tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

22/07/2018 : SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS - Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS

Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

MusicVinyl / Digital
MinimalSynth WaveSynthpop

[87/100]   

Avant! Records
22/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Sultry Spain, land of sun and siesta, brings us coolness through very cold chilly synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is the new project of two key figures from the synth-wave / industrial scene of Barcelona. Andrea P. Latorre and Sergi Algiz, founders of the label Cønjuntø Vacíø and also active in the post-punk band Wind Atlas, are walking more pop-oriented roads with SDH. Synthpop / -wave songs suffused with a touch of EBM and techno. The feat of arms Semiotics Department of Heteronyms comes in a limited edition of 250 jet black vinyls, so hurry!

The duo may call itself synthpop-like with this project but the chill still has a frosty edge to give. With The Scent, for example, the temperature drops to freezing point at high speed. Blessed dark minimal / synthwave with great vocals from Andrea. Musically supported by synths that have survived for 40 years and from their depths, the still conjure up an analog blanket of sound. In She Uncovers Before Me, a music lover with a broader taste discerns a hint of Dolores O'Riordan in the vocal lines. A quietly striding piece of great music.

I wanted to say something, but what... Tell Them... yes, precisely: a great, more up-tempo song that reveals a hint of EBM. Cut from the same cloth is: I Mean - which also houses some techno elements. So blissfully danceable without being flat, quite the contrary.

Synthwave of the highest level with Guilty And Gifted and with What Did I Come For? A creature of flesh and blood would forget the cemetery if you were sucked into the songs of this 8-track debut album.

This initial release is hopefully the first of many. FYI: a maximum of 249 are still available because I bought the first one.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


NL

Het broeierige Spanje, land van de zon en de siësta, brengt ons verkoeling met heel koude kille synthwave. SDH (Semiotics Department of Heteronyms) is het nieuwe project van twee sleutelfiguren uit de synth-wave / industrial scene van Barcelona: Andrea P. Latorre en Sergi Algiz. Deze oprichters van het label Cønjuntø Vacíø, ook actief in de postpunkband Wind Atlas, bewandelen meer poppy wegen met SDH. Synthpop/-wave songs overgoten met een vleugje EBM en techno. Hun wapenfeit Semiotics Department of Heteronyms komt in een beperkte oplage van 250 gitzwarte vinyltjes, so hurry!

Al noemt het duo zich met dit project eerder synthpop-achtig, de kilte blijft er een ijzig randje aan geven. Met The Scent bijvoorbeeld daalt de temperatuur in ijltempo naar het vriespunt. Zalige donkere minimal/synthwave met geweldige vocalen van Andrea. Muzikaal geruggesteund door synths die al 40 jaar overleven en uit het diepste van hun ik nog een analoog klanktapijt ten tonele toveren. In She Uncovers Before Me ontwaart een muziekliefhebber met bredere smaak een vleugje Dolores O’Riordan in de zanglijnen. Een rustig schrijdend stukje geweldige muziek.

Ik wou iets zeggen, maar wat... Tell Them… Ja, juist: een geweldige meer uptempo song die een zweem van EBM heeft. Van hetzelfde laken een broek in I Mean dat ook wat techno-elementen herbergt. Zo zalig dansbaar zonder plat te worden, wel integendeel.

Synthwave van de bovenste plank op hoog niveau met Guilty And Gifted, en met Where Did I Come For. Een wezen van vlees en bloed zou het begot vergeten als je meegezogen wordt in de songs van deze 8 nummers tellende debuutplaat.

Deze eersteling is hopelijk de eerste van vele. FYU: er zijn er nog 249 verkrijgbaar, want ik heb de eerste gekocht.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/07/2018


 

Next reviews
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)