelona. Andrea P. Latorre and Sergi Algiz, founders of the label Cønjuntø Vacíø and also active in the post-punk band Wind Atlas, are walking more pop-oriented roads with SDH. Synthpop / -wave songs suffused with a touch of EBM and techno. The feat of arms Semiotics Department of Heteronyms comes in a limited edition of 250 jet black vinyls, so hurry!

The duo may call itself synthpop-like with this project but the chill still has a frosty edge to give. With The Scent, for example, the temperature drops to freezing point at high speed. Blessed dark minimal / synthwave with great vocals from Andrea. Musically supported by synths that have survived for 40 years and from their depths, the still conjure up an analog blanket of sound. In She Uncovers Before Me, a music lover with a broader taste discerns a hint of Dolores O'Riordan in the vocal lines. A quietly striding piece of great music.

I wanted to say something, but what... Tell Them... yes, precisely: a great, more up-tempo song that reveals a hint of EBM. Cut from the same cloth is: I Mean - which also houses some techno elements. So blissfully danceable without being flat, quite the contrary.

Synthwave of the highest level with Guilty And Gifted and with What Did I Come For? A creature of flesh and blood would forget the cemetery if you were sucked into the songs of this 8-track debut album.

This initial release is hopefully the first of many. FYI: a maximum of 249 are still available because I bought the first one.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


NL

Het broeierige Spanje, land van de zon en de siësta, brengt ons verkoeling met heel koude kille synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is het nieuwe project van twee sleutelfiguren uit de synth-wave / industrial scene van Barcelona: Andrea P. Latorre en Sergi Algiz. Deze oprichters van het label Cønjuntø Vacíø, ook actief in de postpunkband Wind Atlas, bewandelen meer poppy wegen met SDH. Synthpop/-wave songs overgoten met een vleugje EBM en techno. Hun wapenfeit Semiotics Department of Heteronyms komt in een beperkte oplage van 250 gitzwarte vinyltjes, so hurry!

Al noemt het duo zich met dit project eerder synthpop-achtig, de kilte blijft er een ijzig randje aan geven. Met The Scent bijvoorbeeld daalt de temperatuur in ijltempo naar het vriespunt. Zalige donkere minimal/synthwave met geweldige vocalen van Andrea. Muzikaal geruggesteund door synths die al 40 jaar overleven en uit het diepste van hun ik nog een analoog klanktapijt ten tonele toveren. In She Uncovers Before Me ontwaart een muziekliefhebber met bredere smaak een vleugje Dolores O’Riordan in de zanglijnen. Een rustig schrijdend stukje geweldige muziek.

Ik wou iets zeggen, maar wat... Tell Them… Ja, juist: een geweldige meer uptempo song die een zweem van EBM heeft. Van hetzelfde laken een broek in I Mean dat ook wat techno-elementen herbergt. Zo zalig dansbaar zonder plat te worden, wel integendeel.

Synthwave van de bovenste plank op hoog niveau met Guilty And Gifted, en met Where Did I Come For. Een wezen van vlees en bloed zou het begot vergeten als je meegezogen wordt in de songs van deze 8 nummers tellende debuutplaat.

Deze eersteling is hopelijk de eerste van vele. FYU: er zijn er nog 249 verkrijgbaar, want ik heb de eerste gekocht.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


 

Next reviews
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf