tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son

SERGEI BODROV

Seventh Son

Movie
Adventure

[48/100]   

Universal Pictures
06/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Anyone who thinks that film is just a synonym for adventure? might enjoy (a very little bit) this latest fantasy vehicle. Those who have other ideas about film (which we hope anyway) actually know by now that he does not need to read this review. After the success of Mongol, director Sergei Bodrov got the chance to work in the States. You can’t say Seventh Son is a success, because it's a wonder that the film was released here. The biggest question mark is obviously why Julianne Moore was willing to sign for this nonsense, although dollar bills undoubtedly are the answer. Moore plays the role of a villain, a cruel witch who can transform in all kinds of shapes (eg. a dragon). Malkin looks pretty, but you better not trust her. Wizard Master Gregory (a ridiculous Jeff Bridges ) knows, because his wife is murdered by the witch.

And yes, the world must be freed from this evil woman and that can only be done by the seventh son of a seventh son (we haven’t invent this ridiculous script, so don’t blame us!). Young Tom (Ben Barnes ) is the perfect candidate and becomes Gregory’s apprentice. Of course you will only see, how could it be otherwise, ninety minutes of clichés. Tom is not exactly made for the job and must be trained first (or how a zero again becomes a hero). Of course he falls in love, so young girls can watch this monstrosity too, and Alicia Vikander is the lucky one. The young warrior hasn’t many reasons to cheer, because his love appears to be a witch.

Just about everything falters in this film. Not only the script is laughable, also the performances are extremely poor. Oscar or no Oscar, in this fantasy film Julianne Moore proves that she can also go flat on her face (although it must be said that Bodrov hasn’t used her talent for one second). And then there's Jeff Bridges who is making a hopeless fool of himself. You can compare him to a drunken Yoda without teeth. Granted, it’s funny for a minute, but after 90 minutes his role is quite irritating. And then there are those CG effects. They are expensive, but that's about all you can say about it…

Didier BECU
06/07/2015


NL

Wie denkt dat film gewoon een synoniem voor avontuur is, zal wellicht kunnen genieten van dit nieuwste fantasyvehikel. Wie de lat hoger legt (en dat hopen we toch) weet eigenlijk dat hij deze recensie niet eens hoeft te lezen. Na het succes van Mongol mocht regisseur Sergei Bodrov het in de States proberen. Een succes kan je Seventh Son moeilijk noemen, want al bij al is het nog een wonder dat de film bij ons alsnog de zalen haalde. Het grootste vraagteken van deze onderneming is natuurlijk waarom Julianne Moore bereid was om voor deze onzin te tekenen, alhoewel dollarbiljetten zonder twijfel het antwoord zijn. Moore mag deze keer de rol van slechterik vertolken, een wrede heks die zich in allerlei gedaanten (bijv. een draak) kan transformeren. Malkin ziet er bloedstollend mooi uit, maar je vertrouwt haar beter niet. Tovenaar Master Gregory (een belachelijke Jeff Bridges) kan het weten, want zijn vrouw is door de heks vermoord.

En jawel, beste kijkbuiskinderen, de wereld moet van deze boosaardige vrouw worden bevrijd en dat kan alleen maar de zevende zoon van een zevende zoon doen (verwijt ons niets, wij vinden deze belachelijke scripts niet uit). De jonge Tom (Ben Barnes) beantwoordt aan de voorwaarde en wordt Gregorys leerling. Natuurlijk heb je, hoe kan het ook anders, ook nog recht op negentig minuten clichés. Tom is niet meteen voor deze taak in de wieg gelegd en moet dus eerst worden opgeleid (of hoe een zero alweer een hero wordt). Natuurlijk wordt hij verliefd zodat ook de bakvisjes iets aan dit misbaksel hebben, en nog wel op Alicia Vikander. Veel redenen om te juichen heeft de jonge kerel niet, want zijn vlam blijkt ook een heks te zijn.

Zowat alles hapert aan deze film. Niet alleen is het script lachwekkend, ook de vertolkingen zijn bedroevend slecht. Oscar of geen Oscar, in deze fantasyfilm bewijst Julianne Moore met verve dat ook zij plat op haar bek kan gaan (ook al moet worden gezegd dat Bodrov geen seconde haar talent gebruikt). En dan is er nog Jeff Bridges die zichzelf hopeloos belachelijk maakt. Je kan hem het best vergelijken als een zatte Yoda zonder tanden. Toegegeven, voor één minuutje werkt dat wel, maar na anderhalf uur wordt zijn rol behoorlijk irriterend. Een laatste veeg uit de pan voor het overgebruik van CG-effecten. Alle monsters zien er peperduur uit, maar dat is zowat het enige wat je ervan kan zeggen. Vlug doorspoelen dus…

Didier BECU
06/07/2015


06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You