tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son

SERGEI BODROV

Seventh Son

Movie
Adventure

[48/100]   

Universal Pictures
06/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Anyone who thinks that film is just a synonym for adventure? might enjoy (a very little bit) this latest fantasy vehicle. Those who have other ideas about film (which we hope anyway) actually know by now that he does not need to read this review. After the success of Mongol, director Sergei Bodrov got the chance to work in the States. You can’t say Seventh Son is a success, because it's a wonder that the film was released here. The biggest question mark is obviously why Julianne Moore was willing to sign for this nonsense, although dollar bills undoubtedly are the answer. Moore plays the role of a villain, a cruel witch who can transform in all kinds of shapes (eg. a dragon). Malkin looks pretty, but you better not trust her. Wizard Master Gregory (a ridiculous Jeff Bridges ) knows, because his wife is murdered by the witch.

And yes, the world must be freed from this evil woman and that can only be done by the seventh son of a seventh son (we haven’t invent this ridiculous script, so don’t blame us!). Young Tom (Ben Barnes ) is the perfect candidate and becomes Gregory’s apprentice. Of course you will only see, how could it be otherwise, ninety minutes of clichés. Tom is not exactly made for the job and must be trained first (or how a zero again becomes a hero). Of course he falls in love, so young girls can watch this monstrosity too, and Alicia Vikander is the lucky one. The young warrior hasn’t many reasons to cheer, because his love appears to be a witch.

Just about everything falters in this film. Not only the script is laughable, also the performances are extremely poor. Oscar or no Oscar, in this fantasy film Julianne Moore proves that she can also go flat on her face (although it must be said that Bodrov hasn’t used her talent for one second). And then there's Jeff Bridges who is making a hopeless fool of himself. You can compare him to a drunken Yoda without teeth. Granted, it’s funny for a minute, but after 90 minutes his role is quite irritating. And then there are those CG effects. They are expensive, but that's about all you can say about it…

Didier BECU
06/07/2015


NL

Wie denkt dat film gewoon een synoniem voor avontuur is, zal wellicht kunnen genieten van dit nieuwste fantasyvehikel. Wie de lat hoger legt (en dat hopen we toch) weet eigenlijk dat hij deze recensie niet eens hoeft te lezen. Na het succes van Mongol mocht regisseur Sergei Bodrov het in de States proberen. Een succes kan je Seventh Son moeilijk noemen, want al bij al is het nog een wonder dat de film bij ons alsnog de zalen haalde. Het grootste vraagteken van deze onderneming is natuurlijk waarom Julianne Moore bereid was om voor deze onzin te tekenen, alhoewel dollarbiljetten zonder twijfel het antwoord zijn. Moore mag deze keer de rol van slechterik vertolken, een wrede heks die zich in allerlei gedaanten (bijv. een draak) kan transformeren. Malkin ziet er bloedstollend mooi uit, maar je vertrouwt haar beter niet. Tovenaar Master Gregory (een belachelijke Jeff Bridges) kan het weten, want zijn vrouw is door de heks vermoord.

En jawel, beste kijkbuiskinderen, de wereld moet van deze boosaardige vrouw worden bevrijd en dat kan alleen maar de zevende zoon van een zevende zoon doen (verwijt ons niets, wij vinden deze belachelijke scripts niet uit). De jonge Tom (Ben Barnes) beantwoordt aan de voorwaarde en wordt Gregorys leerling. Natuurlijk heb je, hoe kan het ook anders, ook nog recht op negentig minuten clichés. Tom is niet meteen voor deze taak in de wieg gelegd en moet dus eerst worden opgeleid (of hoe een zero alweer een hero wordt). Natuurlijk wordt hij verliefd zodat ook de bakvisjes iets aan dit misbaksel hebben, en nog wel op Alicia Vikander. Veel redenen om te juichen heeft de jonge kerel niet, want zijn vlam blijkt ook een heks te zijn.

Zowat alles hapert aan deze film. Niet alleen is het script lachwekkend, ook de vertolkingen zijn bedroevend slecht. Oscar of geen Oscar, in deze fantasyfilm bewijst Julianne Moore met verve dat ook zij plat op haar bek kan gaan (ook al moet worden gezegd dat Bodrov geen seconde haar talent gebruikt). En dan is er nog Jeff Bridges die zichzelf hopeloos belachelijk maakt. Je kan hem het best vergelijken als een zatte Yoda zonder tanden. Toegegeven, voor één minuutje werkt dat wel, maar na anderhalf uur wordt zijn rol behoorlijk irriterend. Een laatste veeg uit de pan voor het overgebruik van CG-effecten. Alle monsters zien er peperduur uit, maar dat is zowat het enige wat je ervan kan zeggen. Vlug doorspoelen dus…

Didier BECU
06/07/2015


06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son 06/07/2015 : SERGEI BODROV - Seventh Son

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide